Intel Core 2 Duo 'Conroe' E6700 & X6800 Benchmarks

Introduction & Setup

Introduction

If you're like me, you will have been watching all of the news and thread popping up around the Internet surrounding Intel's latest line of processors 'Core 2 Duo'. In particular, their latest core codenamed 'Conroe' for the LGA775 platform.

After months of waiting, and being teased by benchmarks from engineering samples, the Conroe chip is now available for purchase from most retailers including our friends over at SpecialTech.

So, what's so great about this CPU, why does it perform so well, and will you see a worthwhile performance improvement by upgrading from your current processor? All of these questions I plan to answer today by comparing the E6700 and X6800 'Conroe' chips against my trusty Pentium 4 630 chip clocked at a stock speed of 3ghz.


Test Setup

Intel were kind enough to send us one of their press kits containing some of their latest goodies...

- Intel D975XBX 'Bad Axe' Motherboard
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 (2.66ghz)
- Intel Core 2 Duo X6800 (2.93ghz)

In order to get things up and running, I'll be adding the following components to the mix:

- Silverstone Zeus 560w PSU
- XFX 7900GT GPU @ Stock
- Kingston HyperX PC2-8500 (5-5-5-15)
- Stock Intel Cooler

And for a 'fair' clock-for-clock comparison, I'll be adding my very own Pentium4 630 running at a stock speed of 3.0ghz which is just a tad faster on the MHZ scale than the Core 2 Duo's that I'm looking at today.

Pentium4 vs Core 2 Duo

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-08-2006, 12:55:15

JN
"We've all heard of the latest chip codenamed "Conroe" from Intel. We've all seen its sub 20 second SuperPI results. But is the cost of upgrading worth it? We find out by comparing it to Intel's previous generation chip, the Pentium4."

We also take a brief look at the bad axe

Here

22-08-2006, 13:06:24

FarFarAway
Mmmmmm - conroe PWNS

22-08-2006, 13:12:47

MikeEnIke
You guys are putting out reviews like mad. Awesome job, good read. Keep up the great work.

22-08-2006, 13:39:03

AKtodaface
soooooooooooo many reviews I love it!!!! awesome review guys!

22-08-2006, 13:43:42

glocktodahead
mmm those benchies make me happy in the pants lol. Nice work on the review

22-08-2006, 13:47:00

NickS
Not to be a nit picker but I don't think the review is fair. If you used an Intel Pentium D 3GHz, it'd be more fair, but that's Dual Core vs Single Core..

Nice review though, overall.

22-08-2006, 13:52:43

FarFarAway
A lot of those benchies are still single core. I kind of agree with you but the P4 D's were a bit of a patch-job operation from Intel. I think looking at old P4 vs was more of an illutrative thing tbh

22-08-2006, 13:58:14

JN
..and i'm afraid at present we don't have a big tray of processors to choose from

As Kemp said, the comparison was for illustration purposes only to show what advantages could be seen from upgrading to the Core 2 Duo platform.

22-08-2006, 14:01:24

specialtech
Reminds me that I have an article here written about the true cost of conroe, its not only the cpu but also the board as well and now taking into account the depreciation of value on the AMD market, where lets face it most people will jump from. Does seem expensive. Still if you game then its gota be worth it

22-08-2006, 15:25:52

mrapoc
brill review - i see a motherboard review coming soon

22-08-2006, 21:41:45

PV5150
Great review again Jim. Intel really have stepped up to the plate and given AMD the 'birdie salute'...bring it on!!! Although, Intel certainly have learned a lot from the opposition, it's just taken them a while to get there. - like reducing the pipeline length, and how the processor handles dropped/out of order instructions more effectively etc. Definitely a step in the right direction.

22-08-2006, 22:37:33

Raging
conroe sweetness

nice reveiw bro,conroe is really pimpin it up

Jason
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.