Intel i5 760 Review

Conclusion

Intel i5 760 Review

Conclusion

So how has the i5-760 performed compared to the i5-750 it replaces? Like so many things the conclusion to draw is dependant upon your intended usage.

Considering the relatively small difference in default CPU speeds of the i5-760 and i5-750 the i5-760 makes a very good showing throughout all of our tests in managing to be ahead of the i5-750 by more than it's 140 MHz increase would lead us to expect.

Overclocking the i5-760 was a joy. It almost seems to be designed to run at 200x20, managing to be completely stable even at only 1.25v. It really adds to the frustration of Intel's insistence on only increasing their CPU speeds by around 150MHz per model rather than allowing them to hit the heights they can "out the box". Once we crossed the 4GHz barrier though the amount of voltage needed to keep the CPU stable quickly ramped up. We're not sure that 0.2v increase on the VCore is worth the extra 400MHz it gives.

If you are comfortable overclocking your CPU then this really rewards you with high levels of performance. The extra clock speed allowing the i5-760 to beat the i7-870 in just about all our tests. That's a hell of a lot of horsepower for around £150.

What if you're not though? We are fully aware that lots of people just want to buy some hardware and slot it in without faffing about. In that case it's much harder to recommend. The pricing is such that for most people we'd recommend splashing the little extra out and getting a Hyper-Threaded i7-860. Although Hyper-Threading can't make up for pure speed, a HT processor against a non-HT one is absolutely no contest at all.

All in all the i5-760 is a very good processor that is just hard to recommend. If you want great stock performance, then the extra oomph from a i7-860 more than justifies the extra £50. If you are happy to overclock it then the i7-760 absolutely rocks, but again you might as well pay a little more and overclock a Hyper-Threaded i7 to gain much more performance. If you're just looking for an upgrade then there really isn't enough extra features with the i5-760 to make it a worthy path.

It's still 45nm so you don't get the speed and heat benefits of the 32nm process. It hasn't got the new AES instruction set and it's not Hyper-Threaded. That isn't to say it's a bad chip by any stretch, it certainly is very good. Just there are better options out there on the LGA1156 platform to suit either lower budgets or performance lovers.

Just on sheer value for money terms if you're willing to overclock it though, it has to win our Bronze award.

    

Thanks to Intel for providing the i5-760 for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-08-2010, 08:21:59

tinytomlogan
Intel have released a new model at the top end of the i5 line of processors and OC3D takes a look.

Continue Reading

20-08-2010, 09:04:45

silenthill
Do you want me to lend you a piece of cloth and some cleaning liquid so that you can clean that horrible stain off your monitor

20-08-2010, 09:34:07

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Do you want me to lend you a piece cloth and some cleaning liquid so that you can clean that horrible stain off your monitor
Naaa its in memorial to the moth that died

01-09-2010, 07:58:49

Bungral
You aint wrong about it needing bugger all voltage and running cool.

I only chucked my new 760 in my also new P55-UD5 last night and redone my loop.

Never ever overclocked on the P55 / X58 platforms before but it took about 3 mins to work out how to up to 4GHz at 1.23v with memory at 2000Mhz.

Tried to quickly chuck it up to 2133MHz with an overclock on the CPU of 4.26 GHz but at that voltage it only just booted into Windows.

When I've rebuilt my OS, I'll get some proper overlocking done on it.

Oh yeah, temps while Prime95'n overnight hit a max of 59 degrees.

01-09-2010, 08:18:42

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

You aint wrong about it needing bugger all voltage and running cool.

I only chucked my new 760 in my also new P55-UD5 last night and redone my loop.

Never ever overclocked on the P55 / X58 platforms before but it took about 3 mins to work out how to up to 4GHz at 1.23v with memory at 2000Mhz.

Tried to quickly chuck it up to 2133MHz with an overclock on the CPU of 4.26 GHz but at that voltage it only just booted into Windows.

When I've rebuilt my OS, I'll get some proper overlocking done on it.

Oh yeah, temps while Prime95'n overnight hit a max of 59 degrees.
not a bad little chip is it! Make sure you start a thread about your journey with it dude.

02-09-2010, 21:15:56

Bungral
Yeah will do as soon as I've got the OS up and running how I like.

06-09-2010, 16:19:16

M_Taylor40
Hi,

Great vid, just ordered myself a Core i5-760, Asus P7P55D-E Pro and 4GB Corsair Dominator GT (2000MHz) kit that should get delivered this weekend. I'll be replacing my old Athlon 64 5000+ (lol!), already got an Antec 300 full of fans and a Corsair H50-1 Water cooler which should keep it cool and quiet. I'll also be using a Corsair HX550 PSU and BFG 8800 GTS 640MB OC2 to round the system specs off.

I've never tried overclocking before and would love to clock this upto the 4GHz you got but without using much overvolting. Is it really as simple as upping the Base Clock to 200, dropping Multiplier to 20x, voltage to 1.250 (That's the VCORE yeah?) and manually setting the RAM timings to match the modules rating? Is there anything I've missed?

Also, I know to do a clean install of Windows before stress testing but whats the best stuff to do my testing? Am I right in thinking clean Windows 7 Pro x64 install, install required drivers, leave off the net without installing any A/V and then starting my stress testing with sometime like Prime95 for a couple of hours, then move onto something like 3D Mark Vantage, Unigine Heaven for another couple of hours.

Is there anything else I've missed of need to know?

Thanks!

M_Taylor40

06-09-2010, 19:49:06

AMDFTW
hmmm these i5's are lookin tempting,i just wish 90% of there mobos wernt MATX
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.