Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650 Quad Core CPU

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
Penryn Wafer ... mmmmmm
Despite Intel currently having "one up" on AMD, they certainly haven't been resting on their laurels. Rather than just simply taking the QX6850, slapping an extra 4mb cache on top and calling it a new processor, Intel has given the chip a complete overhaul; replacing the aging polysilicon material used in most processors with their own "high-K" technology. This combined with moving to the 45nm manufacture process has left us with a processor that consumes less power than its predecessors and paves the path for greater bumps in performance in the future.
 
Coming from the "Extreme" lineup, the QX9650 is also an amazing overclocker.  Even on fairly budget air cooling, we were able to take the chip all the way up to 4275mhz by utilizing a 9.5x multiplier along with a 450mhz FSB. This certainly wasn't the limit of the chip either, with heat being the only obstacle in our way. Users of water cooling or even more extreme methods of cooling should easily see 4.4ghz and beyond.
 
We could at this point talk about the eye watering £640 price tag that the chip carries. But let's face it: everybody knows that Intel's top-end chips carry a premium price tag and there really is no need to be looking at the QX9650 unless you absolutely must have the best, or you're an overclocker who needs that unlocked multi to squeeze every last MHZ out of the chip.
 
 
The Good
• Cooler and more energy efficient.
• An overclocking monster.
• New SSE4 instructions.
 
The Mediocre
• Software is still way behind unleashing the full potential of this chip.
 
The Bad
• The price...and the fact that I want one!
 
 
Overclock3D Performance Award
 
 
Planning on splashing out on this or any of Intel's latest 45nm chips? Let us know in the forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-04-2008, 16:19:25

JN
"With a 3.0ghz stock clock, unlocked multiplier and a whopping 12mb cache, how does the QX9650 compare to some of it's more affordable counterparts?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...215646766l.gif

Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650 Review

10-04-2008, 16:20:40

ionicle
woah, one hell of a review!

its not even up on the front page yet

EDIT: good review

the dual core got left in the dust for multi-threaded aplications

but that processor isnt THAT much further ahead of the Q6600 tbh..

not really worth the extra IMO

but as you said, the best of the best...

10-04-2008, 16:25:47

Bungral
Wow.. Where did this come from..

Will read it in a min

10-04-2008, 16:34:31

!TIMMY!
yummy! I want, but not enough money, ahhhggggg.

10-04-2008, 16:43:45

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='!TIMMY!'
yummy! I want, but not enough money, ahhhggggg.
Ditto...I was tempted to run off with it to Mexico

10-04-2008, 17:45:48

Socks
Im hopefully getting a Q9450, im not going to even consider spending that much money one something not all that great, a Q9450 = cheap, good for le future useage, and meh, its my b'day in a few weeks so i might as well treat myself.

Anyone else looking at anything similar or sticking with whats already out?

10-04-2008, 17:58:48

FarFarAway
Sticking with Dual Core until Nehalem comes out tbh

10-04-2008, 17:58:49

Pseudonym
My jaw was firmly open throughout. 4.275ghz on air is mad.

Then the price popped up and my jaw stayed where it was. Ouch, but if you want the best you have to pay for it.

When these come down in price they might be an excellent buy.

10-04-2008, 17:59:28

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Pseudonym'
My jaw was firmly open throughout. 4.275ghz on air is mad.

Then the price popped up and my jaw stayed where it was. Ouch, but if you want the best you have to pay for it.

When these come down in price they might be an excellent buy.
Intel's Extreme CPU's never come down THAT much in price...

10-04-2008, 18:24:09

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='sock58'
Im hopefully getting a Q9450, im not going to even consider spending that much money one something not all that great, a Q9450 = cheap, good for le future useage, and meh, its my b'day in a few weeks so i might as well treat myself.

Anyone else looking at anything similar or sticking with what's already out?
I'm gonna buy a Q9450 out in the States beginning of next month. Want an upgrade from my E6600.. Would probably just get a Q6600 if I wasn't going over the pond but as I can save a few quid then there is no harm in opting for the Penryn.

Agreed with Matt though.. Nehalem .. Its probably gonna be a little steep when first comes out though.

10-04-2008, 18:44:00

steve30x
I want one but I cant afford the price, Which is why I opted for a Q6600 instead.

10-04-2008, 19:28:23

tinytomlogan
Great review.

Would love to see a review on the lower spc quads like the q9450, most things Ive read so far is these wont be as good (clocking wise) as the old q6600.

10-04-2008, 20:35:21

nepas
nice review jim.

you put a lot of volts through that chip,isn't 1.4 the max the 45nm's are rated for?Have read a lot about the 45's having seriously shortened lives due to voltage,they don't seem to be able to take being pushed on volts as well as a 65nm can.Either way though over 4.2 on air is good going,but I cant see them going much further due to the voltage issue(unless you can get that far with a lot less volts)

seems weird now,but not so long ago people were not bothered about how many volts you put into a chip,just to get the highest clock possible,you overvolted this new chip to less than my venice takes as standard(still running at 1.59 after 2 years)

11-04-2008, 08:45:36

gdawg304
Impressive chip and all, but hasn't it already been superseded by the QX9770 clocked at 3.2GHz?

A review of that chip on bit-tech described anyone who bought it (retails at 930-odd) as indulging in willy-waving and suggested that a Q9450 for a quarter the price, overclocked to 3.2GHZ+ was a more sensible option....

although the release of those seems to have slipped back to July looking at some retailers!! There doesn't seem to be any official notification anywhere about the 9450 & 9550 release dates.

11-04-2008, 09:00:56

Rastalovich
Great write-up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Intel's Extreme CPU's never come down THAT much in price...
Nope. Cept in the states vS UK price does seem to fluctuate. At the time of release, the X9650 was the same price (give or take), now I think there`s a 100 or so difference.

The mobos make a difference in supplying these beasts. I`m presently running the cpu @ stock @ 1.15v or so.

With the ABit IX38, I can go 4.1x ghz on 1.2xV. Previous IX38 board I had went to 4.2x ghz on 1.3xV. All on air.

That being said again, cpuz gives incorrect readings. Uguru says it`s doing one thing - and it isn`t, and my temps, outside of coretemp are 12 degrees, sometimes hittin 18... on air >.<

X9770 for almost 1k ! sheesh.

11-04-2008, 19:56:07

doug2507
.

12-04-2008, 04:58:16

FarFarAway
Personally I'd say that the Q6600 is more than sufficient for the time being, especially when considering the price.

12-04-2008, 07:08:32

Rastalovich
Building a rig for gaming ? I`d consider more the mobo & gfxcard(s) these days.

There are anything from 4 to 6 cpus out that will destroy games, marginly under that there a good dozen, even when run @ stock in both dual and quad core flavors.

If your doing other stuff in addition to gaming, your emphasis may change.

12-04-2008, 10:16:56

clone38
Ive had one sitting here for weeks now as i need a motherboard for it but my new case needs more modding done costing me nice review cant wait to get this baby under water
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.