MSI X58 Platinum Motherboard

Conclusion

Conclusion

As we have seen from the previous review of the P6T Deluxe, X58 has brought with it performance enhancements that while not on the scale of Pentium IV to Core2 are worthwhile nonetheless - especially where memory bandwidth is concerned. SLI support on some X58 boards is another major plus and this is where the Platinum falls down by not supporting SLI. While this may not be an issue for lovers of ATI or indeed users who do not intend to use a dual-card format the price should be such that it reflects this omission.

Sadly, the MSI Platinum is no cheaper than the standard P6T Deluxe which supports both Crossfire and SLI.  Not only that but the Asus also supports SAS should you require this feature, whereas the MSI makes do with an extra pair of SATA ports. With the Asus motherboard also overclocking better than the MSI it becomes clear which board offers the best bang per buck.

At stock, both motherboards performed pretty much equally across the range of benchmarks that we ran today but the difference being that the Asus motherboard ran perfectly straight out of the box. This review was due to be our first review on X58 but sadly the shipping BIOS had issues with the memory divider and hence the review was delayed. MSI did however, quickly release a BIOS that sorted the issue which is a plus for the support MSI have to offer. Hopefully future BIOS revisions will also enhance the overclocking ability of the motherboard, but for now it's nudged into second place by the Asus P6T Deluxe.

If you don't mind the non-SLI support and are not looking for extreme overclocking then there can be no doubting the MSI is a solid, feature packed performer that will serve any enthusiast well. If you desire SLI then MSI do provide an SLI Edition motherboard as well as the range topping Eclipse, but at a premium in price. Credit should also be given to MSI for finally listening to consumers regarding the pink ram slots, but the SATA and IDE ports still look to have been stolen from the LGA775's parts bin which cheapens the overall look of the product.

I can't help feeling that at £235 MSI are asking consumers to make one too many compromises which may be off-putting for some and potentially limit the sales of the motherboard. Giving credit where credit is due, the MSI X58 Platinum is a very good board in its own right and is perfect for the user who is not looking for SLI or extreme overclocks. If these issues concern you then the P6T deluxe is perhaps the better buy, if not,  then the MSI Platinum X58 is certainly worthy of consideration.

The Good
- No more Pink DDR slots!
- On board switches
- Layout

The Mediocre
- Overclocking could be better
- BIOS recovery (3 boots)

The Bad
- No SLI



Thanks to MSI for providing the motherboard used in todays review. Please discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-12-2008, 06:03:44

PV5150
X58; Crossfire; Core i7; triple channel DDR3 and overclocking dip switches... Drooling yet? You should be as we sample MSI's X58 Platinum in our first, in depth X58 review. (Review by webbo)



Read the review here

22-12-2008, 14:03:06

monkey7
Very good review, was a good read

1.44V for 3.85gHz Now I'm even more proud of my UD5 doing 3.7@1.35 Did you adjust the VTT voltage too? It's just as important as vCore.

22-12-2008, 15:28:53

Rastalovich
Great review. Think they're still crazy priced tho.

Hopefully they see some sense l8r in the 09.

Don't have much exerience with MSI mobos, but I am surprized there's no SLI.

22-12-2008, 17:28:48

Bungral
Quality review as always Rich. Bit miffed at lack of SLI seeing as it's such a massive selling point. Puts it at an instant disadvantage. Ah well.

23-12-2008, 05:56:36

fruityness
Couple of features I picked up on which I thought were great; the first being the right angled sata plugs.. Such a simple thing! But would make tidy cabling easy - it's just impossible to make the sata cableslook neat if they are sicking up out of the mobo.The other was the bios save feature, thats pretty cool! And a great feature, being able to swop from "warp speed overclock" to "mr easy going day to day" at the press of a button.. 10/10 for that one.

240 though? Too much I think.. Needs to come with the kitchen sink at that price, and it doesnt.

A fine review.

