Intel i7 970 Review

Conclusion

Intel i7 970 Review

Conclusion

If you cast your minds back a little bit to our 980X review (available here) you'll remember that we found it to be the fastest, most incredible processor on the planet. Admittedly for £850 you'd expect nothing left but the results we obtained from it smashed all our expectations and redefined what we considered was possible. There aren't many hardware components that come along which completely move the goalposts, raise the bar etc. The i7 980X was one of them.

When we heard Intel were doing a "normal" version of the 980 we were hoping it would be a fair match for its big brother, but with suitable reductions in overclocking capability and performance to match it's £650 price tag. After all, Intel aren't going to release a cheaper processor that out-performs their flagship.

Once again though we were left awe-struck. It's unbelievable how close the two chips actually are.

When running at stock there is very little between them. Although the 980X does just have the edge it's such a tiny edge that you really wont even notice in the real-world. Throughout all of our tests the difference is slight whether we ran pure synthetic ones, or entire system based tests.

Overclocking was a complete joy. Being unable to adjust the multiplier upwards normally means a lessened overclock because maintaining a high stable BCLK isn't as easy as increasing the multiplier. However any doubts about the headroom available were quickly swept away as we saw first 4.7 GHz and finally 4.8 GHz. On air. Even then the temperatures didn't go above 78°C, so with a more exotic cooling solution the 5 GHz barrier should be easily obtainable. With a reduction in the overclock to keep it all under control throughout our gamut of tests we still had it perfectly stable at an incredible 4.3 GHz.

It's all of the power of the 980X, but without quite the ridiculous price-tag. It's still expensive, but it should quickly become available around the £600 mark and for a processor with 6 cores, hyper-threading and that will do 4.3 GHz all day, it's actually exceptional value.

Brilliant. Not only does it deserve the OC3D Gold award for being so insanely powerful, but we're also going to award it the OC3D Performance award for its fantastic overclocking performance at sensible voltage.

       

Thanks to Intel for the i7 970. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-08-2010, 17:25:55

tinytomlogan
Had your fancy taken by the i7 980X but can't stretch to the price tag? The i7 970 might be just the thing you need.

Continue Reading

12-08-2010, 17:37:49

AMDFTW
epic overclock fella

12-08-2010, 17:58:50

VonBlade
I've been waiting for this to go live so I can give you public congratulations for the overclock dude. What an epic chip.

12-08-2010, 18:13:07

F-alienware
Epic chip epic price

I'd love one though

Cheers Tom

12-08-2010, 18:14:26

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

I've been waiting for this to go live so I can give you public congratulations for the overclock dude. What an epic chip.
Tbh dude it was fairly easy. Its just a cracking chip.... But thank you my good man.

13-08-2010, 03:46:36

JN
That OC on air is just sex. Plain and simple.

At least now the review is done you can turn the aircon back up from -2c and take your thermals off..eh

13-08-2010, 05:56:53

silenthill
Delicious vanilla ice-cream review, really nice chip from Intel but not such a good marketing move from Intel because why would someone want to buy the 980 now only if they like to donate the extra dough to the Intel Corporation and as I have understood the 980 had rocket sales so why mess that up now (very strange behaviour from Intel marketing department) hopefully Intel will release next year a 6 core chip that most of us common people can buy and can compete on price with AMD's 1090T also I really can't understand why the 980 kicks the ass of the 970 in CRYSIS correct me if I'm wrong because the chips are identical in everything except the multiplier so why the big jump in FPS very very strange behaviour.

13-08-2010, 16:13:35

Seraphim401
Could the lower fps in crysis be explained by the lower QPI?

13-08-2010, 16:18:02

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seraphim401 View Post

Could the lower fps in crysis be explained by the lower QPI?
Not mate thats just Crysis being as reliable as ever

14-08-2010, 09:12:43

ppuff
Nice review and way to knock out a killer clock Tom!

17-08-2010, 14:23:41

Bungral
Does the gold award mean the best in class award has gone ?

17-08-2010, 14:42:08

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

Does the gold award mean the best in class award has gone ?
Yeah basically, because we was finding that quite often when we gave an item BIC, another one would come along two weeks later that we wish we'd given it to instead

However, we do have this up our sleeves....



17-08-2010, 17:56:10

Bungral
Is that one going to BFG??

17-08-2010, 18:24:12

lasher
Oooooh that's not nice!

17-08-2010, 19:56:43

Complex!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post

Yeah basically, because we was finding that quite often when we gave an item BIC, another one would come along two weeks later that we wish we'd given it to instead

However, we do have this up our sleeves....




Hahahaha nice one xD

17-08-2010, 20:12:12

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by lasher View Post

Oooooh that's not nice!
I know... I felt like I was almost mocking the dead.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.