MSI Big Bang Marshal P67 Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

MSI P67rB3 Big Bang Marshal Review

Introduction

At the New Year we were all delighted to see the performance that came from the latest LGA1155 socket. Intel definitely had refined the LGA1156 into a fine art throughout its short life and those improvements were carried over into the P67 chipset. So impressive was it we couldn't wait for the second wave of motherboards to arrive which would have all the major features we love to see.

Then just as we were girding out loins for the influx it all stopped.

It was discovered that the P67 Chipset had a problem with it's 5 and 6 SATA ports that would cause data loss, and so everything was halted whilst Intel beavered away to fix the problem. After our months hiatus the B3 revision boards are upon us with that problem fixed and a few nips and tucks here and there, so it's time for us to get back in front of the bench rig and see what the long-awaited second wave brings us.

Today it's courtesy of MSI with their P67 Rev B3 Big Bang Marshal motherboard. Big in more than name only, it's got enough slots for QUAD SLI, comes equipped with Lucid Hydra and all the usual MSI accessories. How does it perform?

Technical Specifications

Generally the Marshal is exactly what you'd expect a modern MSI motherboard to be. It's got the classic blue and gun-metal heatsinks, OC Genie, and everything is well designed and in the right place. It sounds simple, but it's often over-looked.

The major feature it has over its contemporaries are more PCIe slots than you can shake a stick at.

CPU(MaxSupport) i3/i5/i7
FSB / Hyper Transport Bus 100MHz
Chipset Intel® P67 (B3)
DDR3 Memory DDR3 1066/1333/1600*/1866*/2133*(OC)
Memory Channel Dual
DIMM Slots 4
Max Memory (GB) 32
PCI-Ex16 8
PCI-E Gen Gen2 (2x16, 2x8, 4x1)
PCI N/A
IDE N/A
SATAIII 4
SATAII 4
RAID 0/1/5/10
LAN 10/100/1000*2
TPM 1
USB 3.0 ports (Rear) 8
USB 2.0 ports (Rear) 2
Audio ports (Rear) 6+Coaxial/Optical SPDIF
Serial ports (Rear) N/A
1394 ports (Rear) 1
Form Factor XL-ATX
DrMOS Y
APS Y
SLI Y
3-way SLI N/A
Hybrid SLI N/A
CrossFire Y

 

Let's grab a look then.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-03-2011, 05:28:12

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the latest high-end motherboard from MSI, the Big Bang Marshal. How does it perform?



Continue Reading

28-03-2011, 06:04:28

jonowee
Wow!... 5GHz on an i5 at only 1.464V.

28-03-2011, 06:36:11

wraithien
Great review Bryan and a stunning motherboard arguably MSI's finest aesthetically at least. Only issue i have with the thing is the bloody size i realize its getting more popular but there still isn't that many cases able to accommodate it. One thing that did confuse me though Bryan is you mentioned using a Nvidia 590 and AMD 6990 together in Lucid. I might be wrong but to the best of my knowledge Hydra Lucid does not support Lucid X Mode with dual GPU cards.

28-03-2011, 06:37:16

Game Over
Great Review!

28-03-2011, 07:20:17

Zeals
Excellent review as always.

Anyway that's an amazing board, one thing with the technical specs, it says it can't run 3 way SLI, so if you want to fill up all the slots you're pretty much stuck with AMD?

28-03-2011, 07:48:40

Luger718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Excellent review as always.

Anyway that's an amazing board, one thing with the technical specs, it says it can't run 3 way SLI, so if you want to fill up all the slots you're pretty much stuck with AMD?
i dont think board with the lucid chip are certified for sli or crossfire but it can definitely do it

28-03-2011, 07:49:45

SieB
I have really been looking forward to this review and it didn't disappoint

The BBM is the 1155's version of the G1 Assassin. It's a great looking board, excellent OCing with low voltages delivering high clocks and of cause all those PCIE slots, what is there not to like?

I still have a soft spot for the UD7 though

28-03-2011, 08:58:04

PCTwin
Nice review VB.

28-03-2011, 11:57:15

silenthill
That OC Dashboard looks horrible, please I beg you throw it in the bin

28-03-2011, 13:34:57

dugdiamond
i likey

28-03-2011, 14:27:21

Tortuga
ahh! he should bench the 6990 and 590....see what happens lol

28-03-2011, 16:37:56

Zaim
Nice review, no video review tom?

28-03-2011, 19:33:46

AMDFTW
AWSOME revew and the board is stunning

28-03-2011, 20:09:17

thetrashcanman
anybody know when this will be going on sale? Also nice review, look forward to the video review hopefully
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.