Intel Core i7-950 Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Intel Core i7-950 Review

Test Setup

We're going to test the 950 on our standard X58 test rig, and as the main contender to the i7-950 is the i7-930, we'll be running up against that in our graphs.

Intel Core i7 950 Processor
Mushkin Ridgeback 998826
ASUS Rampage 3 Extreme
Corsair AX1200w
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Noctua NH-D14
ATI HD5870

Overclocking

The first place to start with any overclock is to test out the highest BCLK we can achieve. Here we only managed 212.4MHz but as we saw with our review on monday, that doesn't necessarily translate into a poor overclock anymore. Especially with this i7-950 having such a high multiplier available to it.

Intel Core i7-950 Review  

As with all of the modern Intel CPUs, 4GHz is easily achievable. The major thing to notice here is the voltage that it's stable at. A mere 1.184v.

This was so impressive we stopped overclocking for a bit and went to see how low the core voltage could go and it would still be stable. Amazingly the i7-950 managed to be completely stable at stock using only 1v on the core. One.

Intel Core i7-950 Review  

Pushing as hard as we could to find the upper limit, with some serious, but Intel approved, voltage we saw 4.67GHz. This is about the right amount of increase over the i7-930 given the extra multiplier available to us. Impressive by any standard.

Intel Core i7-950 Review  

Of course there is no way we'd want to run over 1.5v for any sensible amount of time and so things were dialled back to a more sensible level for our overclocking benchmark runs. Thanks to the solidity of the Rampage III Extreme and the serious potential of the i7-950, we were rock solid at 4.4GHz.

Intel Core i7-950 Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-10-2010, 20:47:13

tinytomlogan
With the recent price-drop of the i7-950 we felt it was time to take a look at the middle child of the LGA1366 range.

Continue Reading

12-10-2010, 20:54:50

AMDFTW
nice OC's on that fella

1v tho lmao thats epeic,are they safe to run with that speed and volts

12-10-2010, 21:02:08

tinytomlogan
Watch the vid dude

12-10-2010, 21:32:34

kilobravo
Thanks for your rewiev of the i7 950.

just bought me one and the asrock x58 extreme6.

hope you have a rewiev of the new asrock x58 extreme6 soon

12-10-2010, 21:49:39

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Watch the vid dude
ahh yes

and that was one of your campest vids yet fella LMAO

12-10-2010, 22:18:36

murphy7801
cant wait for the oc guide because few tips from the pros never went wrong

13-10-2010, 12:03:20

Todd
You won the chip lottery there, Tom! If I could get my hands on one of them...

13-10-2010, 12:39:13

Alicarve
nice chip, I thought my i7 920 oc at 3.2ghz at 1.125v was good, but 1v thats really good lol

and well done hitting the 5k suscriber

i've been telling anyone i know who is into computers to check you and OC3D out,

you do always make it interesting and easy to watch so well done tom!

13-10-2010, 13:18:26

tinytomlogan
Thanks for all the kind words boys.

Tis a very nice CPU though, the silicone gods have been good to us in very different ways lately!

13-10-2010, 13:23:58

Alicarve
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Tis a very nice CPU though, the silicone gods have been good to us in very different ways lately!
especially with your 970 at 5ghz

13-10-2010, 13:38:54

Toxteth O'Grady
Best deals right now for 950 are 223 vs 212 best for 930. *No brainer.



TOG

27-10-2010, 12:45:43

kemical
Tom, when will you be doing the 950 overclock vid?

Would like to know if I can decrease voltages and still keep speed

27-10-2010, 13:23:37

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemical View Post

Tom, when will you be doing the 950 overclock vid?

Would like to know if I can decrease voltages and still keep speed
Dont know matey really as Im mega busy with other things atm.

27-10-2010, 14:39:01

kemical
Ok, thanks

27-10-2010, 16:38:37

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemical View Post

Ok, thanks
I will rty and do it in the next few weeks but as I said in the video its not quite as simple as you may think and I want it done correctly.

24-11-2010, 20:31:11

Mikkaav
Hello!

I just saw the video on YouTube and thought I hop in.

Here's a lil' screeny of my i7-950

10-12-2010, 12:11:08

nestle
Just letting you know looking forward to your OC guide. Probably like the zillionth time you've heard that, take your time ill be happy whenever its done. ^^"

from the videos seems like its taken alot of work and is gonna take even more but maybe it can accompany some sort of print out\text aswell aswell as the video, but i wouldn't really know how it would work.

good luck

17-02-2011, 14:42:12

coolgame
shud i spend on getting a 360 rad n a MCP655 pump for ocing a 950 or is the d14 better off?is the d14 better than the rasa 750?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.