MSI Big Bang Marshal P67 Review

Features

MSI P67rB3 Big Bang Marshal Review

Features

The Creative X-fi included is of the soft variety rather than a dedicated chip. A quick peel of that label reveals a much more standard ALC892 Realtek chip.

Demonstrating how feature-laden the Marshal is are the plethora of in and outputs on the backplate. No gaps here.

MSI P67rB3 Big Bang Marshal Review     MSI P67rB3 Big Bang Marshal Review  

The Marshal is equipped with four SATA3 ports and four SATA II ports. Plenty of storage options covered.

We also have the very handy on-board power and reset switches along with the BIOS select and OC Genie options.

MSI P67rB3 Big Bang Marshal Review     MSI P67rB3 Big Bang Marshal Review  

It's slightly curious to see the USB3 headers all the way over here when the supplied brackets are for PCI mounting rather than drive-bay. A cable fanatics nightmare.

Along with the alternate BIOS MSI have equipped the Marshal with extra PCI-Express options courtesy of some dip switches tucked away in the corner, very handy for fault finding a faulty GPU in a watercooled system.

MSI P67rB3 Big Bang Marshal Review     MSI P67rB3 Big Bang Marshal Review  

The CPU socket is very nice to look at with everything neatly tucked away giving the CPU area an amphitheatre effect that is pleasing to the eye.

MSI P67rB3 Big Bang Marshal Review     MSI P67rB3 Big Bang Marshal Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-03-2011, 05:28:12

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the latest high-end motherboard from MSI, the Big Bang Marshal. How does it perform?



Continue Reading

28-03-2011, 06:04:28

jonowee
Wow!... 5GHz on an i5 at only 1.464V.

28-03-2011, 06:36:11

wraithien
Great review Bryan and a stunning motherboard arguably MSI's finest aesthetically at least. Only issue i have with the thing is the bloody size i realize its getting more popular but there still isn't that many cases able to accommodate it. One thing that did confuse me though Bryan is you mentioned using a Nvidia 590 and AMD 6990 together in Lucid. I might be wrong but to the best of my knowledge Hydra Lucid does not support Lucid X Mode with dual GPU cards.

28-03-2011, 06:37:16

Game Over
Great Review!

28-03-2011, 07:20:17

Zeals
Excellent review as always.

Anyway that's an amazing board, one thing with the technical specs, it says it can't run 3 way SLI, so if you want to fill up all the slots you're pretty much stuck with AMD?

28-03-2011, 07:48:40

Luger718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Excellent review as always.

Anyway that's an amazing board, one thing with the technical specs, it says it can't run 3 way SLI, so if you want to fill up all the slots you're pretty much stuck with AMD?
i dont think board with the lucid chip are certified for sli or crossfire but it can definitely do it

28-03-2011, 07:49:45

SieB
I have really been looking forward to this review and it didn't disappoint

The BBM is the 1155's version of the G1 Assassin. It's a great looking board, excellent OCing with low voltages delivering high clocks and of cause all those PCIE slots, what is there not to like?

I still have a soft spot for the UD7 though

28-03-2011, 08:58:04

PCTwin
Nice review VB.

28-03-2011, 11:57:15

silenthill
That OC Dashboard looks horrible, please I beg you throw it in the bin

28-03-2011, 13:34:57

dugdiamond
i likey

28-03-2011, 14:27:21

Tortuga
ahh! he should bench the 6990 and 590....see what happens lol

28-03-2011, 16:37:56

Zaim
Nice review, no video review tom?

28-03-2011, 19:33:46

AMDFTW
AWSOME revew and the board is stunning

28-03-2011, 20:09:17

thetrashcanman
anybody know when this will be going on sale? Also nice review, look forward to the video review hopefully
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.