Intel X79 Core i7 4960X Review

3D Mark

Intel X79 Core i7-4960X Review

3D Mark

Despite ending up with a slower overclock, the i7-4960X is consistently better than the i7-3960X it replaces. It's only a handful of points but when you're looking for world record performance those last few points can be vital. It's a similar story with the CPUs at stock with the Ivy Bridge-E improving upon the Sandy Bridge-E in everything but the Fire Strike Extreme test. Even there it's a small difference because you can gain or lose 10 points with each run.

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-09-2013, 02:53:14

tinytomlogan
The LGA2011 socket has failed to capture the public's heart, does the IvyBridge-E refresh manage to win us over?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...200349152l.jpg


Continue Reading

03-09-2013, 02:58:04

epeets
oh snap!! insanely awesome review incoming....

03-09-2013, 03:30:54

redline92
These results made me laugh, reminds me of amd going backwards in performance lol.
I only wonder why did they bother spending money to release this cpu,does the x79 provide that many benefits over 2011? other than that its waste of time money,unless people actually gonna buy this just because its new lols
Whoever gonna buy this is not going to care about little power savings at all.

Anyway awesome review as always

03-09-2013, 03:35:22

garih
Quote:
Originally Posted by redline92 View Post
does the x79 provide that many benefits over 2011?
2011 is the socket on a x79 chipset motherboard

03-09-2013, 03:36:27

PeeGee
Afaik x79 has always utilized the LGA2011 socket.

I think redline92 is mixing his z's and x's, meaning he's prolly talking about z87 vs x79 ? Right ?

03-09-2013, 03:43:34

FTLN
Any reason why these cpus are kicking out such low temps at high voltages compared to there little brothers ??

Nice review again TTL, keep em flowing.....

03-09-2013, 03:45:21

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Any reason why these cpus are kicking out such low temps at high voltages compared to there little brothers ??

Nice review again TTL, keep em flowing.....

The die shrink.....

03-09-2013, 04:12:34

Kaapstad
I really was expecting something better from IB-E, I have 3 SB-E hexcores and they would all have no trouble putting this new IB-E 4960X to shame.

My 3930k can do 2600mhz on the IMC and 5.1ghz on the cores, I can not see any point in me upgrading.

03-09-2013, 05:49:03

Pendragon
From reading this I think my 3930K is safe and isn't going to be appearing on eBay any time soon.

I really did think that Ivebridge-e would have it's own new chipset and motherboards. Something to make it a more complete package with more on offer than some power improvements and a RAM speed bump. Come on can anyone really tell that their RAM is running at 2133MHz or 2400+ without looking? As for power consumption, if that was important to me do you think I would be running a 2011 rig???? FFS!

Dare I say that without AMD chasing them properly Intel has become a little lazy?

03-09-2013, 06:47:30

Damien c
Thanks for the review but I will be sticking with my 3930k.

I do think that Intel shouldn't have bothered with the IB-E chips and instead just released a 8 core SB-E.

03-09-2013, 07:00:47

Watsyerproblem
While this IB-E chip does perform better than the SB-E i don't see anyone upgrading, the increased performance doesn't really justify it.

As nice as it would be to own one of these monster chips, i wouldn't even if i had the money.

03-09-2013, 07:11:40

akzy
So you were mentioning its use in professional levels but at which point does Xeon, if at all, become applicable (price/performace wise)?

03-09-2013, 07:48:52

Pendragon
As Xeon dose not over clock the simple answer is that it doesn't. Well not from an enthusiasts point of view. Now if you are a Workstation manufacturer building stock clock monsters then dual Xeon makes perfect sense. However dual 8 (16 thread) core stock monster workstations are real nice a proper one costs many many thousands of pounds. When I build my 2011 rig last year the cost was pushing 3 grand, that is a lot of coin, this rig will have to do me for some time...

03-09-2013, 11:27:39

NoPrisoners
I'm a little disappointed that the OC potential of these are looking a bit weak. I'm not that surprised though as the same trend was seem on the mainstream SB->IB transition.

I will be keeping my 3930k as it will do 4.8 GHz+. If I were building a workstation I would go the Xeon-E5 and ECC memory route, yes that is at least another 50% in the cost, but for doing multi-physics modeling (Comsol) then it makes more sense.

03-09-2013, 13:38:46

kittysniper
Thanks for the review as always, but I gotta say I never expected much out of these, ivy bridge minor upgrade huge price as last gen, no change in socket or chipset, not worth upgrading from 3960/3970x and 3930k still wipes the floor in price to performance, still unbeatable performance though....I wish amd can make a comeback in the extreme performance market so we can finally see some price drops/more interesting cpus in the future.

03-09-2013, 15:11:30

MrWizard
Just wondering why your CPU-Z is only showing the ram in dual and not quad channel and how that's going to effect the overclock results if it matters at all

03-09-2013, 16:02:57

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWizard View Post
Just wondering why your CPU-Z is only showing the ram in dual and not quad channel and how that's going to effect the overclock results if it matters at all
I only had 2 sticks of 2666 memory without ripping the 4 out of orca (look at the prices of that stuff)

2 sticks is easier for the cpu too. all the benchmarks were done with 2400mhz Vengence Pro running at rated speed and timings.

03-09-2013, 16:13:33

MrWizard
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
I only had 2 sticks of 2666 memory without ripping the 4 out of orca (look at the prices of that stuff)

2 sticks is easier for the cpu too. all the benchmarks were done with 2400mhz Vengence Pro running at rated speed and timings.
Cool. When I seen that I was thinking it was a bios issue or something and the ram wasn't registering right but I'm glad that's not the case

Great review as always. Keep them coming

04-09-2013, 05:41:07

mihapiha
Man, I must say I'm confused now. I was kinda waiting for Ivy-Bridge-E for my next gaming system but now I'm unsure on what to do.

