Intel K Series Processors

SiSoft Sandra

Intel K Series  Processors

SiSoft Sandra

Starting with the Whetstone results we see roughly the results we'd expect. Given that the comparison processors are run at stock it's no surprise to see the i7-875K keeping up and the 655K, despite that hefty overclock, still struggling to keep up. Although allowing for the fact it has half the processing cores available it does a sterling job indeed.

 

The Dhrystone results give a serious surprise with the 875K taking quite a substantial lead over it's brethren. Identical processors on identical systems shouldn't give this much of a difference, but there it is. The OC 875K clearly stands atop our graphs, but as the only overclocked quad-core processor here we'd expect nothing less. Still the level of results are impressive.

The 655K, if our Sandra results are anything to go by, could be the little engine that could. The stock dual-core isn't much to write home about but overclocked it sings.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-06-2010, 06:49:50

tinytomlogan
It's been a long while since we've seen an unlocked multiplier on a mainstream Intel. How do the K series fare?

Continue Reading

07-06-2010, 10:09:15

Steve-O-
When I finally upgrade I'll be looking for a quad-core since I do graphic work. Looks like the $930 is still the best deal. The 655 is pretty sweet though for a dual-core.

07-06-2010, 10:21:57

Diablo
Yeah, they seem expensive for what they deliver. If anyone was going to spend 300 on a CPU (or more), they would go for an X58, and clock the i7 930. The 1156 platform doesn't seem the logical place to stick these chips, although I suppose that intel don't want to put people off buying the extreme edition chips.

Good review, so good for OC3D, but weird price/platform of chips from intel.

07-06-2010, 11:05:37

AMDFTW
WOW thats extreme for aircooled over 5Ghz on water

07-06-2010, 11:06:40

tinytomlogan
the conclusion was difficult tbh as there were so many factors to consider. The 875 is cheaper than the 870 but doesnt seem as good. The 655 goes like stink but costs a good chunk more and seems expensive for a dual but it is 32nm.....

Its a tough one to call tbh.

07-06-2010, 15:09:20

Steve-O-
I hear ya Tom. Good review regardless. And I think fair scores for both.

07-06-2010, 15:16:49

FragTek
Looks good to me!!

07-06-2010, 16:19:17

Lallespasser
I think you've overlooked an important aspect. By overclocking only the multiplier, you are not forced to disable Turbo, enabling you to have an overclocked chip while still maintaining low idle power consumption. This would, at least for me, be an important factor when buying a CPU.

07-06-2010, 17:56:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Lallespasser'
I think you've overlooked an important aspect. By overclocking only the multiplier, you are not forced to disable Turbo, enabling you to have an overclocked chip while still maintaining low idle power consumption. This would, at least for me, be an important factor when buying a CPU.
We overclocked the BCLK too fella as Bus speed is just as important for us, if for no other reason than to show what the cpu has to offer. 99% of overclockers are more interested in a high base clock more than a higher multiplier.

08-06-2010, 07:38:22

Rastalovich
Higher clock means faster for other componets too. An extreme cpu running at 6ghz with memory running in the 700s aint very clever.

I don't know about these offerings. The games seem to favor high(er) caches - which is weird.

31-08-2010, 05:33:10

Ari-M.
i got my 875k on the cheap....and must have scored a gem. the mem controller on my 875k is an absolute BEAST. my fill rates and latencies even surpass my x58 rig (by a staggering degree)

the 875k does fall pretty short on synthetic CPU benches....but I use it for audio production....in that environment (sample editing) memory speed trumps all....so the 875k does have an interesting little niche

it is well matched to the ASUS p7p55d
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.