MSI X58 Pro Motherboard

Introduction

Introduction

Making the leap to Intel latest chipset meant that you either had the GDP of a small country or were involved in some very suspect criminal activity. How else could you afford a new Motherboard, new RAM, new CPU, all at 'new tech' prices not to mention the inflated costs because of the economic downturn? The MSI X58 Pro has now made entry into the latest and greatest socket set that little bit less painful thanks to undercutting most of it's competition by over £40. With DDR3 prices tumbling and CPU prices surely to follow suit, you no longer have to wear a pinstripe suit and carry around your 'tommy gun' in a Violin case.

So where's the catch? Truth is this motherboard does not have the ludicrous amount of features the high end boards have, nor does it (officially) support SLI, only cCossfire (more on this later). It does however, have everything you need to get you going, 6 RAM slots, 6 SATA ports, 3 PCIe slots etc that you would find on most X58 boards. It is, from the outset at least , a no frills budget board. All to often now we are seeing the word 'pro' which is misleading as pro should mean feature packed, high end but in reality it is now associated with basic/budget rather than the term 'professional'. For the top of the line boards, it seems a derivative of a precious metal or Solar event is more appropriate.

Here's what MSI have to say about their latest addition to their X58 range of motherboards:

MSI, the world's leading mainboard manufacturer, today announced its most affordable one of X58 mainboard, X58 Pro. It offers an innovatively new architecture that adopts the latest Intel® X58 Express chipset that supports the latest Intel® Core i7 processor, along with ultra-high bandwidth QPI (Quick Path Interconnect) transmission system and high-speed 3-channel DDR3 memory, resulting performance so extreme that has ever seen in mainboards. X58 Pro also has utilised the Gen.2 DrMOS, which introduced exclusively by MSI since the P45 series, improving its power efficiency more than 93% to bring best performance.


Specification

The following specification was taken directly from MSI's website:

SocketIntel 1366
CPU SupportIntel i7
FSB/Hypertransport Bus6.5GT/s
ChipsetIntel X58+ICH10R
Memory DDR3 800/1066/1333/1600* (OC)
ChannelsTriple
DIMM slots6
Maximum Supported Memory24GB
PCIe x16 x 3
PCIe Gen 2.02x 16, 1x 4
PCIe x1x2
PCIx2
SATA x7
RAID 0/1/5/10
LAN 10/100/1000
USB 6(Rear) Expandable to 12
Audio Ports 6x3.5mm analogue + SPDIF
FireWire x1
eSATA x1
Form Factor ATX
Multi GPU Support Crossfire (yes), SLI (no)
 
The features of the board, while not range topping, are very good for a motherboard of this price.There's plenty of room for upgrades too with a well chosen expansion slot configuration. Let's head over to the pictures of the boards itself...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-03-2009, 16:46:35

w3bbo
Introducing the MSI X58 Pro - A diamond in the rough or just plain dog rough? Find out in our latest X58 motherboard review...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...170120503s.jpg

Full review here

25-03-2009, 17:00:28

zak4994
I guess this is for people who don't care about looks and want a cheaper alternative.

The opposite of this would probably be a bloodrage in terms of aesthetics and price.

25-03-2009, 17:09:16

Ham
At last! A board UNDER £200!

And its pretty good .

26-03-2009, 05:25:22

PeterStoba
Quite a few sub £200 boards now, 6 iirc. Nice review

26-03-2009, 08:20:44

Rastalovich
I don`t think the esthetics of the mobo should be equally graded as performance. If u have a mobo that works 100% faster than the one that looks "kewl", u'd be a tad foolish to pick the slower one cos the memory slots glow in the dark.

I was gonna slate all the other cards on the list, cos quite frankly I feel this mobo embarasses the lot of them in terms of pricing.

They all peak and trough in various areas, but they don't all cost £50-60 more than this.

No SLI ? Think I could live with that.

Good stuff.

26-03-2009, 09:14:49

FarFarAway
I think some people go on looks more than you would think Rast

Great little board at a price point that motherboard manufacturers should be working downwards in price from. The market is going to die unless others follow MSI's price trend.

26-03-2009, 10:32:54

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
I don`t think the esthetics of the mobo should be equally graded as performance. If u have a mobo that works 100% faster than the one that looks "kewl", u'd be a tad foolish to pick the slower one cos the memory slots glow in the dark.

I was gonna slate all the other cards on the list, cos quite frankly I feel this mobo embarasses the lot of them in terms of pricing.

They all peak and trough in various areas, but they don't all cost £50-60 more than this.

No SLI ? Think I could live with that.

Good stuff.
The overclocking was great however this was due in part to the board massively overvolting which could have had an effect. Not only that but the board was overclocked in stock state which was a little naught from MSI as this would inevitably had a bearing on some of the test results. Overvolting is something that needs to be addressed as it could degrade the CPU over time.

The looks of the board are very important to some, however the board was not marked down soley for looks but also for the packaging which pales in comparison to some of the other boards on test.

Oh, and the board IS sli capable

26-03-2009, 11:19:01

sprento
Fair play, the board performs well and aside from the voltage irregularities, is a decent all round effort form MSI but who the hell wants a brown motherboard (or anything else for that matter) "Aesthetics (what on earth were MSI thinking of?)" , too right mate, there's a reason brown is the colour of sh*t !
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.