Intel Core 2 Duo 'Conroe' E6700 & X6800 Benchmarks

Super PI & Sisoft Sandra

Super PI 1m & 32m

SuperPI is the benchmark of choice for many overclockers. It's lightweight to download and can quickly give a good indication as to how fast your CPU & Memory are in comparison to other systems. Lets see how the Conroe performs...

SuperPI 1m

With in excess of 20 seconds difference between the Pentium4 630 and the E6700 the Core 2 Duo's are clear winners in the SuperPI 1m benchmarks. Up until recently, most overclockers could only dream of a sub 20 second 1M SuperPI bench but the Conroe achieves this at stock settings with ease.

SuperPI 32m

Performing a full 32m SuperPI took the Pentium4 630 a total of 37 minutes 15 seconds to complete. This result was yet again completely overshadowed by the Core 2 Duo's, finishing the test almost a full 20 minutes earlier!

This shows the efficiency of the C2D architecture. Getting rid of the long pipelines in Intel's Netburst architecture has really helped the Core 2 Duo, with the SuperPI benchmark really showing how fast the C2D's are.

Sisoft Sandra

Sisoft Sandra is a synthetic benchmark utility capable of reporting and benchmarking a wide range of system components.

Sisoft Processor Sisoft Processor

Sisoft Memory Sisoft Memory

In the Processor Arithmetic and Multimedia benchmarks we can see that the Conroe's enhanced feature set and Dual Core technology clearly has a major advantage in Sisoft Sandra, produces scores 2-3 times higher than the Pentium4.

The memory based benchmarks show us the major advantage of having a processor with Intel's Smart Memory Access incorporated. Reducing the memory latency by 26ns and increasing the bandwidth by around 500-600 mb/s, the Conroe shows a significant advantage over its predecessor. This is an area where previous Intel chips where falling far behind AMD, however with the change to the core architecture, Intel have managed to play catch up.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-08-2006, 12:55:15

JN
"We've all heard of the latest chip codenamed "Conroe" from Intel. We've all seen its sub 20 second SuperPI results. But is the cost of upgrading worth it? We find out by comparing it to Intel's previous generation chip, the Pentium4."

We also take a brief look at the bad axe

Here

22-08-2006, 13:06:24

FarFarAway
Mmmmmm - conroe PWNS

22-08-2006, 13:12:47

MikeEnIke
You guys are putting out reviews like mad. Awesome job, good read. Keep up the great work.

22-08-2006, 13:39:03

AKtodaface
soooooooooooo many reviews I love it!!!! awesome review guys!

22-08-2006, 13:43:42

glocktodahead
mmm those benchies make me happy in the pants lol. Nice work on the review

22-08-2006, 13:47:00

NickS
Not to be a nit picker but I don't think the review is fair. If you used an Intel Pentium D 3GHz, it'd be more fair, but that's Dual Core vs Single Core..

Nice review though, overall.

22-08-2006, 13:52:43

FarFarAway
A lot of those benchies are still single core. I kind of agree with you but the P4 D's were a bit of a patch-job operation from Intel. I think looking at old P4 vs was more of an illutrative thing tbh

22-08-2006, 13:58:14

JN
..and i'm afraid at present we don't have a big tray of processors to choose from

As Kemp said, the comparison was for illustration purposes only to show what advantages could be seen from upgrading to the Core 2 Duo platform.

22-08-2006, 14:01:24

specialtech
Reminds me that I have an article here written about the true cost of conroe, its not only the cpu but also the board as well and now taking into account the depreciation of value on the AMD market, where lets face it most people will jump from. Does seem expensive. Still if you game then its gota be worth it

22-08-2006, 15:25:52

mrapoc
brill review - i see a motherboard review coming soon

22-08-2006, 21:41:45

PV5150
Great review again Jim. Intel really have stepped up to the plate and given AMD the 'birdie salute'...bring it on!!! Although, Intel certainly have learned a lot from the opposition, it's just taken them a while to get there. - like reducing the pipeline length, and how the processor handles dropped/out of order instructions more effectively etc. Definitely a step in the right direction.

22-08-2006, 22:37:33

Raging
conroe sweetness

nice reveiw bro,conroe is really pimpin it up

Jason
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.