Intel i5 760 Review

3D Benchmarks

Intel i5 760 Review

3D Benchmarks

Finally before we move onto our conclusion, let's see if the i5-760 can maintain its stranglehold over our graphs once we bring the rest of the system into play.

Unigine

Previous testing we've done have shown how GPU heavy the Unigine benchmark is and so it proves here as the difference between the otherwise dominant i5-760 at 4 GHz and the stock i5-750 is minimal at best.

 

3D Mark Vantage

Vantage continues the trend you should all be used to by now of the overclocked i5-760 winning ahead of the i7-870, and the extra little boost the i5-760 has over the i5-750 at stock allowing it to edge ahead.

 

Crysis Warhead

Finally Crysis Warhead is similar to Unigine in that the graphics card plays a large part. However thanks to the need of plenty of CPU cycles to do soft Physx we actually end up with the standard order, although the gap between the chips is greatly compressed.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-08-2010, 08:21:59

tinytomlogan
Intel have released a new model at the top end of the i5 line of processors and OC3D takes a look.

Continue Reading

20-08-2010, 09:04:45

silenthill
Do you want me to lend you a piece of cloth and some cleaning liquid so that you can clean that horrible stain off your monitor

20-08-2010, 09:34:07

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Do you want me to lend you a piece cloth and some cleaning liquid so that you can clean that horrible stain off your monitor
Naaa its in memorial to the moth that died

01-09-2010, 07:58:49

Bungral
You aint wrong about it needing bugger all voltage and running cool.

I only chucked my new 760 in my also new P55-UD5 last night and redone my loop.

Never ever overclocked on the P55 / X58 platforms before but it took about 3 mins to work out how to up to 4GHz at 1.23v with memory at 2000Mhz.

Tried to quickly chuck it up to 2133MHz with an overclock on the CPU of 4.26 GHz but at that voltage it only just booted into Windows.

When I've rebuilt my OS, I'll get some proper overlocking done on it.

Oh yeah, temps while Prime95'n overnight hit a max of 59 degrees.

01-09-2010, 08:18:42

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

You aint wrong about it needing bugger all voltage and running cool.

I only chucked my new 760 in my also new P55-UD5 last night and redone my loop.

Never ever overclocked on the P55 / X58 platforms before but it took about 3 mins to work out how to up to 4GHz at 1.23v with memory at 2000Mhz.

Tried to quickly chuck it up to 2133MHz with an overclock on the CPU of 4.26 GHz but at that voltage it only just booted into Windows.

When I've rebuilt my OS, I'll get some proper overlocking done on it.

Oh yeah, temps while Prime95'n overnight hit a max of 59 degrees.
not a bad little chip is it! Make sure you start a thread about your journey with it dude.

02-09-2010, 21:15:56

Bungral
Yeah will do as soon as I've got the OS up and running how I like.

06-09-2010, 16:19:16

M_Taylor40
Hi,

Great vid, just ordered myself a Core i5-760, Asus P7P55D-E Pro and 4GB Corsair Dominator GT (2000MHz) kit that should get delivered this weekend. I'll be replacing my old Athlon 64 5000+ (lol!), already got an Antec 300 full of fans and a Corsair H50-1 Water cooler which should keep it cool and quiet. I'll also be using a Corsair HX550 PSU and BFG 8800 GTS 640MB OC2 to round the system specs off.

I've never tried overclocking before and would love to clock this upto the 4GHz you got but without using much overvolting. Is it really as simple as upping the Base Clock to 200, dropping Multiplier to 20x, voltage to 1.250 (That's the VCORE yeah?) and manually setting the RAM timings to match the modules rating? Is there anything I've missed?

Also, I know to do a clean install of Windows before stress testing but whats the best stuff to do my testing? Am I right in thinking clean Windows 7 Pro x64 install, install required drivers, leave off the net without installing any A/V and then starting my stress testing with sometime like Prime95 for a couple of hours, then move onto something like 3D Mark Vantage, Unigine Heaven for another couple of hours.

Is there anything else I've missed of need to know?

Thanks!

M_Taylor40

06-09-2010, 19:49:06

AMDFTW
hmmm these i5's are lookin tempting,i just wish 90% of there mobos wernt MATX
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.