Intel Core i7 930 Review

A Quick Look

Intel Core i7 930  Review

A Quick Look

As todays review is of a processor, unlike many items we get there really isn't a lot to see. Nonetheless, here it is.

Very standard Intel packaging we've all seen a ton of times before.

Intel Core i7 930 Review 

Inside the box is a stock cooler and the 930 itself. The i7 930 comes in the plastic cover anyone who has brought a processor will be familiar with.

Intel Core i7 930 Review     Intel Core i7 930 Review  

The stock Intel cooler is as poor as it's always been. Unlike the 980x we reviewed previously the 930 doesn't come with a tower style, rather a horizontal one. Just about enough for stock speeds, but it'll be the first thing to go if you want to look after your purchase.

Intel Core i7 930 Review     Intel Core i7 930 Review

That's the easy bit done and dusted. Onwards dear readers.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-04-2010, 05:39:01

tinytomlogan
With intel recently releasing the i7 930 we thought it was time to see if it is up to the standards that the 920 had previously set.

Continue Reading

16-04-2010, 09:41:04

alexhull24
On paper, totally uninteresting, but in practice, amazing!

Why is it happier with such lower voltages if the process is the same size? I don't know a lot about the intricacies of CPU production, but I'm interested to know what was actually changed, as going by the spec sheet doesn't yield much information.

A CPU like this should be good for many years, despite intel inevitably changing socket design in the not too distant future.

16-04-2010, 10:43:47

Runebeard
That's just staggering! So glad I'm getting one of these! Maybe I'll see if I can match your "sweet spot"...

16-04-2010, 11:56:24

a8875624
Will the 32nm chips be out this summer then? I imagine they will be able to break 4GHz at lower voltages?

The 3.8GHz@ 1.11v is ridiculous, but in terms of speed alone, it does not seem to offer that much advantage over the slightly cheaper 920 (40 on scan.co.uk)

17-04-2010, 08:39:05

Steve-O-
WOW! 3.8 at 1.11v... It was a good thing I wasn't drinking anything. And with that low of voltage temps must be amazing! (I skipped to the conclusion Sorry)

17-04-2010, 14:39:53

ppuff
They charge more for the 930 over there? By me its the same price as 920. $199 U.S.

17-04-2010, 17:00:21

a8875624
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ppuff'
They charge more for the 930 over there? By me its the same price as 920. $199 U.S.
This is why I hate living here!!!!! The 920 hasn't even dropped to anywhere near that!! - its 180-190

17-04-2010, 17:38:50

ppuff
If I was to get online it would be $280 for either one, just so happens a brick and mortar near me has insane prices on Intel CPU's.

19-04-2010, 15:49:00

mudkip
Lol @

''Our results saw 4.2GHz at 1.34v. Absolutely amazing numbers and, as you can see from the screenshot below, totally rock solid. 920 owners would dream of 4.2GHz at 1.34v. ''

''It took a lot of testing but we finally found the sweet spot. 1.112v on the core and 3.8GHz. I think you'll agree that this is outstanding.''

This is my i7 920 D0 4,2Ghz @ 1.264v :



http://i44.tinypic.com/348kphs.jpg

3,8Ghz @ 1.10v



http://i31.tinypic.com/xbl740.png

LinX + OCCT 8+ hours rock solid.

I think 930 owners would dream of this

19-04-2010, 17:40:37

tinytomlogan
Cingrats dude, we were talking about the majority of CPU's not the cpus we know that run better in certain baches

16-05-2010, 20:52:54

Shirosky102
I wish u guys have a toturial oc'ing i7 930 4.2ghz. For stable 24/7 gaming use .

16-05-2010, 21:32:45

I Hunta x
Not every chip will get 4.2ghz and the settings for each chip with be different for prety much any speed, with a quick google you should be able to find a guide to overclocking i7's if your not sure on what to do.

19-05-2010, 04:50:20

hadesan
Thanks for the information (detailed CPUZ shots) and comparison for the 920 i7s vs the 930

23-06-2010, 19:17:45

xxxxxl
I tried undervolting and i got 0.92v at stock cpu speeds.

As i'm new here, i can't post the image up.

@Mudkip did you try undervolting too? since your 920 is of a good batch, i foresee a super low voltage.

23-06-2010, 19:39:13

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='xxxxxl'

As i'm new here, i can't post the image up.
Use photobucket. Saves on server space here too

24-06-2010, 04:52:13

xxxxxl

24-06-2010, 05:14:52

Runebeard
Nice xxxxxl! You must be getting some really low temps to go along with that!

24-06-2010, 05:17:59

xxxxxl
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Runebeard'
Nice xxxxxl! You must be getting some really low temps to go along with that!
I'm getting average 45 degrees(and its quite stable) after setting fan speed to super silent.

At full fan speed, lowest i noticed was 39.(I didn't keep at full fan speed for very long as there was no need to).

24-06-2010, 12:07:40

xxxxxl
Just want to share this with everybody.

http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/6...0624234626.png

Notice the 930 power.

A Core i7-720QM at twice the speed. If only i could put this onto a laptop!

24-06-2010, 19:11:49

Diablo
Nice voltage, the 930 seems to be a lot more frugal. I hate to think how much power my 920 gulps down at 1.325V. What heatsink are you using?

24-06-2010, 19:39:29

xxxxxl
Hyper 212+

13-07-2010, 14:41:23

Bob Sand
Hi,

I'm v. impressed with the undervolting and the results you achieved. Is it possible to share all the settings you used?

I have a new i7 930 and I'm just starting to tinker. I would like a cool running and v.stable 3.8 as a max target. Your work might help me speed up my process and allow me to do it within safer parameters.

Thanks in advance.

