MSI X58 Pro Motherboard

Synthetic 3D Benchmarks

 
 
Cinebench 10 is a benchmarking tool based on the powerful 3D software Cinema 4D. The suite uses complex renders to gauge the performance of the entire PC system in both single-core and multi-core modes. Testing was performed a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest results being omitted and an average created from the remaining 3 results.
 





 
 
3DMark is a popular synthetic gaming benchmark used by many gamers and overclockers to gauge the performance of their PC's. All 3DMark runs were performed a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest results being removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 results. Also included are the CrossfireX results to give an indication of how 8x PCIe lanes perform.
 





 
Results Analysis

A fairly average turnout was to be had in the synthetic 3D Benchmarks area of this review. The MSI motherboard neither disgraced or excelled in any of the tests, finishing in the middle of the pack the majority of the time.

Let's see how it gets on in our run of real world gaming...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-03-2009, 16:46:35

w3bbo
Introducing the MSI X58 Pro - A diamond in the rough or just plain dog rough? Find out in our latest X58 motherboard review...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...170120503s.jpg

Full review here

25-03-2009, 17:00:28

zak4994
I guess this is for people who don't care about looks and want a cheaper alternative.

The opposite of this would probably be a bloodrage in terms of aesthetics and price.

25-03-2009, 17:09:16

Ham
At last! A board UNDER £200!

And its pretty good .

26-03-2009, 05:25:22

PeterStoba
Quite a few sub £200 boards now, 6 iirc. Nice review

26-03-2009, 08:20:44

Rastalovich
I don`t think the esthetics of the mobo should be equally graded as performance. If u have a mobo that works 100% faster than the one that looks "kewl", u'd be a tad foolish to pick the slower one cos the memory slots glow in the dark.

I was gonna slate all the other cards on the list, cos quite frankly I feel this mobo embarasses the lot of them in terms of pricing.

They all peak and trough in various areas, but they don't all cost £50-60 more than this.

No SLI ? Think I could live with that.

Good stuff.

26-03-2009, 09:14:49

FarFarAway
I think some people go on looks more than you would think Rast

Great little board at a price point that motherboard manufacturers should be working downwards in price from. The market is going to die unless others follow MSI's price trend.

26-03-2009, 10:32:54

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
I don`t think the esthetics of the mobo should be equally graded as performance. If u have a mobo that works 100% faster than the one that looks "kewl", u'd be a tad foolish to pick the slower one cos the memory slots glow in the dark.

I was gonna slate all the other cards on the list, cos quite frankly I feel this mobo embarasses the lot of them in terms of pricing.

They all peak and trough in various areas, but they don't all cost £50-60 more than this.

No SLI ? Think I could live with that.

Good stuff.
The overclocking was great however this was due in part to the board massively overvolting which could have had an effect. Not only that but the board was overclocked in stock state which was a little naught from MSI as this would inevitably had a bearing on some of the test results. Overvolting is something that needs to be addressed as it could degrade the CPU over time.

The looks of the board are very important to some, however the board was not marked down soley for looks but also for the packaging which pales in comparison to some of the other boards on test.

Oh, and the board IS sli capable

26-03-2009, 11:19:01

sprento
Fair play, the board performs well and aside from the voltage irregularities, is a decent all round effort form MSI but who the hell wants a brown motherboard (or anything else for that matter) "Aesthetics (what on earth were MSI thinking of?)" , too right mate, there's a reason brown is the colour of sh*t !
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.