Intel i7 970 Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Intel i7 970 Review

Test Setup

Our test setup is our normal X58 bench rig we're sure you're all used to by now.

Intel Core i7 970
Corsair Dominator GT
ASUS Rampage 3 Extreme
Corsair AX1200w
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Noctua NH-D14 with Arctic MX-3
ATI HD5870

Overclocking

With the primary difference between the 980X and the 970 being the locked multiplier we weren't expecting to see enormous overclocks, but were still hopeful of coming in just underneath the 980s speeds.

The BCLK max actually suprised us by hitting 220.5 MHz. Even with our locked multiplier this should allow us to hit some fairly good speeds. Sure enough with a reasonable hike on the voltage and some tweaking we managed to hit 4.7 GHz!! Quite outstanding.

Intel i7 970 Review     Intel i7 970 Review  

Or so we thought. A little further tweaking later at night when everything is cooler and we broke through the 4.8 GHz mark. 4811.41 MHz to be exact. A world record, and on air. Showing how amazing both the i7 970 is, and the heat dispersion capabilities of the Noctua NH-D14. The 32nm process really makes a difference.

Intel i7 970 Review    Intel i7 970 Review

Backing off from such lofty heights to an overclock that would be stable throughout our testing, we settled on 4.3 GHz. 1.1 GHz above stock. This is a hell of a chip if you know what you're doing.

  Intel i7 970 Review

Probably the most impressive aspect is how it mirrors the i7 930 we tested in that it's possible to get a very high clock without actually needed a huge amount of VCore. At 4GHz we only needed 1.225v on the CPU Core to achieve total stability! This is so impressive it's as if Intel have designed the chip to run at 4GHz and then detuned it. When you consider we needed to put 1.35v through the 980X to get 4GHz stability then you can really get a feel for how amazing this chip is. Once you break through the 4GHz barrier the amount of volts needed increase fairly dramatically, but even the 1.435v we needed for 4.8GHz isn't insane.

 

Edit 14/09/2010

Here at OC3D time can be limited we dont always get the time we would like to spend days tweaking a certain product like you would when you actually own and use something daily. When first overclocking the 970 we got the feeling there was more to be had with a little extra time. So when a morning free in the schedule our favorite test equipment came out, the coffee pot was full and the airconditioner was set to arctic mode!

The goal was to hit 5GHZ, as really nowadays with most of the £100+ Intel CPU's 4ghz is almost always possible. Going back to our saved 4.8ghz settings and with just an hour of tweaking we broke the hallowed 5GHZ barrier on AIR cooling! If there was ever a reason to shout about the Noctua NH-D14 this was it, stock cooler, with stock fans keeping a 5GHZ overclock cool!

  Intel i7 970 Review

 Intel i7 970 Review

I do need to point out this is not a 24/7 overclock, its more us just exploring what can be done with a bit of time and some good kit! Let's run some benchmarks.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-08-2010, 17:25:55

tinytomlogan
Had your fancy taken by the i7 980X but can't stretch to the price tag? The i7 970 might be just the thing you need.

Continue Reading

12-08-2010, 17:37:49

AMDFTW
epic overclock fella

12-08-2010, 17:58:50

VonBlade
I've been waiting for this to go live so I can give you public congratulations for the overclock dude. What an epic chip.

12-08-2010, 18:13:07

F-alienware
Epic chip epic price

I'd love one though

Cheers Tom

12-08-2010, 18:14:26

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

I've been waiting for this to go live so I can give you public congratulations for the overclock dude. What an epic chip.
Tbh dude it was fairly easy. Its just a cracking chip.... But thank you my good man.

13-08-2010, 03:46:36

JN
That OC on air is just sex. Plain and simple.

At least now the review is done you can turn the aircon back up from -2c and take your thermals off..eh

13-08-2010, 05:56:53

silenthill
Delicious vanilla ice-cream review, really nice chip from Intel but not such a good marketing move from Intel because why would someone want to buy the 980 now only if they like to donate the extra dough to the Intel Corporation and as I have understood the 980 had rocket sales so why mess that up now (very strange behaviour from Intel marketing department) hopefully Intel will release next year a 6 core chip that most of us common people can buy and can compete on price with AMD's 1090T also I really can't understand why the 980 kicks the ass of the 970 in CRYSIS correct me if I'm wrong because the chips are identical in everything except the multiplier so why the big jump in FPS very very strange behaviour.

13-08-2010, 16:13:35

Seraphim401
Could the lower fps in crysis be explained by the lower QPI?

13-08-2010, 16:18:02

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seraphim401 View Post

Could the lower fps in crysis be explained by the lower QPI?
Not mate thats just Crysis being as reliable as ever

14-08-2010, 09:12:43

ppuff
Nice review and way to knock out a killer clock Tom!

17-08-2010, 14:23:41

Bungral
Does the gold award mean the best in class award has gone ?

17-08-2010, 14:42:08

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

Does the gold award mean the best in class award has gone ?
Yeah basically, because we was finding that quite often when we gave an item BIC, another one would come along two weeks later that we wish we'd given it to instead

However, we do have this up our sleeves....



17-08-2010, 17:56:10

Bungral
Is that one going to BFG??

17-08-2010, 18:24:12

lasher
Oooooh that's not nice!

17-08-2010, 19:56:43

Complex!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post

Yeah basically, because we was finding that quite often when we gave an item BIC, another one would come along two weeks later that we wish we'd given it to instead

However, we do have this up our sleeves....




Hahahaha nice one xD

17-08-2010, 20:12:12

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by lasher View Post

Oooooh that's not nice!
I know... I felt like I was almost mocking the dead.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.