23-12-2008, 07:46:32

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Very good review, was a good read

1.44V for 3.85gHz Now I'm even more proud of my UD5 doing 3.7@1.35 Did you adjust the VTT voltage too? It's just as important as vCore.
I got 4.2ghz on the UD5 I'm currently testing. The MSI was a different beast all together .

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Great review. Think they're still crazy priced tho.

Hopefully they see some sense l8r in the 09.

Don't have much exerience with MSI mobos, but I am surprized there's no SLI.
Yeah, me too. The boards have to go to Nvidia for 'approval' after which SLI can be endorsed. I believe Nvidia are charging a fortune for this endorsement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Quality review as always Rich. Bit miffed at lack of SLI seeing as it's such a massive selling point. Puts it at an instant disadvantage. Ah well.
Yup, I agree totally m8. It wouldn't be so much of an issue if the board were priced much lower to compensate but at present it is not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='fruityness'
Couple of features I picked up on which I thought were great; the first being the right angled sata plugs.. Such a simple thing! But would make tidy cabling easy - it's just impossible to make the sata cableslook neat if they are sicking up out of the mobo.The other was the bios save feature, thats pretty cool! And a great feature, being able to swop from "warp speed overclock" to "mr easy going day to day" at the press of a button.. 10/10 for that one.

240 though? Too much I think.. Needs to come with the kitchen sink at that price, and it doesnt.

A fine review.
Thanks for the feedback and I agree on all points.

23-12-2008, 07:53:53

WC Annihilus
There are actually two versions listed on MSI's website: one with SLI, one without. The SLI version still seems to be unavailable at the moment, and from what I recall it's still not known whether the current version could be converted with a BIOS flash or not

23-12-2008, 10:59:18

w3bbo
Iirc someone tried flashing a beta bios to the non sli version and got nothing but BSOD .

It will be nice if they do make it SLI capable tho.

23-12-2008, 11:13:46

WC Annihilus
I'm curious as to whether there's a difference built-in somewhere that did that. The two boards certainly look the same, though obviously that doesn't mean they are. Wouldn't hurt to perhaps ask them about that.

24-12-2008, 04:38:19

s3rv3r
The Mediocre

- Overclocking could be better


Sorry guys, but i disagree. I have this motheboard and i got these results:

My Maximum Bclk for enter in O.S. Windows Vista X64:

valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=469171 ( Thanks WC Annihilus, now is correct )

My usual clock for 24/7:

valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=469143

Same processor, motherboard and memory of the review.

Sorry for my bad english.

24-12-2008, 04:57:35

w3bbo
What voltages? Is it prime stable?

Nice clocks regardless.

24-12-2008, 05:01:01

s3rv3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
What voltages? Is it prime stable?

Nice clocks regardless.
No no, ehehhee the maximum Bclk, I just set and turn on. hehehee

And the 4GHz I didn`t test with prime95, i used the OCCT for 1 hour and got stable. But i think is stable enough for me play my games.

24-12-2008, 05:03:15

s3rv3r
Ow sorry the voltages:

Well for 4GHz I`m using:

CPU VOLTAGE +0.190 ( 1.39 )

QPI +0.180

MEMORY VOLTAGE 1.65

That's all

24-12-2008, 05:03:39

WC Annihilus
You posted 2 links to the same validation

24-12-2008, 05:07:13

s3rv3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
You posted 2 links to the same validation
hahahahaa is true. let me see

valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=469171

See now. I think is correct. :sleep:

24-12-2008, 05:13:05

w3bbo
Is this using the latest BIOS? I might have to give that a go as there has been a new BIOS released since writing the review.

24-12-2008, 05:17:50

s3rv3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
Is this using the latest BIOS? I might have to give that a go as there has been a new BIOS released since writing the review.
Well, I`m using the version 1.1V.

IOS Type AMI BIOS File Size 816KB

Version 1.1 Update Date 2008-11-12

But have the 1.2B ( beta )
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.