I will focus in my build on the graphic cards, that's obvious. But I still don't know what to get...


I really wanted to make a good looking rig more than a good performing one, as one card is usually enough for any game these days. So please keep this in mind when you help me make a good choice.
I went with the 900D and I am in the middle of putting a really powerful water cooling into it. It will house 2x 480 monsta (80mm thick) radiators and two D5 pumps in a single loop. So I should have all the power I could possibly need. Fans are Corsair SP120 quiet edition fans.

The consumption bit doesn't really worry me too much, as I am folding 24/7 right now and the folding farm will get replaced. And that is pulling 700W from the wall 24/7. So any gaming rig replacement will probably be on average lower than that.

So originally the idea was to use 3 or 4 graphic cards in this new system. Like I said, primarily for looks! And then an adequate system to support such a thing.

Now I'm really unsure. I was looking forward to some new motherboards as the Rampage IV Extreme seems so old right now, and I don't believe it's really worth spending money on. On the other hand I don't know what motherboard to choose with a 4770k....

My basic problem either way is a good MB+CPU combination to support 4 graphic cards. Probably 4x 7970s if I can get my hand on them cheap. Or I'll wait for the HD8000 series.

Does anybody have any suggestions on what to get to support 4 GPUs properly?

05-09-2013, 00:49:43

kittysniper
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihapiha View Post
Man, I must say I'm confused now. I was kinda waiting for Ivy-Bridge-E for my next gaming system but now I'm unsure on what to do.

I will focus in my build on the graphic cards, that's obvious. But I still don't know what to get...


I really wanted to make a good looking rig more than a good performing one, as one card is usually enough for any game these days. So please keep this in mind when you help me make a good choice.
I went with the 900D and I am in the middle of putting a really powerful water cooling into it. It will house 2x 480 monsta (80mm thick) radiators and two D5 pumps in a single loop. So I should have all the power I could possibly need. Fans are Corsair SP120 quiet edition fans.

The consumption bit doesn't really worry me too much, as I am folding 24/7 right now and the folding farm will get replaced. And that is pulling 700W from the wall 24/7. So any gaming rig replacement will probably be on average lower than that.

So originally the idea was to use 3 or 4 graphic cards in this new system. Like I said, primarily for looks! And then an adequate system to support such a thing.

Now I'm really unsure. I was looking forward to some new motherboards as the Rampage IV Extreme seems so old right now, and I don't believe it's really worth spending money on. On the other hand I don't know what motherboard to choose with a 4770k....

My basic problem either way is a good MB+CPU combination to support 4 graphic cards. Probably 4x 7970s if I can get my hand on them cheap. Or I'll wait for the HD8000 series.

Does anybody have any suggestions on what to get to support 4 GPUs properly?
If U truly want a EXPENSIVE gaming rig get 2 msi lightning 780 or just 1, 3 or 4 will hurt frame rates in lots of games as each card processes 1/4 the frames in turn and there will be stuttering, but if U want to do it for epeen go with x79 for z87 can't support 4 way sli/crossfire(40 lane pcie) without a voodoo chip which will "hurt" performance, the reasonable alternative for z87 chipset is 2 gtx690 or dual hd7990 using 2 x8 pcie(however they are last generation compared to 780). Anyways good luck building or imagining ur rig imma go bk to play on my 3770k dual 7970 rig which I salvaged from open box discount bins in the poor persons corner

05-09-2013, 03:30:52

mihapiha
I was looking at the ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Extreme as an alternative to X79. Like I said: 3 to 4 GPUs in that setup will be primarily for looks not gaming experience. I think I will turn off SLI/Crossfire 99% of the time and use the other cards for Folding@Home or something like that.

That's why I personally do favor the AMD solution a little bit more. The reason I would favor the nVidia setup is due to the SLI-Bridge, which esthetically looks more pleasing than these yellow crossfire bridges.

But without new motherboards I don't think that there are that many alternatives. The Gigabyte Z87 boards have fans and what's even worse water cooling fittings mounted on them. I don't understand why GigaByte insists on putting fittings on them and not just G1/4.

And the X79 series motherboards have been released since ages - or at least it feels that way.

Keep in mind though, that every GPU running Folding@Home will take away one thread (or if I am unlucky a core). That's why initially thought it would be better to go with Ivy-Bridge-E.

10-09-2013, 06:04:55

Scarecrow1976
This will be the cpu in my new rig

05-10-2013, 13:16:52

kejser11
So the big conclusion to be drawn from this test is, that what we need is a mobo combining the socket 2011 with the Z87 chipset. If that is even possible it might be something for ASUS, Rampage V Extreme

29-10-2013, 13:38:23

Mr Whippy
Bought, not brought haha!

23-03-2014, 15:12:47

mrbulle
i get 4,6Ghz att 1,296 and 4,8Ghz att 1,344... stable
in manual mode i put in 1.275 but the loadline probably push it up a bit ? since cpuz say 1.296.. i wish there was a OC guide on the ramapage and ive-e as you did the with the z77 gigabyte oc guide.

23-03-2014, 21:28:47

ObscureParadox
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbulle View Post
i get 4,6Ghz att 1,296 and 4,8Ghz att 1,344... stable
in manual mode i put in 1.275 but the loadline probably push it up a bit ? since cpuz say 1.296.. i wish there was a OC guide on the ramapage and ive-e as you did the with the z77 gigabyte oc guide.
That is a very good chip mate. The fact that it even got 4.8GHz stable at all is pretty damn good. Keep it as it is and you'll be fine
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.