MSI X58 Platinum Motherboard

Packaging & Contents

Packaging & Contents

In the past, MSI's packaging has been very complete yet has at times left a lot to be desired with regards to the design. Upon first examination, the X58 Platinum appears to be a much more refined package with a menacing matte black exterior sleeve, chromatic embossed lettering and no sign of weird aliens!

Box Front Box Back

Box Top Box Side
 
Interestingly, the front of the package signifies that the Platinum is indeed the younger brother of the flagship Eclipse. The package features a lunar eclipse on the front rather than the total eclipse on the...er...Eclipse model. Very cleverly done MSI! The rear of the package goes into some details regarding the features of the motherboard which include DrMOS, APS DDR3 Technology, Split Thermal Sensor and Drive Booster. There is also a schematic of the motherboard's specifications. In contrast to the rear of the box the top and sides of the box are sparse by comparison. The top however does have a plastic carry handle for easy transportation.
 
Inner Box Accessories
 
Removing the sleek outer sleeve we get closer to the goodies which are contained in a plain cardboard box. The box is made from reinforced cardboard that should prevent all but the sharpest/heaviest of objects from damaging the contents. As per the norm with MSI the accessory list is very thorough.  

Manual Manual inside

Quick Guide Quick Guide Rear
 
Two manuals are included with the X58 Platinum - your bog standard A5 booklet and a poster sized quick guide. The small manual is very easy to understand for the most part with clear diagrams throughout. Coloured diagrams with photos would however be much easy to follow rather than the shaded B&W drawings. The quick guide, as you would expect, is a very basic guide on the features of the X58 Platinum and what each component on the PCB is.

I/O Plate Backplate Rear
 
The I/O Backplate is a standard affair but MSI have gone to the trouble of colour coding the ports with good labelling. This should ensure ease of setup. For the price of the new motherboards I would like to see some sort of shielding though to protect the pinkies as some of the edges are very sharp. 

Connectors Quick Connectors

Sadly, MSI have chosen to stick with bright red IDE, Floppy and SATA cables which is an opportunity missed, as they stick out like a sore thumb when compared to the rest of the package which is more subdued (black) in nature. MSI provide 4 SATA cables as well as Molex/SATA power converters along with IDE and Floppy ribbon cables. I say it almost in every review and I will continue to do so until manufacturers' sit up and notice: Ribbon cables are ugly - time to change to rounded ones! MSI are forgiven however, as they have thoughtfully made connecting internal headers a breeze thanks to the inclusion of quick connectors.

So far so good then. Apart from the odd colour choice of the cables the packaging and contents are very good. Let's see if MSI can continue this run of good form with the motherboard itself...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-12-2008, 06:03:44

PV5150
X58; Crossfire; Core i7; triple channel DDR3 and overclocking dip switches... Drooling yet? You should be as we sample MSI's X58 Platinum in our first, in depth X58 review. (Review by webbo)



Read the review here

22-12-2008, 14:03:06

monkey7
Very good review, was a good read

1.44V for 3.85gHz Now I'm even more proud of my UD5 doing 3.7@1.35 Did you adjust the VTT voltage too? It's just as important as vCore.

22-12-2008, 15:28:53

Rastalovich
Great review. Think they're still crazy priced tho.

Hopefully they see some sense l8r in the 09.

Don't have much exerience with MSI mobos, but I am surprized there's no SLI.

22-12-2008, 17:28:48

Bungral
Quality review as always Rich. Bit miffed at lack of SLI seeing as it's such a massive selling point. Puts it at an instant disadvantage. Ah well.

23-12-2008, 05:56:36

fruityness
Couple of features I picked up on which I thought were great; the first being the right angled sata plugs.. Such a simple thing! But would make tidy cabling easy - it's just impossible to make the sata cableslook neat if they are sicking up out of the mobo.The other was the bios save feature, thats pretty cool! And a great feature, being able to swop from "warp speed overclock" to "mr easy going day to day" at the press of a button.. 10/10 for that one.

