Intel i7 4790K Devils Canyon CPU Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Intel i7-4790K Review

Introduction

Such has been Intel's dominance of the CPU market in recent years, they've usually held off releasing a new CPU until they are on either a full-scale architecture change, or a reduction in the nm process used. 

The release of the Z97 motherboards had us salivating at what the new Haswell CPUs would bring to the table. However, the model number of this particular CPU, a i7-4790K rather than i7-4770K, indicates that this is a tweak as opposed to a huge adjustment. There is no new architecture. No die shrink. Just an improvement in clock speed and a slight fettling of the thermal interface that dogged the early Haswell processors. 

So with so little that is new to talk about, let's crack straight on.

Technical Specifications

The improvement to the base frequency is one of only two main changes that form part of the i7-4790K. Perhaps that's why it's a small increase in model number, rather than the wholesale step change we normally experience with an Intel processor revision. Otherwise it's business as usual.

Of course when you're talking about the top-end Intel CPU's then business as usual is something we're very happy to have.

Intel i7-4790K Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-06-2014, 09:25:03

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...113903865l.jpg

Finally the new CPUs are here to go with the Z97 motherboards. We take a look at the range topping i7-4790K.


Continue Reading

13-06-2014, 09:46:26

Dicehunter
Nice review thanks.

If I could get the same 4.80GHZ overclock with a 4970K that I have with my 4770K then I would definitely buy one but I'm not lucky with the silicon lottery

13-06-2014, 10:09:17

RickPlaysWarr
Very nice review Tom. Thank you for the time in trying to enlighten us about the differences from the 4770k cpu. I probably will get one for the Maximus VII Hero rig that I hope to finish in the next couple of months. The 4770k I have now is not a strong one from what I can see. I might get a better entry in the lottery with a new chip. I am also hoping you go back to the VII Hero board with the DC 4790k chip. Your review of that board was what made me buy it on day 1 when it came available. I really hope the combo with the DC chip will be a "Epic Win"

Thank You Again!

--Rick--

13-06-2014, 10:21:16

Watsyerproblem
Good review as always Tom, the 500MHz boost over the 4770k is nothing to take lightly at stock and the improved thermals is always good.

While it is a shame that the average overclocks for DC is not any higher than vanilla haswell, the improvements are always welcome.

13-06-2014, 11:07:20

dark-D
the non K cpu doesn't turbo to 4.4Ghz, only the K one.

13-06-2014, 11:47:17

lAnimal
Quote:
Hitman absolutely (heh) loves the overclocked 4790K
I almost lost it with that subtle joke
Great review, and I'm not sure why I don't know this but do you need a z97 mobo for devil's canyon, I currently have an i3 and want to upgrade by the end of the summer (no job makes it hard) so will it be the 4670k or 4690k that I'll be (hopefully) getting?

13-06-2014, 11:48:32

RickPlaysWarr
Quote:
Originally Posted by dark-D View Post
the non K cpu doesn't turbo to 4.4Ghz, only the K one.
Hi

Did some checking on Intel's site and the 4790 and 4790K processors do run at different speed, in fact they call the 4790 a Hasswell processor, not Devils Canyon as shown in screenshot below:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/.../IntelProc.jpg

13-06-2014, 11:56:28

megaspeed2
If only the 4790k would actually be in stock somewhere already, whats the point of them doing a "release" and not actually releasing it??? >< my old Phenom II x6 1090T has gotten tired and i'd rather go for the 4790k than a hotter running 4770k just a few days or a week or two earlier but still i cant wait! xD

13-06-2014, 13:02:08

Permafrost
i got my i7 4770k to 4.9 at 1.375

i don't need the upgrade

http://i1276.photobucket.com/albums/...ps5c355b94.png

13-06-2014, 13:18:55

Watsyerproblem
Quote:
Originally Posted by Permafrost View Post
i got my i7 4770k to 4.9 at 1.375

i don't need the upgrade

http://i1276.photobucket.com/albums/...ps5c355b94.png
What are your temps like? and what are you cooling it with? It must be pretty darn high at those volts.

