Gigabyte Z97X SOC Force Motherboard Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Force Review

Introduction

The Z97 range of motherboards have so far shown themselves to be evolutionary rather than revolutionary. The biggest change between the Z87 and the current Z97 boards are probably the consistency and price point of them all. There really hasn't been a bad one as such, and even the fully featured ones are coming in a lot cheaper than the high end motherboards of old.

Demonstrating this 'loads of features for little money' ethos is the Gigabyte Z97X SOC Force. It's a member of Gigabyte's rare, but brilliant, overclocking range of motherboards. After the snafu with the design of the most recent G1 motherboard it's nice to see they've retained the iconic orange and black colour scheme. The question is, of course, does it still provide a wealth of overclocking features for those who prefer to tinker rather than just plug and play?

Technical Specifications

As always with a motherboard the specifications are, to a certain degree, identical to any other. So much of the connectivity is now handled by the Intel Z97 chipset that a big change is difficult to get. It's all about the additional elements that a manufacturer can bolt on, and the SOC Force has plenty of those.

Gigabyte Z97X SOC Preview

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-06-2014, 18:58:11

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...095814979l.jpg

If you're in the mood to put your overclocking hat on, then Gigabyte might have the answer to your prayers with the Z97X SOC Force motherboard.


Continue Reading

26-06-2014, 19:24:44

Dicehunter
33 minutes ? Spot on, This calls for the big OC3D coffee mug *Yes I have a dedicated OC3D mug *

Looking forward to watching this

26-06-2014, 19:25:04

Watsyerproblem
Wow that thing is an overclocking Beast! It truely lives up to the Super Over Clock name.

27-06-2014, 00:18:34

mclarenman01
Thanks Tim! I just read the review. Its great to see how this board performs. I cant wait to watch the video when I get home from work

I have the older x58a-oc and don't really need to upgrade but this really makes me want the z97 version to play with haha!

27-06-2014, 04:09:10

Watsyerproblem
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclarenman01 View Post
Thanks Tim! I just read the review. Its great to see how this board performs. I cant wait to watch the video when I get home from work

I have the older x58a-oc and don't really need to upgrade but this really makes me want the z97 version to play with haha!
Who's Tim?

27-06-2014, 04:20:05

MaddenShadow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watsyerproblem View Post
Who's Tim?
All I know is that Tom really likes being called that

27-06-2014, 04:27:53

SieB
Dat orange and black

If I was upgrading anytime soon this would be the motherboard i'd buy.
I love the overall look of it and it is definitely a performer, it may lack some of the features other motherboards have but they are mainly useless gimmicks anyway.
This board has all the right features for overclocking, which is the most important thing.

27-06-2014, 05:17:03

Excalabur50
Just can't imagine Tom being TinyTimLogan doing a rendition of tiptoe thru the tulips ROFL!!

27-06-2014, 06:08:10

mclarenman01
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watsyerproblem View Post
Who's Tim?
Aaaahhhhhhhhhhh crap.... I should re read before posting

Sorry Tom!

27-06-2014, 07:11:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclarenman01 View Post
Aaaahhhhhhhhhhh crap.... I should re read before posting

Sorry Tom!
Youre a folder so Ill forgive you this once.....

27-06-2014, 09:31:33

Kibeloko
This is one of the most beautiful motherboards I've ever seen.

Nice review Tom, Gigabyte did a wonderful job here.

27-06-2014, 13:16:41

RickPlaysWarr
Looks like a really nice board. Thanks for the review Tom. The hardware buttons seem really useful on the board. It was a choice for me between this board and the ASUS Maximus VII Hero board for my new build. I had the Red/Black NZXT H440 case so picked the Hero. Now I am wishing that I had waited a bit and maybe got the Orange H440 and this board -- oh well the Orange H440 was not available when I ordered; so going along with original plan

Kicking myself a bit as the Orange/Black combo would have stood out against all the Red/Black setups that are out there.

--Rick--

27-06-2014, 20:52:17

metalgun2000
Thanks again Tom. I gotta say, I didn't like Gigabyte's 9 series boards a first but I''m starting to come around. I made the mistake of making it too personal with the G1 range and kinda raged a bit.

29-06-2014, 09:40:02

SgtFluffyButt
What's the audio like on this one?

I was originally thinking about the Asus Hero just because it has everything I want, but if this has similar audio quality then this may be the one for me

29-06-2014, 09:45:24

ShaunB-91
I need a brew, I'll wait till' wrestling's finished then put kettle on and watch this review.

29-06-2014, 13:11:26

Wraithguard
Great review TTL "Sexy black & orange oh yeah" my OC3D comment of the week. And wow you said the Noctua industrials were loud but my god are they really loud.

Little Clones, Yoda has done his deed..

02-07-2014, 04:32:19

Pepe
Thank you for the review, Tom.

There were some compatibility issues between ax-XXXi PSUs and GIGABYTE Z87X-OC and Z87X-OC Force boards (OC ignition booting issues).

Can you please confirm if it's solved on Gigabyte Z97X SOC Force?

I'm asking as I own AX-760i and I'm considering this board for a refresh.

Thanks.

21-07-2014, 13:45:51

DB5
I have this board and I love it. Doesn't have a lot of the extra crap hanging all over the board and is designed perfectly in my opinion. Being a Gamer and not much of an OCer, this works to my needs. Get the Killer NIC and the board will over clock when I want. Just waiting for EK to get done verifying if the Full Board kit for the Z97 Chipset and the Rail to the left of the CPU. I guess the Z87X-OC has the same design. I give this board 2 thumbs up.

27-07-2014, 13:22:01

nexusmaniac
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraithguard View Post

Little Clones, Yoda has done his deed..
His Dirty Deed!

On another note @tinytomlogan Nice review, thanks to you I went and pickup up a Z97X-SOC Force It was 169 from overclockers... But I can live with that for such an amazing board!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.