Intel Core 2 Duo 'Conroe' E6700 & X6800 Benchmarks

Conclusion

Conclusion

Intel have certainly done their homework with the Core 2 Duo 'Conroe' processor, resulting in quite possibly the biggest advancement in processor performance we've seen in a few years. With benchmark results completely annihilating Intel's last generation of processor, and reports of mid-ranged Conroe chips taking on the high end chips from AMD, the Conroe is set to be a big success.

As always though, there is a downside - price. Despite the mid-range Conroe chips actually being very reasonably priced, the new architecture will mean a new motherboard and possibly graphics card & memory depending on your previous platform, which could result in quite an expensive upgrade.

In terms of overclocking, you may wonder why we didn't push any of these chips to their limits. Well needless to say we DID have fun overclocking the Conroe's all the way up to 4ghz (and maybe even beyond), but at the end of the day these are 'Engineering Sample' chips, and are notorious for their overclocking success. Retail chips will under most circumstances not yield as high results, and for this reason we decided not to give you false hopes of how far you may be able to overclock your next purchase.


Pro's
+ Improved memory bandwidth and lower latency.
+ Cache sharing improves performance between the cores.
+ New architecture greatly improves gaming performance.
+ Lower power consumption ensures cooler running.
+ Very very fast!

Con's
- Requires a new motherboard and DDR2 in most cases.
- X6800 pricing is far too high to be considered by most.


Editors Choice

Thanks to Intel for providing the motherboard and processors for review.

Intel Core 2 Duo 'Conroe' processors and motherboards are now available for purchase from SpecialTech and many other reputable online retailers.

Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-08-2006, 12:55:15

JN
"We've all heard of the latest chip codenamed "Conroe" from Intel. We've all seen its sub 20 second SuperPI results. But is the cost of upgrading worth it? We find out by comparing it to Intel's previous generation chip, the Pentium4."

We also take a brief look at the bad axe

Here

22-08-2006, 13:06:24

FarFarAway
Mmmmmm - conroe PWNS

22-08-2006, 13:12:47

MikeEnIke
You guys are putting out reviews like mad. Awesome job, good read. Keep up the great work.

22-08-2006, 13:39:03

AKtodaface
soooooooooooo many reviews I love it!!!! awesome review guys!

22-08-2006, 13:43:42

glocktodahead
mmm those benchies make me happy in the pants lol. Nice work on the review

22-08-2006, 13:47:00

NickS
Not to be a nit picker but I don't think the review is fair. If you used an Intel Pentium D 3GHz, it'd be more fair, but that's Dual Core vs Single Core..

Nice review though, overall.

22-08-2006, 13:52:43

FarFarAway
A lot of those benchies are still single core. I kind of agree with you but the P4 D's were a bit of a patch-job operation from Intel. I think looking at old P4 vs was more of an illutrative thing tbh

22-08-2006, 13:58:14

JN
..and i'm afraid at present we don't have a big tray of processors to choose from

As Kemp said, the comparison was for illustration purposes only to show what advantages could be seen from upgrading to the Core 2 Duo platform.

22-08-2006, 14:01:24

specialtech
Reminds me that I have an article here written about the true cost of conroe, its not only the cpu but also the board as well and now taking into account the depreciation of value on the AMD market, where lets face it most people will jump from. Does seem expensive. Still if you game then its gota be worth it

22-08-2006, 15:25:52

mrapoc
brill review - i see a motherboard review coming soon

22-08-2006, 21:41:45

PV5150
Great review again Jim. Intel really have stepped up to the plate and given AMD the 'birdie salute'...bring it on!!! Although, Intel certainly have learned a lot from the opposition, it's just taken them a while to get there. - like reducing the pipeline length, and how the processor handles dropped/out of order instructions more effectively etc. Definitely a step in the right direction.

22-08-2006, 22:37:33

Raging
conroe sweetness

nice reveiw bro,conroe is really pimpin it up

Jason
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.