MSI X58 Platinum Motherboard

Introduction & Specifiaction

Introduction

MSI or Microstar International have recently released the new X58 based motherboard upon the public and were kind enough to send us a sample motherboard to present you with yet another full X58 review.

The motherboard up for today's review is the MSI X58 Platinum Edition which currently sits at the entry level, below the higher-end Platinum SLI Edition and flagship Eclipse. It appears all three motherboards are aimed at different sectors and pockets so while the X58 Platinum does not support SLI or come with an XFI sound card, it is £50 cheaper. So unless you need those luxuries, the Platinum would be the sensible choice, if indeed you can call £235 for a motherboard sensible! However, the 'basic' Platinum does have Crossfire support, triple channel DDR3 support and of course support for Intel's latest Core i7 Nehalem processor, therefore I would be mad to accuse the MSI X58 Platinum of being basic.

Specification

Processor:
Supports Intel® i7 based processors in LGA1366 package.

Northbridge:
Intel® X58 Chipset
- Supports QPI up to 6.4GT/s

Southbridge:
Intel® ICH10R Chipset
- Hi-Speed USB (USB2.0) controller, 480Mb/sec, up to 12 ports.
- 6 SATAII ports with transfer rate up to 3Gb/s.
- PCI Master v2.3, I/O APIC.
- ACPI 2.0 compliant.
- Serial ATA RAID 0/1/5/10.
- Integrated AHCI controller.

Main Memory:
Supports six unbuffered DIMM of 1.5 Volt DDR3 800/1066/1333 SDRAM, 24GB Max
- Supports 1Gb/ 2Gb/ 4Gb DRAM size
- Supports x8 / x16 data lines per DIMM
- Supports up to 3 channel mode

PCI Slots:
2 PCI Express gen2 x16 slots
- supports ATI® Crossfire™
3 PCI Express gen2 x1 slots
2 PCI slot, support 3.3V/ 5V PCI bus Interface

On-Board IDE/SATA:
One Ultra DMA 66/100/133 IDE controller integrated in JMicron® 363.
- Supports PIO, Bus Master operation modes.
- Can connect up to two Ultra ATA drives.
SATAII controller integrated in ICH10R/JMicron® 322 / 362 chipest
- Up to 3Gb/s transfer speed.
- Supports six SATAII ports by ICH10R
- Supports two SATAII ports by JMicron 322, support SATA RAID 0/1/JBOD.
- Supports one eSATA port by JMicron 363.
- Supports AHCI controller with SATA RAID 0/1/5/10 by ICH10R.

Audio:
Chipset integrated by Realtek® ALC888
- Flexible 8-channel audio with jack sensing
- Compliant with Azalia 1.0 Spec
- Meet Microsoft Vista Premium spce

LAN:
Supports two PCI Express LAN 10/100/1000 Fast Ethernet by Realtek 8111C.

IEEE1394 / FireWire:
JMicron® 381 chipset
- Supports up to two 1394 ports. (Rear panel x1, pinheader x1)
- Transfer rate is up to 400Mbps.

Internal I/O Connectors:
ATX 24-Pin power connector
8-pin ATX 12V power connector
CPU / System x 5 FAN connectors
CD-in connector
Front panel audio connector
Front panel connector
1 x chasis intrusion connector
1 x serial port pinheader
2 x USB 2.0 connectors
8 x Serial ATAII connectors
1 x ATA133 connector
1 x IEEE1394 connector support additional 1 port
1 x GreenPower Genie connector
1 x Reset Button
1 x Power Button
1 x SPDIF-out connector
1 x D-LED2 connector
1 x TPM module connector

Back Panel I/O Ports:
1 x Clear CMOS button
1 x PS/2 Keyboard
1 x PS/2 Mouse
1 x eSATA port
1 x IEEE1394 port
8 x USB 2.0 ports
2 x RJ45 LAN Jacks
1 x 6 in 1 audio jack
1 x Optical SPDIF-out

BIOS:
The mainboard BIOS provides "Plug & Play" BIOS which detects the peripheral devices and expansion cards of the board automatically.
The mainboard provides a Desktop Management Interface(DMI) function which records your mainboard specifications.

Form Factor:
30.5cm(L) x 24.4cm(W) ATX Form Factor
9 mounting holes.
 

As I said, the MSI is anything but basic. Featuring an impressive set of features and connectivity even the most picky enthusiast would have a hard time criticising these specifications.

Let's head over the page where we take a look at the packaging and contents...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-12-2008, 06:03:44

PV5150
X58; Crossfire; Core i7; triple channel DDR3 and overclocking dip switches... Drooling yet? You should be as we sample MSI's X58 Platinum in our first, in depth X58 review. (Review by webbo)



Read the review here

22-12-2008, 14:03:06

monkey7
Very good review, was a good read

1.44V for 3.85gHz Now I'm even more proud of my UD5 doing 3.7@1.35 Did you adjust the VTT voltage too? It's just as important as vCore.

