Gigabyte Z87X-OC Review

Onboard Buttons

Gigabyte Z87X-OC Review

Onboard Buttons

Overclocking is always a case of stability but when you're going for records the limiting factor, besides heat, is booting into your OS. By no means unique to the Z87X-OC, it's still good to see the ability to tweak your BCLK and multipliers once you've actually made it into Windows. You can boot at a more sensible setting and adjust once you're in there to gain those final few MHz.

Gigabyte Z87X-OC Review     Gigabyte Z87X-OC Review  

It's not only about fine tuning your setup either, as often you go beyond the point of no return and the system refuses to POST. The Gigabyte offers the biggest suite of tools to save you from that situation without losing your hard work that we've ever seen. 

Gigabyte Z87X-OC Review     Gigabyte Z87X-OC Review  

Time to discover if the Z87X-OC has enough performance to match its potential.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-07-2013, 05:30:39

tinytomlogan
At the weather heats up, we take a look at the latest in the OC range from Gigabyte, the Z87X.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...091607255l.JPG



Continue Reading

19-07-2013, 07:07:46

mArTyN
Beautiful board

19-07-2013, 07:16:20

AverageNinja
Yay! Finally!
I've been looking out to this review!
I'm going to read it now

19-07-2013, 08:04:02

Etlar
Sorry to say it TTL, but no Movie ? :O Need some thing to do, when i wait on my parts !

19-07-2013, 08:49:29

GoogalyMoogaly
Disappointed you didn't cover RAM voltages. I've read in other reviews how many manufacturers (except Asus) don't accurately report RAM voltages in the BIOS. I was wondering fi this board is the same?
Also I believe they dropped the high end audio they've used on some of their OC boards in the past. I see no mention of anything audio related in the review.

The board also annoys me that I'd be paying all that money and if I put it in a case I can't use it. For example the PCI bracket, the overclocking buttons and the internal external USB ports. Would rather it was cheaper and didn't have these. They could make a "Z87X-OC TestBench" version for those that want to use it on a test bench and give the rest of use the other features at a lower price tag.

It's also a little disappointing that they went with a black PCB. They used to be rare, but have become more common in recent times. Pity Gigabyte didn't try to be different and come up with something new, if they're trying something new with could schemes.

That said this board is on my very short shortlist of Z87 boards (along with the Asus Z87 Maximus VI Gene and Hero boards) so it's good to know that it's ok.

19-07-2013, 09:12:21

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoogalyMoogaly View Post
Disappointed you didn't cover RAM voltages. I've read in other reviews how many manufacturers (except Asus) don't accurately report RAM voltages in the BIOS. I was wondering fi this board is the same?
If we haven't mentioned it you can assume it's fine.

Quote:
Also I believe they dropped the high end audio they've used on some of their OC boards in the past. I see no mention of anything audio related in the review.
There is only one previous OC board, the X58. That used the ALC889 codec, this uses the ALC892. Everything uses the ALC892 which we mentioned in the technical specifications and is so ubiquitous that further mention (when there are many other features) was pointless.

Quote:
The board also annoys me that I'd be paying all that money and if I put it in a case I can't use it. For example the PCI bracket, the overclocking buttons and the internal external USB ports. Would rather it was cheaper and didn't have these. They could make a "Z87X-OC TestBench" version for those that want to use it on a test bench and give the rest of use the other features at a lower price tag.
Rather nit-picky. Sure you don't use the bracket in a case, but as this is the same price as all the mid-price boards that don't come with one then it's not costing any more. The buttons exist on nearly every motherboard (as power/reset ones at minimum) and yet nobody complains. Again it's not costing more so if you don't use them, ignore them. The internal USB ports were mentioned and explained that if you have a front panel device that utilises USB then it's a compact and simple to use solution.

You're implying that these features somehow make the board expensive, whereas it costs the same as most and so these elements aren't impacting the cost.

Quote:
It's also a little disappointing that they went with a black PCB. They used to be rare, but have become more common in recent times. Pity Gigabyte didn't try to be different and come up with something new, if they're trying something new with could schemes.

That said this board is on my very short shortlist of Z87 boards (along with the Asus Z87 Maximus VI Gene and Hero boards) so it's good to know that it's ok.
I'm so glad you're annoyed that Gigabyte use a black PCB on a black and orange motherboard. It's especially nice to see that the black PCB on all the ASUS motherboards don't dissuade you. Nothing like impartiality. Surely a blue PCB with black and orange plastic would be worse..?

