MSI X58 Platinum Motherboard

Gaming Benchmarks

 
Crysis is without doubt one of the most visually stunning and hardware-challenging games to date. By using CrysisBench - a tool developed independently of Crysis - we performed a total of 5 timedemo benchmarks using a GPU-intensive pre-recorded demo. To ensure the most accurate results, the highest and lowest benchmark scores were then removed and an average calculated from the remaining three.
 
 

 
 
Company of Heroes is Relic's first title to make use of the "Essence Engine". This engine was designed and coded from scratch by Relic in order to make use of special graphical effects, including high dynamic range lighting, dynamic lighting & shadows, advanced shader effects and normal mapping. On May 29, 2007 Relic released a DX10 patch for Company of Heroes which was applied for this test.  Running the in game performance test 5 times, the highest and lowest scores were omitted with the average calculated from the remaining 3.
 
 


 


Ubisoft has developed a new engine specifically for Far Cry 2, called Dunia, meaning "world", "earth" or "living" in Parsi. The engine takes advantage of multi-core processors as well as multiple processors and supports DirectX 9 as well as DirectX 10. Running the Far Cry 2 benchmark tool the test was run 5 times with the highest and lowest scores being omitted and the average calculated from the remaining 3.

 
 
 
Results Analysis

Asus seem to have the advantage in both First Person Shooters, outscoring the MSI in both Crysis and Far Cry 2. Company of Heroes however favoured the MSI, albeit not by much.

Let's take a look at the overall performance of the setups on test today...

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-12-2008, 06:03:44

PV5150
X58; Crossfire; Core i7; triple channel DDR3 and overclocking dip switches... Drooling yet? You should be as we sample MSI's X58 Platinum in our first, in depth X58 review. (Review by webbo)



Read the review here

22-12-2008, 14:03:06

monkey7
Very good review, was a good read

1.44V for 3.85gHz Now I'm even more proud of my UD5 doing 3.7@1.35 Did you adjust the VTT voltage too? It's just as important as vCore.

22-12-2008, 15:28:53

Rastalovich
Great review. Think they're still crazy priced tho.

Hopefully they see some sense l8r in the 09.

Don't have much exerience with MSI mobos, but I am surprized there's no SLI.

22-12-2008, 17:28:48

Bungral
Quality review as always Rich. Bit miffed at lack of SLI seeing as it's such a massive selling point. Puts it at an instant disadvantage. Ah well.

23-12-2008, 05:56:36

fruityness
Couple of features I picked up on which I thought were great; the first being the right angled sata plugs.. Such a simple thing! But would make tidy cabling easy - it's just impossible to make the sata cableslook neat if they are sicking up out of the mobo.The other was the bios save feature, thats pretty cool! And a great feature, being able to swop from "warp speed overclock" to "mr easy going day to day" at the press of a button.. 10/10 for that one.

240 though? Too much I think.. Needs to come with the kitchen sink at that price, and it doesnt.

A fine review.

23-12-2008, 07:46:32

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Very good review, was a good read

1.44V for 3.85gHz Now I'm even more proud of my UD5 doing 3.7@1.35 Did you adjust the VTT voltage too? It's just as important as vCore.
I got 4.2ghz on the UD5 I'm currently testing. The MSI was a different beast all together .

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Great review. Think they're still crazy priced tho.

Hopefully they see some sense l8r in the 09.

Don't have much exerience with MSI mobos, but I am surprized there's no SLI.
Yeah, me too. The boards have to go to Nvidia for 'approval' after which SLI can be endorsed. I believe Nvidia are charging a fortune for this endorsement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Quality review as always Rich. Bit miffed at lack of SLI seeing as it's such a massive selling point. Puts it at an instant disadvantage. Ah well.
Yup, I agree totally m8. It wouldn't be so much of an issue if the board were priced much lower to compensate but at present it is not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='fruityness'
Couple of features I picked up on which I thought were great; the first being the right angled sata plugs.. Such a simple thing! But would make tidy cabling easy - it's just impossible to make the sata cableslook neat if they are sicking up out of the mobo.The other was the bios save feature, thats pretty cool! And a great feature, being able to swop from "warp speed overclock" to "mr easy going day to day" at the press of a button.. 10/10 for that one.

240 though? Too much I think.. Needs to come with the kitchen sink at that price, and it doesnt.

A fine review.
Thanks for the feedback and I agree on all points.

23-12-2008, 07:53:53

WC Annihilus
There are actually two versions listed on MSI's website: one with SLI, one without. The SLI version still seems to be unavailable at the moment, and from what I recall it's still not known whether the current version could be converted with a BIOS flash or not

23-12-2008, 10:59:18

w3bbo
Iirc someone tried flashing a beta bios to the non sli version and got nothing but BSOD .

It will be nice if they do make it SLI capable tho.

23-12-2008, 11:13:46

WC Annihilus
I'm curious as to whether there's a difference built-in somewhere that did that. The two boards certainly look the same, though obviously that doesn't mean they are. Wouldn't hurt to perhaps ask them about that.

24-12-2008, 04:38:19

s3rv3r
The Mediocre

- Overclocking could be better


Sorry guys, but i disagree. I have this motheboard and i got these results:

My Maximum Bclk for enter in O.S. Windows Vista X64:

valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=469171 ( Thanks WC Annihilus, now is correct )

My usual clock for 24/7:

valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=469143

Same processor, motherboard and memory of the review.

Sorry for my bad english.

24-12-2008, 04:57:35

w3bbo
What voltages? Is it prime stable?

Nice clocks regardless.

24-12-2008, 05:01:01

s3rv3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
What voltages? Is it prime stable?

Nice clocks regardless.
No no, ehehhee the maximum Bclk, I just set and turn on. hehehee

And the 4GHz I didn`t test with prime95, i used the OCCT for 1 hour and got stable. But i think is stable enough for me play my games.

24-12-2008, 05:03:15

s3rv3r
Ow sorry the voltages:

Well for 4GHz I`m using:

CPU VOLTAGE +0.190 ( 1.39 )

QPI +0.180

MEMORY VOLTAGE 1.65

That's all

24-12-2008, 05:03:39

WC Annihilus
You posted 2 links to the same validation

24-12-2008, 05:07:13

s3rv3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
You posted 2 links to the same validation
hahahahaa is true. let me see

valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=469171

See now. I think is correct. :sleep:

24-12-2008, 05:13:05

w3bbo
Is this using the latest BIOS? I might have to give that a go as there has been a new BIOS released since writing the review.

24-12-2008, 05:17:50

s3rv3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
Is this using the latest BIOS? I might have to give that a go as there has been a new BIOS released since writing the review.
Well, I`m using the version 1.1V.

IOS Type AMI BIOS File Size 816KB

Version 1.1 Update Date 2008-11-12

But have the 1.2B ( beta )
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.