Intel Core 2 Duo 'Conroe' E6700 & X6800 Benchmarks

HDTach & Cinebench

HDTach

HDTach is a free hard disk benchmarking program from SimpliSoftware. This benchmark is not only capable of producing results on hard disk access times but also CPU usage required during disk access.

HDTach

Very little difference was observed in the hard disk burst speed, which was to be expected as all tests were performed with the same hard disk and controller.

A small difference can be seen in the CPU utilisation during the tests, with the Core 2 Duo's performing 1-2% better than the Pentium4.


Cinebench 9.5

Cinebench is a benchmarking tool based on the powerful 3D software Cinema 4D. Consequently, the results of tests conducted using cinebench carry significant weight when analyzing a computer’s performance in everyday use.

Cinebench CPU Cinebench OpenGL

Looking at the CPU benchmark above, we can see that only a minimal performance increase was observed when Cinebench made use of HyperThreading on the Pentium4. However, when Cinebench made use of both cores present on the Conroe processors, the results more than doubled, leaving the Pentium4 for dust!

The OpenGL graphics benchmarks were more closely matched, with the Pentium4 scoring around 600 points lower in all tests.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-08-2006, 12:55:15

JN
"We've all heard of the latest chip codenamed "Conroe" from Intel. We've all seen its sub 20 second SuperPI results. But is the cost of upgrading worth it? We find out by comparing it to Intel's previous generation chip, the Pentium4."

We also take a brief look at the bad axe

Here

22-08-2006, 13:06:24

FarFarAway
Mmmmmm - conroe PWNS

22-08-2006, 13:12:47

MikeEnIke
You guys are putting out reviews like mad. Awesome job, good read. Keep up the great work.

22-08-2006, 13:39:03

AKtodaface
soooooooooooo many reviews I love it!!!! awesome review guys!

22-08-2006, 13:43:42

glocktodahead
mmm those benchies make me happy in the pants lol. Nice work on the review

22-08-2006, 13:47:00

NickS
Not to be a nit picker but I don't think the review is fair. If you used an Intel Pentium D 3GHz, it'd be more fair, but that's Dual Core vs Single Core..

Nice review though, overall.

22-08-2006, 13:52:43

FarFarAway
A lot of those benchies are still single core. I kind of agree with you but the P4 D's were a bit of a patch-job operation from Intel. I think looking at old P4 vs was more of an illutrative thing tbh

22-08-2006, 13:58:14

JN
..and i'm afraid at present we don't have a big tray of processors to choose from

As Kemp said, the comparison was for illustration purposes only to show what advantages could be seen from upgrading to the Core 2 Duo platform.

22-08-2006, 14:01:24

specialtech
Reminds me that I have an article here written about the true cost of conroe, its not only the cpu but also the board as well and now taking into account the depreciation of value on the AMD market, where lets face it most people will jump from. Does seem expensive. Still if you game then its gota be worth it

22-08-2006, 15:25:52

mrapoc
brill review - i see a motherboard review coming soon

22-08-2006, 21:41:45

PV5150
Great review again Jim. Intel really have stepped up to the plate and given AMD the 'birdie salute'...bring it on!!! Although, Intel certainly have learned a lot from the opposition, it's just taken them a while to get there. - like reducing the pipeline length, and how the processor handles dropped/out of order instructions more effectively etc. Definitely a step in the right direction.

22-08-2006, 22:37:33

Raging
conroe sweetness

nice reveiw bro,conroe is really pimpin it up

Jason
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.