Intel K Series Processors

Rendering and PC Mark

Intel K Series  Processors

CineBench

Huh? What the heck is going on here? The CPU results of our CineBench test follow the pattern we've seen in all of our previous tests, although the stock 875K is lagging behind somewhat.

However the OpenGL test is nearly entirely incomprehensible. We all know that clock speed pumping data to the GPU is more important than the amount of cores doing the data pushing. So the 655K dual-core performing so well isn't a massive surprise. But the relatively poor performance of the 870 and 930, coupled to the incredible performance of the 875K, does make us scratch our head somewhat. 

POV-Ray

Giving further credence to the possibility that the CineBench test is somehow flawed, our POV-Ray results return to where we'd expect them to be.

For those of you who don't fully understand how the 655K can be top of the "Per CPU" test, it's the total Pixels Per Second rendered, divided by the amount that did the rendering. As, within reason, the law of dimishing returns applies then a dual-core HT will naturally divide down much better than a quad-core HT. So average is how much speed you'll get, and the Per CPU is how efficient each core is working.

PC Mark Vantage

Boy oh boy. We've been hesitating to really emphasise how impressive it's been so far, but our PC Mark Vantage results leave no room for doubt. That lime green bar has been heading to the top, and it finally makes it. The i5-655K is seriously impressive. 

Considering we've moved out of the realms of synthetic tests, and into real-world testing, it's jaw-dropping. Even the huge lead the 875K has enjoyed has evaporated. 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-06-2010, 06:49:50

tinytomlogan
It's been a long while since we've seen an unlocked multiplier on a mainstream Intel. How do the K series fare?

Continue Reading

07-06-2010, 10:09:15

Steve-O-
When I finally upgrade I'll be looking for a quad-core since I do graphic work. Looks like the $930 is still the best deal. The 655 is pretty sweet though for a dual-core.

07-06-2010, 10:21:57

Diablo
Yeah, they seem expensive for what they deliver. If anyone was going to spend 300 on a CPU (or more), they would go for an X58, and clock the i7 930. The 1156 platform doesn't seem the logical place to stick these chips, although I suppose that intel don't want to put people off buying the extreme edition chips.

Good review, so good for OC3D, but weird price/platform of chips from intel.

07-06-2010, 11:05:37

AMDFTW
WOW thats extreme for aircooled over 5Ghz on water

07-06-2010, 11:06:40

tinytomlogan
the conclusion was difficult tbh as there were so many factors to consider. The 875 is cheaper than the 870 but doesnt seem as good. The 655 goes like stink but costs a good chunk more and seems expensive for a dual but it is 32nm.....

Its a tough one to call tbh.

07-06-2010, 15:09:20

Steve-O-
I hear ya Tom. Good review regardless. And I think fair scores for both.

07-06-2010, 15:16:49

FragTek
Looks good to me!!

07-06-2010, 16:19:17

Lallespasser
I think you've overlooked an important aspect. By overclocking only the multiplier, you are not forced to disable Turbo, enabling you to have an overclocked chip while still maintaining low idle power consumption. This would, at least for me, be an important factor when buying a CPU.

07-06-2010, 17:56:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Lallespasser'
I think you've overlooked an important aspect. By overclocking only the multiplier, you are not forced to disable Turbo, enabling you to have an overclocked chip while still maintaining low idle power consumption. This would, at least for me, be an important factor when buying a CPU.
We overclocked the BCLK too fella as Bus speed is just as important for us, if for no other reason than to show what the cpu has to offer. 99% of overclockers are more interested in a high base clock more than a higher multiplier.

08-06-2010, 07:38:22

Rastalovich
Higher clock means faster for other componets too. An extreme cpu running at 6ghz with memory running in the 700s aint very clever.

I don't know about these offerings. The games seem to favor high(er) caches - which is weird.

31-08-2010, 05:33:10

Ari-M.
i got my 875k on the cheap....and must have scored a gem. the mem controller on my 875k is an absolute BEAST. my fill rates and latencies even surpass my x58 rig (by a staggering degree)

the 875k does fall pretty short on synthetic CPU benches....but I use it for audio production....in that environment (sample editing) memory speed trumps all....so the 875k does have an interesting little niche

it is well matched to the ASUS p7p55d
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.