Bob

13-07-2010, 15:27:46

tinytomlogan
You wont be able to under volt and still get an overclock dude. Its one way or the other sadly. Another thing you need to realise is cpu's and motherboards can all act very differently so settings for one may not work for another.

13-07-2010, 17:09:29

Bob Sand
"It took a lot of testing but we finally found the sweet spot. 1.112v on the core and 3.8GHz. I think you'll agree that this is outstanding."

Overclocking is basically a method of finding the optimum balance to achieve stability for a desired performance level for your particular chip and setup. We are dealing with ranges of multiple settings (and as a result too many permutations if you include the hardware variations!) and I want to get in the right range of settings to save my system unnecessary wear. Using the lowest voltage to achieve solid stability at 3.8 is my goal.

I was hoping to get an answer from the author to find out how he reached that low voltage and high performance....

13-07-2010, 17:27:19

tinytomlogan
It was me who tested that CPU fella.

13-07-2010, 18:14:33

Bob Sand
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
It was me who tested that CPU fella.
Are the relevant settings available for sharing?

13-07-2010, 18:17:48

Diablo
TTL is saying that it varies from chip to chip and mobo to mobo.

13-07-2010, 18:26:44

tinytomlogan
You really need to read some guides and work out what YOUR chip can do fella, its simple but you just have to put the time in.

This thread is for overclocking, you can do everything but the volts though dude. All the info is on the forums for you to try. If you get stuck start a thread with what you need help with.

http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?33255-Noob-Overclocking-i7-930-with-P6T-Deluxe-V2-and-Noctua-NH-D14

13-07-2010, 18:48:56

Bob Sand
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Diablo'
TTL is saying that it varies from chip to chip and mobo to mobo.
Every moron knows that. Thanks anyway.

I asked a simple question and he can say if he has the data or not. It is up to me what I choose to do with the data if anything. He can just answer the question.

I was not looking for more internet advice on guides to overclocking. I can Google with the best of them if I need something. I was taken with the performance he alluded to in his article and wanted to read all the details if they were available. The answer I guess is NO.

13-07-2010, 18:57:17

tinytomlogan
It is no as the testing was done a long time ago and I did not keep details that specific, if what you require is not in the review I do not have a record now.

However you do not need them as its VERY simple to work on your own kit to find out what yours is possible of.

Just set your cpu to its VID voltage and then overclock as normal without voltage increases. Its very simple if you actually try it.

13-07-2010, 19:06:14

Bob Sand
Thanks

13-07-2010, 22:43:16

xxxxxl
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bob Sand'
Every moron knows that. Thanks anyway.

I asked a simple question and he can say if he has the data or not. It is up to me what I choose to do with the data if anything. He can just answer the question.

I was not looking for more internet advice on guides to overclocking. I can Google with the best of them if I need something. I was taken with the performance he alluded to in his article and wanted to read all the details if they were available. The answer I guess is NO.
FYI, if you just want to do pure undervolting, other settings will be left on auto.

It is possible to do some overclocking while undervolting as the manufacturers normally set needlessly high voltages automatically.

Even while overclocking, most of the settings can be left as default.

You might want to disable the spectrum ones though.

14-07-2010, 03:56:41

Diablo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bob Sand'
Every moron knows that. Thanks anyway.

I asked a simple question and he can say if he has the data or not. It is up to me what I choose to do with the data if anything. He can just answer the question.

I was not looking for more internet advice on guides to overclocking. I can Google with the best of them if I need something. I was taken with the performance he alluded to in his article and wanted to read all the details if they were available. The answer I guess is NO.
There is no need to be rude. If you know these things fair enough, but if you were expecting to be able to buy any chip and magic up these results then I was simply saying that your expectations may need tempering. If you don't want other people to help, don't put this information on a public thread. If it is on a forum, expect people trying to be helpful to answer.

14-07-2010, 04:42:34

tinytomlogan
AUTO is completely the wrong thing. The board will overvolt to try and compensate for the clock. You MUST set the voltages so they stay where you want, ie: the cpu's VID

15-07-2010, 13:33:53

Bob Sand
removed.

15-07-2010, 14:33:21

Runebeard
Whoa boy! There's no need to arch your back! You give the air of someone who clearly understands overclocking well, yet rather than experimenting what your chip can do, simply wanted to recreate the test results which were likely performed with different hardware from yours.

As Tom said it is very simple to see what your processor can do and requires no facetious comments concerning another member's post when they are simply trying to aid in the issue as all good members will.

You talk about being respectful yourself, yet the aggressiveness and rudeness of some of your reponses isn't really warranted and will only serve to embitter people towards your plight.

I suggest in future a little bit of patience should be utilised, as it is not always easy to understand what a person is asking first time around and can lead to subsequent confusion and in this case strife.

15-07-2010, 14:38:24

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Runebeard'
Whoa boy! There's no need to arch your back! You give the air of someone who clearly understands overclocking well, yet rather than experimenting what your chip can do, simply wanted to recreate the test results which were likely performed with different hardware from yours.

As Tom said it is very simple to see what your processor can do and requires no facetious comments concerning another member's post when they are simply trying to aid in the issue as all good members will.

You talk about being respectful yourself, yet the aggressiveness and rudeness of some of your reponses isn't really warranted and will only serve to embitter people towards your plight.

I suggest in future a little bit of patience should be utilised, as it is not always easy to understand what a person is asking first time around and can lead to subsequent confusion and in this case strife.
I removed the post and have PM'd. But I agree entirely, we are all a big family here and will help, but all the questions were already answered, just maybe not in the way he was expecting.

15-07-2010, 15:41:09

Diablo
In the interest of having a friendly forum, I'm hoping this can slide (I've read his post). I'm not in this to make enemies.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.