Intel K Series Processors

Vantage and Gaming

Intel K Series  Processors

3D Mark Vantage

Finally before we get to some gaming, we'll see how Vantage copes. As a benchmark that doesn't really reward insane CPU scores as much as it does having enough grunt to power the graphics, our results aren't a huge surprise.

CPU scores definitely follow the core+speed pattern. However the P Score gives a slight double take. Stock the 875K is lagging behind both the 930 and the 870. Even overclocked so heavily it only just keeps up. However we know not to trust Vantage totally, so do the gaming results continue this?

Dirt 2

We've often stated in previous reviews how, by virtue of its console origins, Dirt 2 gives good results on almost any setup. As consoles don't have quad cores then the pretty identical results across the board aren't as much of a shock as they might otherwise be. Sure there is a frame here or there, but only the stock 875K gets dangerously close to underneath the 60FPS mark.

Crysis Warhead

Warhead is designed for PCs and so takes advantage of every MHz it can get its hands on. The minimum FPS is of less concern as there aren't major drops and even with consistent runs you can have some variance. When it comes to average rates we once again see that although the 875K gives brilliant results in synthetic benchmarks, it doesn't do as well in real tests.

Once again the 655K shines brighter than it has any right to.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-06-2010, 06:49:50

tinytomlogan
It's been a long while since we've seen an unlocked multiplier on a mainstream Intel. How do the K series fare?

Continue Reading

07-06-2010, 10:09:15

Steve-O-
When I finally upgrade I'll be looking for a quad-core since I do graphic work. Looks like the $930 is still the best deal. The 655 is pretty sweet though for a dual-core.

07-06-2010, 10:21:57

Diablo
Yeah, they seem expensive for what they deliver. If anyone was going to spend 300 on a CPU (or more), they would go for an X58, and clock the i7 930. The 1156 platform doesn't seem the logical place to stick these chips, although I suppose that intel don't want to put people off buying the extreme edition chips.

Good review, so good for OC3D, but weird price/platform of chips from intel.

07-06-2010, 11:05:37

AMDFTW
WOW thats extreme for aircooled over 5Ghz on water

07-06-2010, 11:06:40

tinytomlogan
the conclusion was difficult tbh as there were so many factors to consider. The 875 is cheaper than the 870 but doesnt seem as good. The 655 goes like stink but costs a good chunk more and seems expensive for a dual but it is 32nm.....

Its a tough one to call tbh.

07-06-2010, 15:09:20

Steve-O-
I hear ya Tom. Good review regardless. And I think fair scores for both.

07-06-2010, 15:16:49

FragTek
Looks good to me!!

07-06-2010, 16:19:17

Lallespasser
I think you've overlooked an important aspect. By overclocking only the multiplier, you are not forced to disable Turbo, enabling you to have an overclocked chip while still maintaining low idle power consumption. This would, at least for me, be an important factor when buying a CPU.

07-06-2010, 17:56:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Lallespasser'
I think you've overlooked an important aspect. By overclocking only the multiplier, you are not forced to disable Turbo, enabling you to have an overclocked chip while still maintaining low idle power consumption. This would, at least for me, be an important factor when buying a CPU.
We overclocked the BCLK too fella as Bus speed is just as important for us, if for no other reason than to show what the cpu has to offer. 99% of overclockers are more interested in a high base clock more than a higher multiplier.

08-06-2010, 07:38:22

Rastalovich
Higher clock means faster for other componets too. An extreme cpu running at 6ghz with memory running in the 700s aint very clever.

I don't know about these offerings. The games seem to favor high(er) caches - which is weird.

31-08-2010, 05:33:10

Ari-M.
i got my 875k on the cheap....and must have scored a gem. the mem controller on my 875k is an absolute BEAST. my fill rates and latencies even surpass my x58 rig (by a staggering degree)

the 875k does fall pretty short on synthetic CPU benches....but I use it for audio production....in that environment (sample editing) memory speed trumps all....so the 875k does have an interesting little niche

it is well matched to the ASUS p7p55d
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.