Intel i5 760 Review

Sandra and wPrime

Intel i5 760 Review

SiSoft Sandra

Processor Arithmetic

Now here is something different. The Processor Arithmetic of the SiSoftware Sandra benchmark suite uses what are called Dhrystone and Whetstone tests on the CPU. Dhrystone has been with us for over 25 years and measures Integer calculations of a CPU, whilst Whetstone is older than I am and measures Floating-Point calculations.

The extra threads available on the i7-870 help it to edge out even the overclocked i5-760 in the Whetstone test. Once we move to the Dhrystone test the i5-760 just wins out both in overclocked and stock form. Although clearly the Dhrystone test loves CPU cycles more than anything as once the overclocked i5-760 is ignored the other three CPUs are neck and neck.

 

Moving to the Processor Multimedia test which uses the CPU to generate a Mandelbrot fractal (a very intensive task) we see normal service resumed.

 

wPrime 95

Our final bunch of mathematical benchmarks is wPrime which really pushes the processor and memory to its knees in a quest to perform a set number of calculations as possible as fast as possible.

Because the benchmark is considered successful the shorter amount of time it takes to complete, similar to rendering, the graph is an inverse of our others, but the results remain the same. The incredible performance available from the i5-760 is sufficient to see it overcome the extra performance of its hyper-threaded big brother.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-08-2010, 08:21:59

tinytomlogan
Intel have released a new model at the top end of the i5 line of processors and OC3D takes a look.

Continue Reading

20-08-2010, 09:04:45

silenthill
Do you want me to lend you a piece of cloth and some cleaning liquid so that you can clean that horrible stain off your monitor

20-08-2010, 09:34:07

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Do you want me to lend you a piece cloth and some cleaning liquid so that you can clean that horrible stain off your monitor
Naaa its in memorial to the moth that died

01-09-2010, 07:58:49

Bungral
You aint wrong about it needing bugger all voltage and running cool.

I only chucked my new 760 in my also new P55-UD5 last night and redone my loop.

Never ever overclocked on the P55 / X58 platforms before but it took about 3 mins to work out how to up to 4GHz at 1.23v with memory at 2000Mhz.

Tried to quickly chuck it up to 2133MHz with an overclock on the CPU of 4.26 GHz but at that voltage it only just booted into Windows.

When I've rebuilt my OS, I'll get some proper overlocking done on it.

Oh yeah, temps while Prime95'n overnight hit a max of 59 degrees.

01-09-2010, 08:18:42

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

You aint wrong about it needing bugger all voltage and running cool.

I only chucked my new 760 in my also new P55-UD5 last night and redone my loop.

Never ever overclocked on the P55 / X58 platforms before but it took about 3 mins to work out how to up to 4GHz at 1.23v with memory at 2000Mhz.

Tried to quickly chuck it up to 2133MHz with an overclock on the CPU of 4.26 GHz but at that voltage it only just booted into Windows.

When I've rebuilt my OS, I'll get some proper overlocking done on it.

Oh yeah, temps while Prime95'n overnight hit a max of 59 degrees.
not a bad little chip is it! Make sure you start a thread about your journey with it dude.

02-09-2010, 21:15:56

Bungral
Yeah will do as soon as I've got the OS up and running how I like.

06-09-2010, 16:19:16

M_Taylor40
Hi,

Great vid, just ordered myself a Core i5-760, Asus P7P55D-E Pro and 4GB Corsair Dominator GT (2000MHz) kit that should get delivered this weekend. I'll be replacing my old Athlon 64 5000+ (lol!), already got an Antec 300 full of fans and a Corsair H50-1 Water cooler which should keep it cool and quiet. I'll also be using a Corsair HX550 PSU and BFG 8800 GTS 640MB OC2 to round the system specs off.

I've never tried overclocking before and would love to clock this upto the 4GHz you got but without using much overvolting. Is it really as simple as upping the Base Clock to 200, dropping Multiplier to 20x, voltage to 1.250 (That's the VCORE yeah?) and manually setting the RAM timings to match the modules rating? Is there anything I've missed?

Also, I know to do a clean install of Windows before stress testing but whats the best stuff to do my testing? Am I right in thinking clean Windows 7 Pro x64 install, install required drivers, leave off the net without installing any A/V and then starting my stress testing with sometime like Prime95 for a couple of hours, then move onto something like 3D Mark Vantage, Unigine Heaven for another couple of hours.

Is there anything else I've missed of need to know?

Thanks!

M_Taylor40

06-09-2010, 19:49:06

AMDFTW
hmmm these i5's are lookin tempting,i just wish 90% of there mobos wernt MATX
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.