13-06-2014, 13:50:15

Permafrost
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watsyerproblem View Post
What are your temps like? and what are you cooling it with? It must be pretty darn high at those volts.
custom loop and around 80 to 90, i'm rebuilding my loop and might delid just to get them down.

but i keep is down to 4.4 at 1.150v never goes over 70

13-06-2014, 16:15:15

MacLeod
Nice review. Looks like 4.7 is going to be what you should expect from these things I guess since thats pretty much what all the review sites are getting. Still a monster proc though and a nice refresh.

Quote:
Of course we wouldn't run 1.35v all the time, so for our overclock benchmarks we're sticking to 1.26v
Im an AMD guy so Im not that familiar with Intel voltages but I didnt know that was too much juice for 24/7 use. How much life does it take off a chip to run at that? I think it might be worth it if I could keep 4.8 stable instead of having to drop down to 4.6.

13-06-2014, 17:15:39

Luscious
I'm a little bit let down by this CPU to be honest. Don't get me wrong - the temps are great. I was just hoping that we would see 4790K SKU's all capable of that iconic 5.0 GHz mark on water. I know it can be done.

13-06-2014, 17:25:35

megaspeed2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luscious View Post
I'm a little bit let down by this CPU to be honest. Don't get me wrong - the temps are great. I was just hoping that we would see 4790K SKU's all capable of that iconic 5.0 GHz mark on water. I know it can be done.
theres a chance that TTLs chip wasn't a great one, just imagine if his chip was only average and got 4.6-4.8 , intel has shown a chip reaching 5.5GHz without exotic cooling and even if that is an ungodly epic chip thats 500MHz higher than TTLs 4770k which was an ungodly epic chip.

13-06-2014, 18:21:31

ander01se
Quote:
Originally Posted by megaspeed2 View Post
theres a chance that TTLs chip wasn't a great one, just imagine if his chip was only average and got 4.6-4.8 , intel has shown a chip reaching 5.5GHz without exotic cooling and even if that is an ungodly epic chip thats 500MHz higher than TTLs 4770k which was an ungodly epic chip.
Well you can always get lucky, but sweclockers got similar results from theirs. So meh.

14-06-2014, 07:06:51

RamboOC
these are some very nice overclocks for the voltages given.

14-06-2014, 09:53:38

MacLeod
Quote:
Originally Posted by megaspeed2 View Post
theres a chance that TTLs chip wasn't a great one, just imagine if his chip was only average and got 4.6-4.8 , intel has shown a chip reaching 5.5GHz without exotic cooling and even if that is an ungodly epic chip thats 500MHz higher than TTLs 4770k which was an ungodly epic chip.
Well it was kind of exotic. Turned out it was using water cooling with a tray of LN2 sitting in front of the rad so the air being drawn thru the rad was super cooled. Not exactly the "on air" that Intel claimed. And with all the review sites hitting 4.7-4.8 and nobody that I know of at least being able to hit 5.0, I'd say that's what we can expect from these things.

14-06-2014, 11:06:50

megaspeed2
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacLeod View Post
Well it was kind of exotic. Turned out it was using water cooling with a tray of LN2 sitting in front of the rad so the air being drawn thru the rad was super cooled. Not exactly the "on air" that Intel claimed. And with all the review sites hitting 4.7-4.8 and nobody that I know of at least being able to hit 5.0, I'd say that's what we can expect from these things.
wow really? i never heard that... why does intel have to lie...

14-06-2014, 11:31:58

MacLeod
Quote:
Originally Posted by megaspeed2 View Post
wow really? i never heard that... why does intel have to lie...
Yeah let me down too. Here is a link to the post where I put the links to the Tweet bragging about 5.5 and the Youtube video showing the LN2 tray and how they got that 5.5.

14-06-2014, 13:18:52

GODuk
You just need to amend, I think you said 4790K instead of 4970k a few times in error.

