Intel K Series Processors

Everest and wPrime

Intel K Series  Processors

Everest Ultimate Edition

Our Everest results continue the trend we saw with Sandra. The 870, 930 and 875K are pretty much on a par with each other, slight differences aside. The overclocked 875K definitely looks to be a great clocker and the 655K keeps much closer to it's bigger brothers than we'd think possible considering its dual-core nature, and how intensive these benchmarks are.

 

Our AES results are on a seperate graph solely because if we'd left them all on the one, the results from the AES enhanced 655K would have compressed it into illegibility.

What a difference having an instruction set makes. So many processors have a variety of instruction sets from SSE onward that we've become rather blase to the difference they can make. The 655K dispenses with that, utterly annihilating the rest of our test CPUs.

wPrime

wPrime is definitely something that wants more processors, more power, more speed, and the graph clearly reflects that. If you stacked them up they'd be pretty much entirely in cores available, then core speed, order.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-06-2010, 06:49:50

tinytomlogan
It's been a long while since we've seen an unlocked multiplier on a mainstream Intel. How do the K series fare?

Continue Reading

07-06-2010, 10:09:15

Steve-O-
When I finally upgrade I'll be looking for a quad-core since I do graphic work. Looks like the $930 is still the best deal. The 655 is pretty sweet though for a dual-core.

07-06-2010, 10:21:57

Diablo
Yeah, they seem expensive for what they deliver. If anyone was going to spend 300 on a CPU (or more), they would go for an X58, and clock the i7 930. The 1156 platform doesn't seem the logical place to stick these chips, although I suppose that intel don't want to put people off buying the extreme edition chips.

Good review, so good for OC3D, but weird price/platform of chips from intel.

07-06-2010, 11:05:37

AMDFTW
WOW thats extreme for aircooled over 5Ghz on water

07-06-2010, 11:06:40

tinytomlogan
the conclusion was difficult tbh as there were so many factors to consider. The 875 is cheaper than the 870 but doesnt seem as good. The 655 goes like stink but costs a good chunk more and seems expensive for a dual but it is 32nm.....

Its a tough one to call tbh.

07-06-2010, 15:09:20

Steve-O-
I hear ya Tom. Good review regardless. And I think fair scores for both.

07-06-2010, 15:16:49

FragTek
Looks good to me!!

07-06-2010, 16:19:17

Lallespasser
I think you've overlooked an important aspect. By overclocking only the multiplier, you are not forced to disable Turbo, enabling you to have an overclocked chip while still maintaining low idle power consumption. This would, at least for me, be an important factor when buying a CPU.

07-06-2010, 17:56:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Lallespasser'
I think you've overlooked an important aspect. By overclocking only the multiplier, you are not forced to disable Turbo, enabling you to have an overclocked chip while still maintaining low idle power consumption. This would, at least for me, be an important factor when buying a CPU.
We overclocked the BCLK too fella as Bus speed is just as important for us, if for no other reason than to show what the cpu has to offer. 99% of overclockers are more interested in a high base clock more than a higher multiplier.

08-06-2010, 07:38:22

Rastalovich
Higher clock means faster for other componets too. An extreme cpu running at 6ghz with memory running in the 700s aint very clever.

I don't know about these offerings. The games seem to favor high(er) caches - which is weird.

31-08-2010, 05:33:10

Ari-M.
i got my 875k on the cheap....and must have scored a gem. the mem controller on my 875k is an absolute BEAST. my fill rates and latencies even surpass my x58 rig (by a staggering degree)

the 875k does fall pretty short on synthetic CPU benches....but I use it for audio production....in that environment (sample editing) memory speed trumps all....so the 875k does have an interesting little niche

it is well matched to the ASUS p7p55d
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.