22-12-2008, 15:28:53

Rastalovich
Great review. Think they're still crazy priced tho.

Hopefully they see some sense l8r in the 09.

Don't have much exerience with MSI mobos, but I am surprized there's no SLI.

22-12-2008, 17:28:48

Bungral
Quality review as always Rich. Bit miffed at lack of SLI seeing as it's such a massive selling point. Puts it at an instant disadvantage. Ah well.

23-12-2008, 05:56:36

fruityness
Couple of features I picked up on which I thought were great; the first being the right angled sata plugs.. Such a simple thing! But would make tidy cabling easy - it's just impossible to make the sata cableslook neat if they are sicking up out of the mobo.The other was the bios save feature, thats pretty cool! And a great feature, being able to swop from "warp speed overclock" to "mr easy going day to day" at the press of a button.. 10/10 for that one.

240 though? Too much I think.. Needs to come with the kitchen sink at that price, and it doesnt.

A fine review.

23-12-2008, 07:46:32

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Very good review, was a good read

1.44V for 3.85gHz Now I'm even more proud of my UD5 doing 3.7@1.35 Did you adjust the VTT voltage too? It's just as important as vCore.
I got 4.2ghz on the UD5 I'm currently testing. The MSI was a different beast all together .

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Great review. Think they're still crazy priced tho.

Hopefully they see some sense l8r in the 09.

Don't have much exerience with MSI mobos, but I am surprized there's no SLI.
Yeah, me too. The boards have to go to Nvidia for 'approval' after which SLI can be endorsed. I believe Nvidia are charging a fortune for this endorsement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Quality review as always Rich. Bit miffed at lack of SLI seeing as it's such a massive selling point. Puts it at an instant disadvantage. Ah well.
Yup, I agree totally m8. It wouldn't be so much of an issue if the board were priced much lower to compensate but at present it is not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='fruityness'
Couple of features I picked up on which I thought were great; the first being the right angled sata plugs.. Such a simple thing! But would make tidy cabling easy - it's just impossible to make the sata cableslook neat if they are sicking up out of the mobo.The other was the bios save feature, thats pretty cool! And a great feature, being able to swop from "warp speed overclock" to "mr easy going day to day" at the press of a button.. 10/10 for that one.

240 though? Too much I think.. Needs to come with the kitchen sink at that price, and it doesnt.

A fine review.
Thanks for the feedback and I agree on all points.

23-12-2008, 07:53:53

WC Annihilus
There are actually two versions listed on MSI's website: one with SLI, one without. The SLI version still seems to be unavailable at the moment, and from what I recall it's still not known whether the current version could be converted with a BIOS flash or not

23-12-2008, 10:59:18

w3bbo
Iirc someone tried flashing a beta bios to the non sli version and got nothing but BSOD .

It will be nice if they do make it SLI capable tho.

23-12-2008, 11:13:46

WC Annihilus
I'm curious as to whether there's a difference built-in somewhere that did that. The two boards certainly look the same, though obviously that doesn't mean they are. Wouldn't hurt to perhaps ask them about that.

24-12-2008, 04:38:19

s3rv3r
The Mediocre

- Overclocking could be better


Sorry guys, but i disagree. I have this motheboard and i got these results:

My Maximum Bclk for enter in O.S. Windows Vista X64:

valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=469171 ( Thanks WC Annihilus, now is correct )

My usual clock for 24/7:

valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=469143

Same processor, motherboard and memory of the review.

Sorry for my bad english.

24-12-2008, 04:57:35

w3bbo
What voltages? Is it prime stable?

Nice clocks regardless.

24-12-2008, 05:01:01

s3rv3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
What voltages? Is it prime stable?

Nice clocks regardless.
No no, ehehhee the maximum Bclk, I just set and turn on. hehehee

And the 4GHz I didn`t test with prime95, i used the OCCT for 1 hour and got stable. But i think is stable enough for me play my games.

24-12-2008, 05:03:15

s3rv3r
Ow sorry the voltages:

Well for 4GHz I`m using:

CPU VOLTAGE +0.190 ( 1.39 )

QPI +0.180

MEMORY VOLTAGE 1.65

That's all

24-12-2008, 05:03:39

WC Annihilus
You posted 2 links to the same validation

24-12-2008, 05:07:13

s3rv3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
You posted 2 links to the same validation
hahahahaa is true. let me see

valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=469171

See now. I think is correct. :sleep:

24-12-2008, 05:13:05

w3bbo
Is this using the latest BIOS? I might have to give that a go as there has been a new BIOS released since writing the review.

24-12-2008, 05:17:50

s3rv3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
Is this using the latest BIOS? I might have to give that a go as there has been a new BIOS released since writing the review.
Well, I`m using the version 1.1V.

IOS Type AMI BIOS File Size 816KB

Version 1.1 Update Date 2008-11-12

But have the 1.2B ( beta )
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.