Intel i5 760 Review

Introduction and Technical Specs

Intel i5 760 Review

Introduction

Intel's LGA1156 socket and subsequent P55 chipset were designed to be the low cost alternative to the LGA1366 X58 Core i7 platform. Although upon first release it sold in such enormous quantities that prices remained high it didn't take too long before it was possible to build a 1156 based system for a sensible amount of money.

It's actually become one of the best value platforms available, akin to the AM3 socket on the AMD side. It supports everything from the dual-core Pentium based G6950, via Hyper-Threaded Dual Core i5 6 series, the Quad Core i5 7 series all the way up to the Hyper-Threaded Quad Core i7 8 series.

There certainly is a processor for every pocket and application. Today we're looking at the latest model in the i5 range, the top-of-the-line i5 760.

Technical Specifications

If there is one thing that Intel can't be accused of it is making too great a leap forwards in their processors. While many sites such as Overclock3D and overclockers everywhere have shown that nearly every model in the range will happily run all day at 4GHz, Intel are insistent upon these tiny incremental clock speed increases. It has been the way since the original Pentiums and so it's unlikely to change now.

So from Intel themselves, here are the specifications for the Core i5 760.

StatusLaunched
Launch DateQ3'10
Processor Numberi5-760
# of Cores4
# of Threads4
Clock Speed2.8 GHz
Max Turbo Frequency3.33 GHz
Intel® Smart Cache8 MB
Bus/Core Ratio21
DMI2.5 GT/s
Instruction Set64-bit
Instruction Set ExtensionsSSE4.2
Embedded Options AvailableNo
Supplemental SKUNo
Lithography45 nm
Max TDP95 W
VID Voltage Range.6500V-1.400V

 

Intel® Turbo Boost TechnologyYes
Intel® Hyper-Threading TechnologyNo
Intel® Virtualization Technology (VT-x)Yes
Intel® Virtualization Technology for Directed I/O (VT-d)No
Intel® Trusted Execution TechnologyNo
AES New InstructionsNo
Intel® 64Yes
Idle StatesYes
Enhanced Intel SpeedStep® TechnologyYes
Intel® Demand Based SwitchingNo
Thermal Monitoring TechnologiesNo
Execute Disable BitYes

 

As you can see the Core i5 760 is identical to the previous Core i5 750, barring a tiny increase in clock speed from 2.66GHz to 2.8GHz. At least this small increase doesn't come at a increase in price as most sites have them identically priced or in some cases the 750 is slightly more expensive.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-08-2010, 08:21:59

tinytomlogan
Intel have released a new model at the top end of the i5 line of processors and OC3D takes a look.

Continue Reading

20-08-2010, 09:04:45

silenthill
Do you want me to lend you a piece of cloth and some cleaning liquid so that you can clean that horrible stain off your monitor

20-08-2010, 09:34:07

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Do you want me to lend you a piece cloth and some cleaning liquid so that you can clean that horrible stain off your monitor
Naaa its in memorial to the moth that died

01-09-2010, 07:58:49

Bungral
You aint wrong about it needing bugger all voltage and running cool.

I only chucked my new 760 in my also new P55-UD5 last night and redone my loop.

Never ever overclocked on the P55 / X58 platforms before but it took about 3 mins to work out how to up to 4GHz at 1.23v with memory at 2000Mhz.

Tried to quickly chuck it up to 2133MHz with an overclock on the CPU of 4.26 GHz but at that voltage it only just booted into Windows.

When I've rebuilt my OS, I'll get some proper overlocking done on it.

Oh yeah, temps while Prime95'n overnight hit a max of 59 degrees.

01-09-2010, 08:18:42

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

You aint wrong about it needing bugger all voltage and running cool.

I only chucked my new 760 in my also new P55-UD5 last night and redone my loop.

Never ever overclocked on the P55 / X58 platforms before but it took about 3 mins to work out how to up to 4GHz at 1.23v with memory at 2000Mhz.

Tried to quickly chuck it up to 2133MHz with an overclock on the CPU of 4.26 GHz but at that voltage it only just booted into Windows.

When I've rebuilt my OS, I'll get some proper overlocking done on it.

Oh yeah, temps while Prime95'n overnight hit a max of 59 degrees.
not a bad little chip is it! Make sure you start a thread about your journey with it dude.

02-09-2010, 21:15:56

Bungral
Yeah will do as soon as I've got the OS up and running how I like.

06-09-2010, 16:19:16

M_Taylor40
Hi,

Great vid, just ordered myself a Core i5-760, Asus P7P55D-E Pro and 4GB Corsair Dominator GT (2000MHz) kit that should get delivered this weekend. I'll be replacing my old Athlon 64 5000+ (lol!), already got an Antec 300 full of fans and a Corsair H50-1 Water cooler which should keep it cool and quiet. I'll also be using a Corsair HX550 PSU and BFG 8800 GTS 640MB OC2 to round the system specs off.

I've never tried overclocking before and would love to clock this upto the 4GHz you got but without using much overvolting. Is it really as simple as upping the Base Clock to 200, dropping Multiplier to 20x, voltage to 1.250 (That's the VCORE yeah?) and manually setting the RAM timings to match the modules rating? Is there anything I've missed?

Also, I know to do a clean install of Windows before stress testing but whats the best stuff to do my testing? Am I right in thinking clean Windows 7 Pro x64 install, install required drivers, leave off the net without installing any A/V and then starting my stress testing with sometime like Prime95 for a couple of hours, then move onto something like 3D Mark Vantage, Unigine Heaven for another couple of hours.

Is there anything else I've missed of need to know?

Thanks!

M_Taylor40

06-09-2010, 19:49:06

AMDFTW
hmmm these i5's are lookin tempting,i just wish 90% of there mobos wernt MATX
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.