14-06-2014, 18:23:21

metalgun2000
Thanks Tom, I always appreciate when you take some time out for us. I think it's starting to get to the point where there really isn't a reason to overclock these chips. I would imagine the real world 24/7 OC of an average 4790k is probably going to be around the 4.6ghz or 4.7ghz mark. Maybe it's just me but unless you got your hands on an epic golden chip, I just don't see the point. I'm he type that gets totally wrapped up in chasing numbers anyway.

14-06-2014, 19:04:13

Th0rHere
I noticed that AVX capable Linpack is not enabled in the screenshots for the temperatures in OCCT. If I recall correctly, you had it enabled for the 4770k review and mostly always do for heatsinks tests. Without it, the temps could be around 10-degrees lower and not comparable to other tests.

Just wondering if perhaps that's just the screenshot and the tests did include AVX

15-06-2014, 00:18:28

Antony1995
Great review Tom as always!
Just a quick question will you be doing any testing with some of the Z87 boards?

16-06-2014, 09:15:36

metalgun2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antony1995 View Post
Great review Tom as always!
Just a quick question will you be doing any testing with some of the Z87 boards?
I would hazard a guess and say no. The 4790k should be on par with the 4770k clock for clock as long as he was running the same memory speeds on both. He's got a mountain of z97 boards to do anyway.

16-06-2014, 11:23:01

S_I_N
Tom have ya ever thought of delidding your 4770K and see what it'll do?? I shaved 26c off mine under load after delidding it.

17-06-2014, 11:21:22

metalgun2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_I_N View Post
Tom have ya ever thought of delidding your 4770K and see what it'll do?? I shaved 26c off mine under load after delidding it.
Now that is summer time, I got to get around to delidding my i7 I got a few months ago but try not to cut my finger this time.

17-06-2014, 11:29:32

S_I_N
I used the vice method OMFG!! it was so simple and I was amazed at how little force I used like 4-5 small whacks and it came lose didnt even go flying like I saw in a bunch of vids

26-06-2014, 09:27:29

Fringie
I hope this doesn't mean Broadwell gets pushed back as I want to upgrade when Sky lake comes out.

On the plus side though at least this shows Intel still cares about us overclockers who can't afford the LGA 2011 socket .

26-06-2014, 10:09:15

ShaunB-91
Think I'll give this a read/watch tonight.

26-06-2014, 12:34:44

Dicehunter
For anyone currently on Haswell it is simply not worth it, Wait for Broadwell

27-06-2014, 03:43:02

ShaunB-91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
For anyone currently on Haswell it is simply not worth it, Wait for Broadwell
I think you're right. I watched the video last night and thought it was quite a good CPU but I don't think I'll be upgrading. I haven't overclocked my 4670K and don't feel the need to. If I was to get this 4790 I wouldn't bother with the K version.

When is Broadwell expected btw?

14-07-2014, 14:01:46

WilliW
Great review, but maybe a small mistake:

In the video Tom said cooler is a h105 with airflow fans, but in the 'Test Setup' Section a h100i is listed. What is correct?

I think the 'Test setup' is wrong, but my main question is:
Was it a h105 with 4 fans (push/pull) or a single set of fans?

Thx
Willy

14-07-2014, 14:15:47

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliW View Post
Great review, but maybe a small mistake:

In the video Tom said cooler is a h105 with airflow fans, but in the 'Test Setup' Section a h100i is listed. What is correct?

I think the 'Test setup' is wrong, but my main question is:
Was it a h105 with 4 fans (push/pull) or a single set of fans?

Thx
Willy
You're right. I checked the video and judging from the pump block it is an H105, but I cannot tell you how many fans were used. Ususally though, push/pull is done mainly for looks and won't make much of a difference. Maybe 2-5 degrees, but there will be twice the fan noise.

Normally, you'd also want to use SP (or other pressure optimized fans) on a radiator and not airflow ones. Tom just chose to do so because these come with white LEDs and nicely light up the test rig for the viewers to look at.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.