MSI X58 Pro Motherboard

CPU Benchmarks

 
SiSoftware Sandra (the System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant) is an information & diagnostic utility capable of benchmarking the performance of individual components inside a PC. Each of the benchmarks below were run a total of five times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average being calculated from the remaining three.




 


SuperPI is the benchmark of choice for many overclockers. It's lightweight to download and can give a quick indication on how good a system is at number crunching. Once again, testing was performed a total of 5 times, with an average being calculated from the middle three results.






 


PassMark is a popular benchmarking suite which test all aspect of PC hardware.The CPU test examines Mathematical operations, compression, encryption, SSE, 3DNow! instructions and more. Each CPU test was performed a total of 5 times, with an average being calculated from the middle three results.


 
 
Results Analysis

As expected the MSI X58 Pro did show some exceptional results, due in part no doubt to the slightly overclocked CPU. This was more evident in SuperPI than any of the other CPU benchmarks.

Let's see if there is anything to separate the board with our run of memory benchmarks...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-03-2009, 16:46:35

w3bbo
Introducing the MSI X58 Pro - A diamond in the rough or just plain dog rough? Find out in our latest X58 motherboard review...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...170120503s.jpg

Full review here

25-03-2009, 17:00:28

zak4994
I guess this is for people who don't care about looks and want a cheaper alternative.

The opposite of this would probably be a bloodrage in terms of aesthetics and price.

25-03-2009, 17:09:16

Ham
At last! A board UNDER £200!

And its pretty good .

26-03-2009, 05:25:22

PeterStoba
Quite a few sub £200 boards now, 6 iirc. Nice review

26-03-2009, 08:20:44

Rastalovich
I don`t think the esthetics of the mobo should be equally graded as performance. If u have a mobo that works 100% faster than the one that looks "kewl", u'd be a tad foolish to pick the slower one cos the memory slots glow in the dark.

I was gonna slate all the other cards on the list, cos quite frankly I feel this mobo embarasses the lot of them in terms of pricing.

They all peak and trough in various areas, but they don't all cost £50-60 more than this.

No SLI ? Think I could live with that.

Good stuff.

26-03-2009, 09:14:49

FarFarAway
I think some people go on looks more than you would think Rast

Great little board at a price point that motherboard manufacturers should be working downwards in price from. The market is going to die unless others follow MSI's price trend.

26-03-2009, 10:32:54

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
I don`t think the esthetics of the mobo should be equally graded as performance. If u have a mobo that works 100% faster than the one that looks "kewl", u'd be a tad foolish to pick the slower one cos the memory slots glow in the dark.

I was gonna slate all the other cards on the list, cos quite frankly I feel this mobo embarasses the lot of them in terms of pricing.

They all peak and trough in various areas, but they don't all cost £50-60 more than this.

No SLI ? Think I could live with that.

Good stuff.
The overclocking was great however this was due in part to the board massively overvolting which could have had an effect. Not only that but the board was overclocked in stock state which was a little naught from MSI as this would inevitably had a bearing on some of the test results. Overvolting is something that needs to be addressed as it could degrade the CPU over time.

The looks of the board are very important to some, however the board was not marked down soley for looks but also for the packaging which pales in comparison to some of the other boards on test.

Oh, and the board IS sli capable

26-03-2009, 11:19:01

sprento
Fair play, the board performs well and aside from the voltage irregularities, is a decent all round effort form MSI but who the hell wants a brown motherboard (or anything else for that matter) "Aesthetics (what on earth were MSI thinking of?)" , too right mate, there's a reason brown is the colour of sh*t !
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.