240 though? Too much I think.. Needs to come with the kitchen sink at that price, and it doesnt.

A fine review.

23-12-2008, 07:46:32

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Very good review, was a good read

1.44V for 3.85gHz Now I'm even more proud of my UD5 doing 3.7@1.35 Did you adjust the VTT voltage too? It's just as important as vCore.
I got 4.2ghz on the UD5 I'm currently testing. The MSI was a different beast all together .

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Great review. Think they're still crazy priced tho.

Hopefully they see some sense l8r in the 09.

Don't have much exerience with MSI mobos, but I am surprized there's no SLI.
Yeah, me too. The boards have to go to Nvidia for 'approval' after which SLI can be endorsed. I believe Nvidia are charging a fortune for this endorsement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Quality review as always Rich. Bit miffed at lack of SLI seeing as it's such a massive selling point. Puts it at an instant disadvantage. Ah well.
Yup, I agree totally m8. It wouldn't be so much of an issue if the board were priced much lower to compensate but at present it is not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='fruityness'
Couple of features I picked up on which I thought were great; the first being the right angled sata plugs.. Such a simple thing! But would make tidy cabling easy - it's just impossible to make the sata cableslook neat if they are sicking up out of the mobo.The other was the bios save feature, thats pretty cool! And a great feature, being able to swop from "warp speed overclock" to "mr easy going day to day" at the press of a button.. 10/10 for that one.

240 though? Too much I think.. Needs to come with the kitchen sink at that price, and it doesnt.

A fine review.
Thanks for the feedback and I agree on all points.

23-12-2008, 07:53:53

WC Annihilus
There are actually two versions listed on MSI's website: one with SLI, one without. The SLI version still seems to be unavailable at the moment, and from what I recall it's still not known whether the current version could be converted with a BIOS flash or not

23-12-2008, 10:59:18

w3bbo
Iirc someone tried flashing a beta bios to the non sli version and got nothing but BSOD .

It will be nice if they do make it SLI capable tho.

23-12-2008, 11:13:46

WC Annihilus
I'm curious as to whether there's a difference built-in somewhere that did that. The two boards certainly look the same, though obviously that doesn't mean they are. Wouldn't hurt to perhaps ask them about that.

24-12-2008, 04:38:19

s3rv3r
The Mediocre

- Overclocking could be better


Sorry guys, but i disagree. I have this motheboard and i got these results:

My Maximum Bclk for enter in O.S. Windows Vista X64:

valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=469171 ( Thanks WC Annihilus, now is correct )

My usual clock for 24/7:

valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=469143

Same processor, motherboard and memory of the review.

Sorry for my bad english.

24-12-2008, 04:57:35

w3bbo
What voltages? Is it prime stable?

Nice clocks regardless.

24-12-2008, 05:01:01

s3rv3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
What voltages? Is it prime stable?

Nice clocks regardless.
No no, ehehhee the maximum Bclk, I just set and turn on. hehehee

And the 4GHz I didn`t test with prime95, i used the OCCT for 1 hour and got stable. But i think is stable enough for me play my games.

24-12-2008, 05:03:15

s3rv3r
Ow sorry the voltages:

Well for 4GHz I`m using:

CPU VOLTAGE +0.190 ( 1.39 )

QPI +0.180

MEMORY VOLTAGE 1.65

That's all

24-12-2008, 05:03:39

WC Annihilus
You posted 2 links to the same validation

24-12-2008, 05:07:13

s3rv3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
You posted 2 links to the same validation
hahahahaa is true. let me see

valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=469171

See now. I think is correct. :sleep:

24-12-2008, 05:13:05

w3bbo
Is this using the latest BIOS? I might have to give that a go as there has been a new BIOS released since writing the review.

24-12-2008, 05:17:50

s3rv3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
Is this using the latest BIOS? I might have to give that a go as there has been a new BIOS released since writing the review.
Well, I`m using the version 1.1V.

IOS Type AMI BIOS File Size 816KB

Version 1.1 Update Date 2008-11-12

But have the 1.2B ( beta )
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.