Intel i7 970 Review

3D Mark Vantage and Crysis Warhead

Intel i7 970 Review

3D Mark Vantage

Finally onto our gaming based tests. Obviously as we're testing the CPU and not a graphics card we'll keep it brief.

The 3D Mark CPU score follows everything we've seen on the previous two pages. The big surprise though is how the GPU score is a little higher on the 970, which therefore means the total 3D Mark score is better too. It could just be the couple of increments in the Catalyst drivers since we tested the 980, but at the very least the 970 stands shoulder to shoulder with the top-of-the-line Intel.

Crysis Warhead

As Crysis takes advantage of PhysX quite a lot, then on an ATI system you really need all the CPU power possible to help handle the many tasks the Crytek engine gives it. In keeping with the frustrating nature of Crysis Warhead the overclocked 980X actually wins out by quite a margin. We also tested Dirt 2 and Unigine, but with only a single 5870 in the system and so much CPU power available they were GPU limited and so graphs would be meaningless.

Onto the rather brief and obvious conclusion.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-08-2010, 17:25:55

tinytomlogan
Had your fancy taken by the i7 980X but can't stretch to the price tag? The i7 970 might be just the thing you need.

Continue Reading

12-08-2010, 17:37:49

AMDFTW
epic overclock fella

12-08-2010, 17:58:50

VonBlade
I've been waiting for this to go live so I can give you public congratulations for the overclock dude. What an epic chip.

12-08-2010, 18:13:07

F-alienware
Epic chip epic price

I'd love one though

Cheers Tom

12-08-2010, 18:14:26

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

I've been waiting for this to go live so I can give you public congratulations for the overclock dude. What an epic chip.
Tbh dude it was fairly easy. Its just a cracking chip.... But thank you my good man.

13-08-2010, 03:46:36

JN
That OC on air is just sex. Plain and simple.

At least now the review is done you can turn the aircon back up from -2c and take your thermals off..eh

13-08-2010, 05:56:53

silenthill
Delicious vanilla ice-cream review, really nice chip from Intel but not such a good marketing move from Intel because why would someone want to buy the 980 now only if they like to donate the extra dough to the Intel Corporation and as I have understood the 980 had rocket sales so why mess that up now (very strange behaviour from Intel marketing department) hopefully Intel will release next year a 6 core chip that most of us common people can buy and can compete on price with AMD's 1090T also I really can't understand why the 980 kicks the ass of the 970 in CRYSIS correct me if I'm wrong because the chips are identical in everything except the multiplier so why the big jump in FPS very very strange behaviour.

13-08-2010, 16:13:35

Seraphim401
Could the lower fps in crysis be explained by the lower QPI?

13-08-2010, 16:18:02

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seraphim401 View Post

Could the lower fps in crysis be explained by the lower QPI?
Not mate thats just Crysis being as reliable as ever

14-08-2010, 09:12:43

ppuff
Nice review and way to knock out a killer clock Tom!

17-08-2010, 14:23:41

Bungral
Does the gold award mean the best in class award has gone ?

17-08-2010, 14:42:08

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

Does the gold award mean the best in class award has gone ?
Yeah basically, because we was finding that quite often when we gave an item BIC, another one would come along two weeks later that we wish we'd given it to instead

However, we do have this up our sleeves....



17-08-2010, 17:56:10

Bungral
Is that one going to BFG??

17-08-2010, 18:24:12

lasher
Oooooh that's not nice!

17-08-2010, 19:56:43

Complex!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post

Yeah basically, because we was finding that quite often when we gave an item BIC, another one would come along two weeks later that we wish we'd given it to instead

However, we do have this up our sleeves....




Hahahaha nice one xD

17-08-2010, 20:12:12

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by lasher View Post

Oooooh that's not nice!
I know... I felt like I was almost mocking the dead.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.