Intel i5 760 Review

Everest, Rendering and PCMark

Intel i5 760 Review

Todays comparisons are really two-fold. Firstly it's the comparison of the stock 750 against the stock 760. We'd expect to see the stock i5 760 have an edge throughout the testing because of the increase in clock speed.

The second thing to keep an eye on is the i5 760 against the i7 870. The main difference between the two is the i7 870 has Hyper-Threading and so should benefit in certain tests.

As the overclocked i5 760 is running at 4 GHz we'd expect it to dominate all of our charts. To save repetition I'll only point out the main differences between  these expectations and the results.

Everest Ultimate Edition

Couple of things of note here. Firstly the CPU Queen test doesn't seem to take advantage of Hyper-Threading, or if it does it's so hard on the CPU that it has no overhead available to create new threads.

Secondly we all know that compression algorithms do use every thread available and yet the 760 at 4GHz still manages to stand astride our graph like a Collosus.

 

CineBench and POV-Ray

CineBench gives us pretty much the results we were expecting although the OpenGL result for the 870 is slightly lower than expected.

POV-Ray gives us a lovely surprise. The "averaged" result is how many Pixels Per Second (PPS) are rendered in total so it's a measure of the absolute speed you can expect. The "Per CPU" is that score divided by the available threads which is why the 870 with 8 available threads scores so low. There is no doubt the i5-750 rocks these tests totally in overclocked format.

 

PC Mark Vantage

If there is one thing that we can say about the PC Mark graph, it's extraordinarily linear. In every single test the results go i5-760 OC, i7-870, i5-760 at stock and then i5-750. It also shows how well the components scale across our CPUs.

To borrow a term from the hot rod world, no replacement for displacement. The raw power of the 4 GHz Quad 760 takes an early lead and never looks back.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-08-2010, 08:21:59

tinytomlogan
Intel have released a new model at the top end of the i5 line of processors and OC3D takes a look.

Continue Reading

20-08-2010, 09:04:45

silenthill
Do you want me to lend you a piece of cloth and some cleaning liquid so that you can clean that horrible stain off your monitor

20-08-2010, 09:34:07

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Do you want me to lend you a piece cloth and some cleaning liquid so that you can clean that horrible stain off your monitor
Naaa its in memorial to the moth that died

01-09-2010, 07:58:49

Bungral
You aint wrong about it needing bugger all voltage and running cool.

I only chucked my new 760 in my also new P55-UD5 last night and redone my loop.

Never ever overclocked on the P55 / X58 platforms before but it took about 3 mins to work out how to up to 4GHz at 1.23v with memory at 2000Mhz.

Tried to quickly chuck it up to 2133MHz with an overclock on the CPU of 4.26 GHz but at that voltage it only just booted into Windows.

When I've rebuilt my OS, I'll get some proper overlocking done on it.

Oh yeah, temps while Prime95'n overnight hit a max of 59 degrees.

01-09-2010, 08:18:42

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

You aint wrong about it needing bugger all voltage and running cool.

I only chucked my new 760 in my also new P55-UD5 last night and redone my loop.

Never ever overclocked on the P55 / X58 platforms before but it took about 3 mins to work out how to up to 4GHz at 1.23v with memory at 2000Mhz.

Tried to quickly chuck it up to 2133MHz with an overclock on the CPU of 4.26 GHz but at that voltage it only just booted into Windows.

When I've rebuilt my OS, I'll get some proper overlocking done on it.

Oh yeah, temps while Prime95'n overnight hit a max of 59 degrees.
not a bad little chip is it! Make sure you start a thread about your journey with it dude.

02-09-2010, 21:15:56

Bungral
Yeah will do as soon as I've got the OS up and running how I like.

06-09-2010, 16:19:16

M_Taylor40
Hi,

Great vid, just ordered myself a Core i5-760, Asus P7P55D-E Pro and 4GB Corsair Dominator GT (2000MHz) kit that should get delivered this weekend. I'll be replacing my old Athlon 64 5000+ (lol!), already got an Antec 300 full of fans and a Corsair H50-1 Water cooler which should keep it cool and quiet. I'll also be using a Corsair HX550 PSU and BFG 8800 GTS 640MB OC2 to round the system specs off.

I've never tried overclocking before and would love to clock this upto the 4GHz you got but without using much overvolting. Is it really as simple as upping the Base Clock to 200, dropping Multiplier to 20x, voltage to 1.250 (That's the VCORE yeah?) and manually setting the RAM timings to match the modules rating? Is there anything I've missed?

Also, I know to do a clean install of Windows before stress testing but whats the best stuff to do my testing? Am I right in thinking clean Windows 7 Pro x64 install, install required drivers, leave off the net without installing any A/V and then starting my stress testing with sometime like Prime95 for a couple of hours, then move onto something like 3D Mark Vantage, Unigine Heaven for another couple of hours.

Is there anything else I've missed of need to know?

Thanks!

M_Taylor40

06-09-2010, 19:49:06

AMDFTW
hmmm these i5's are lookin tempting,i just wish 90% of there mobos wernt MATX
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.