Intel Core i7-950 Review

Conclusion

Intel Core i7-950 Review

Conclusion

Reviewing something like the i7-950 is one of the hardest things we do.

It's not that the actual benchmarking process is hard, or that the performance isn't breathtaking. Because the performance is breathtaking.

The problem is the obvious brilliance of it.

The i7-950 is one multiplier faster than the already brilliant i7-930. So it overclocks about 200MHz better. At stock it is quicker in clock speed, and the benchmarks back this up.

All around it's a little bit quicker and a little bit pricier. Exactly what you'd expect.

That doesn't quite tell the full story though as the performance at stock is very good indeed, and it's important to remember that not everyone wants to overclock their processors. A 3.06GHz i7 CPU for around £250 is an absolute bargain and will provide more performance than you could desire for the forseeable future.

If you do choose to overclock, the inherent speed of the i7-950 is also an ally because it allows you the extra freedom to decide if you want a little more BCLK to obtain your overclock, or you're willing to use the multiplier. Not every motherboard is capable of holding a steady 200 BCLK, so with the i7-950 you've the freedom to drop it down a little and save some wear on your components. Or, if you need to, provide a more suitable divider for your RAM.

Finally the capability to run at stock using only 1v on the CPU Core has massive benefits to power usage as well as the heat generated and the need to dissipate that. Even at 4GHz we were running beneath the recommended stock voltage. Overclocked and undervolted! It's 100% benefits, zero downsides.

The i7-930 was brilliant. The i7-950 is bigger and better in every way. Thanks to the aggressive price cut from Intel, it's also barely more expensive.

If you're in the market for a new CPU, the 'middle choice' has gone from being nearly ignored, to being the only sensible choice to make.

    

Thanks to Intel for providing the i7-950 for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-10-2010, 20:47:13

tinytomlogan
With the recent price-drop of the i7-950 we felt it was time to take a look at the middle child of the LGA1366 range.

Continue Reading

12-10-2010, 20:54:50

AMDFTW
nice OC's on that fella

1v tho lmao thats epeic,are they safe to run with that speed and volts

12-10-2010, 21:02:08

tinytomlogan
Watch the vid dude

12-10-2010, 21:32:34

kilobravo
Thanks for your rewiev of the i7 950.

just bought me one and the asrock x58 extreme6.

hope you have a rewiev of the new asrock x58 extreme6 soon

12-10-2010, 21:49:39

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Watch the vid dude
ahh yes

and that was one of your campest vids yet fella LMAO

12-10-2010, 22:18:36

murphy7801
cant wait for the oc guide because few tips from the pros never went wrong

13-10-2010, 12:03:20

Todd
You won the chip lottery there, Tom! If I could get my hands on one of them...

13-10-2010, 12:39:13

Alicarve
nice chip, I thought my i7 920 oc at 3.2ghz at 1.125v was good, but 1v thats really good lol

and well done hitting the 5k suscriber

i've been telling anyone i know who is into computers to check you and OC3D out,

you do always make it interesting and easy to watch so well done tom!

13-10-2010, 13:18:26

tinytomlogan
Thanks for all the kind words boys.

Tis a very nice CPU though, the silicone gods have been good to us in very different ways lately!

13-10-2010, 13:23:58

Alicarve
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Tis a very nice CPU though, the silicone gods have been good to us in very different ways lately!
especially with your 970 at 5ghz

13-10-2010, 13:38:54

Toxteth O'Grady
Best deals right now for 950 are 223 vs 212 best for 930. *No brainer.



TOG

27-10-2010, 12:45:43

kemical
Tom, when will you be doing the 950 overclock vid?

Would like to know if I can decrease voltages and still keep speed

27-10-2010, 13:23:37

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemical View Post

Tom, when will you be doing the 950 overclock vid?

Would like to know if I can decrease voltages and still keep speed
Dont know matey really as Im mega busy with other things atm.

27-10-2010, 14:39:01

kemical
Ok, thanks

27-10-2010, 16:38:37

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemical View Post

Ok, thanks
I will rty and do it in the next few weeks but as I said in the video its not quite as simple as you may think and I want it done correctly.

24-11-2010, 20:31:11

Mikkaav
Hello!

I just saw the video on YouTube and thought I hop in.

Here's a lil' screeny of my i7-950

10-12-2010, 12:11:08

nestle
Just letting you know looking forward to your OC guide. Probably like the zillionth time you've heard that, take your time ill be happy whenever its done. ^^"

from the videos seems like its taken alot of work and is gonna take even more but maybe it can accompany some sort of print out\text aswell aswell as the video, but i wouldn't really know how it would work.

good luck

17-02-2011, 14:42:12

coolgame
shud i spend on getting a 360 rad n a MCP655 pump for ocing a 950 or is the d14 better off?is the d14 better than the rasa 750?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.