Intel Core i5-2405S Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Intel Core i5-2405S Review

Test Setup

Being the very latest in the Intel line it makes sense to test it upon the latest generation of motherboards.

Intel Core-i5 2405S
Gigabyte G1.Sniper 2 Z68 Motherboard
4GB Kingston Genesis 2133MHz
EVGA GTX570 with ForceWare 280.26 WHQL
Samsung Spinpoint F1
Corsair 80GB SSD as Intel Rapid Storage Technology cache
Thermalright Silver Arrow
Windows 7 x64

Overclocking

Fresh out of the box the Core i5-2405S is clocked at a very humble 2.5 GHz. Although the literature states it supports up to 3.3 GHz in Turbo mode this is only on a single core, and when all four cores are active the Turbo mode pushes a whole single step up to give us a still pretty feeble 2.6 GHz. However as this is such a low watt processor perhaps there is some extra to be gained with some judicious prodding.

Intel Core i5-2405S Review  

And the answer is... no. No there isn't. With all four cores enabled the CPU runs at a maximum of 3 GHz regardless of what you've specified you want it to run at, how much power headroom you've given it, or how much extra vCore you run. Not exactly a speedster which is disappointing.

Intel Core i5-2405S Review

Let's run some tests.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-08-2011, 06:02:33

tinytomlogan
The latest in a long line of SandyBridge processors is the low power Core i5-2405S. We put it to the test.



Continue Reading

31-08-2011, 06:17:02

SieB
Seems pretty pointless to release this when it offers nothing but a lower TDP and who would buy this when you can get the 2500k for the same money which you can also overclock

Even if you don't go for the 2500k the non K 2500 is still cheaper and faster than the 2405S.

31-08-2011, 07:24:06

sheroo
There's also the i5 2500T as well which is only 45W, but that's even more expensive than the 2500K.

31-08-2011, 20:45:59

badtaylorx
ok amd here is you chance.....hell i'll even write the slogan for you......."AMD's 980 BE--FASTER THAN THE LATEST I5!!!!!!!!!"

01-09-2011, 20:01:03

Speed
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

Seems pretty pointless to release this when it offers nothing but a lower TDP and who would buy this when you can get the 2500k for the same money which you can also overclock

Even if you don't go for the 2500k the non K 2500 is still cheaper and faster than the 2405S.
I think it is aimed more at system builders than anything, lower TDP means less cooling, cheaper parts etc. They would buy in bulk and OEM which would result in cheaper prices than the 2500. Which I'm guessing why PC World was mentioned in the conclusion. Not everyone overclocks but you make a valid point.

02-09-2011, 05:04:08

Ya93sin
Would it not make a better HTPC solution?

But then the 2500K isn't a hot chip, and you get a fair bit more for the money. What would be interesting is if you can passively cool these things and get something truly silent.

02-09-2011, 16:04:29

shyguy094
I think low end AMD is more suitable for HTPCs. I got an mATX board that would do the same thing as an i3-2100 or i5-2405S rig can do. The Athlons are like $40 right now. It would be interesting to see if it's possible to passively cool the i5-2405S. That would be an advantage that the 2400S has. 45W to 65W CPUs can probably be cooled w/o a fan. My cousin's Dell Dimension 1100 was (Celeron D @ 2.53GHz).

02-09-2011, 17:25:04

Speed
Quote:
Originally Posted by shyguy094 View Post

I think low end AMD is more suitable for HTPCs. I got an mATX board that would do the same thing as an i3-2100 or i5-2405S rig can do. The Athlons are like $40 right now. It would be interesting to see if it's possible to passively cool the i5-2405S. That would be an advantage that the 2400S has. 45W to 65W CPUs can probably be cooled w/o a fan. My cousin's Dell Dimension 1100 was (Celeron D @ 2.53GHz).
The onboard GPU though is very efficent, so that is another advantage unless you are talking about AMD APUs. I'm running a small form factor system on a 2100 @ 2560x1600 with no issues. I've also just built a HTPC for someone around the same CPU, they are ideally suited for HTPC applications. Maybe not as cheap as the AMD solutions, but they generally perform better in my experience. Obviously if you don't need the extra HP, then the AMD solution is fine.

02-09-2011, 19:18:45

shyguy094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post

The onboard GPU though is very efficent, so that is another advantage unless you are talking about AMD APUs. I'm running a small form factor system on a 2100 @ 2560x1600 with no issues. I've also just built a HTPC for someone around the same CPU, they are ideally suited for HTPC applications. Maybe not as cheap as the AMD solutions, but they generally perform better in my experience. Obviously if you don't need the extra HP, then the AMD solution is fine.
You're right. AMD's APUs are great for a HTPC solution. I overclocked my HD4250 to 900MHz (880G chipset) and topped out at (an inconsistent) 40 FPS in BC2 on low settings. When the i3-2100 was 30% more than it is now, it had no real place in the market. It was too expensive for the "budget / HTPC people" and lacked 2 cores and an unlocked multiplier for the mainstream enthusiast. When I built my rig, I think the i3 was over $160 or $170. Pricecanada.com only has the NCIX bundle, so I can't check it now (pricecanada has pricing history). At the same time, the Phenom II X4 955 was about $125. AM3+ boards weren't available at the time (it was like early April), so I got a budget AM3 board.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.