19-07-2013, 12:53:38

GoogalyMoogaly
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
If we haven't mentioned it you can assume it's fine.
Seems sensible. Wasn't sure if it wasn't worth mentioning or if you hadn't checked it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
There is only one previous OC board, the X58. That used the ALC889 codec, this uses the ALC892. Everything uses the ALC892 which we mentioned in the technical specifications and is so ubiquitous that further mention (when there are many other features) was pointless.
Fair enough. How is the onboard sound on this board? Does it get suffer much from the effects that some boards feel the need to shield their audio against? (I can't say I've ever had much issue from onboard sound from a quality point of view)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
Rather nit-picky. Sure you don't use the bracket in a case, but as this is the same price as all the mid-price boards that don't come with one then it's not costing any more. The buttons exist on nearly every motherboard (as power/reset ones at minimum) and yet nobody complains. Again it's not costing more so if you don't use them, ignore them. The internal USB ports were mentioned and explained that if you have a front panel device that utilises USB then it's a compact and simple to use solution.

You're implying that these features somehow make the board expensive, whereas it costs the same as most and so these elements aren't impacting the cost.
I'm suggesting it makes the board more expensive yes. If these features cost nothing why aren't they on every board? I'm pretty sure if they cost Gigabyte money to include, they'll charge the end user for them. Can't blame them for it either.
Are those USB ports USB 2 or 3? I thought they were 2. Most USB front panels that I can think of use internal USB2 headers. In fact it's only a few cases that I can think of that decided it'd be a good idea to use external USB connectors on front panel connectors.
And all the onboard buttons do annoy me, but mostly just the ones that don't have external access. So Power and Reset bother me less, but when boards don't have an external (i.e. rear panel) CMOS reset then that annoys me a bit. I mean I don't lose sleep over it, but if I'm paying money for something and 1 thing has it and 1 doesn't then it may affect my overall decision.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
I'm so glad you're annoyed that Gigabyte use a black PCB on a black and orange motherboard. It's especially nice to see that the black PCB on all the ASUS motherboards don't dissuade you. Nothing like impartiality. Surely a blue PCB with black and orange plastic would be worse..?
I'm sorry, you'll have to point out where I said Asus using black PCBs didn't annoy me, I can't see it. It hasn't dissuaded me any more on the Gigabyte than the Asus boards.
You are right though a blue PCB with black and orange would be worse. Maybe a white PCB for a change (I believe some KFA2 graphics cards use white)? Admittedly orange and white may not go well together, but no rule sayign they have to use orange. I'm pretty sure some of the X58 OC range were purely black and orange so it doesn't seem like they're opposed to changing it.

19-07-2013, 14:08:10

antihero
Sweet jesus man 5.1 GHz screenie with a freakin' AIO cooler. I would give my left nut for a chip like that.

19-07-2013, 21:39:23

Joao Dario
damn is that board that good ??

19-07-2013, 21:44:04

Gilles3000
thx for another great review, seems like a great board especially considering the price.I might consider this motherboard for my upcoming build.

I have a couple of little questions tho,

The benchmarks of the VI extreme, were those with the "old" driver that you used for its review, or did you use a new driver?

The 4770k you used, was that a review sample or a consumer chip? I'm only asking because I haven't seen many people that have been able to clock their chip that high without delidding or extreme cooling.

19-07-2013, 21:59:21

Joao Dario
[QUOTE=The benchmarks of the VI extreme, were those with the "old" driver that you used for its review, or did you use a new driver?.[/QUOTE]

You meant Bios right ?

btw: nice couple questions, and I add, were the oc's, testing and all that shit the same in all boards ?

and also it would be nice if you could make an overall graph.

20-07-2013, 11:17:23

Gilles3000
yes, I meant the bios, don't know how I got to calling it a driver...

26-07-2013, 21:49:29

loglog
Really considered buying this board instead of the UD3H but I was trying to keep my build to $2500. Almost regretting it, but the UD3H is still pretty good.

18-08-2013, 04:31:37

Anusha
this board is not for highend air cooling i suppose? the top most PCI-E slot will be blocked by most of the highend coolers and that's the slot which is directly connected to CPU.

26-09-2013, 14:02:56

Austin Green
That colour scheme reminds me of an old DFI lanparty 478 board i owned about 12 years ago !
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.