Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Review


Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Review


The two big motherboards are going toe to toe in AIDA64. Punch and counterpunch. Although the M5E just shades in Photoworxx and AES cryptography, the UP7 takes the CPU Queen and zLib titles. Considering how rarely we all require immense AES ciphering capabilities we have to say the UP7 takes the AIDA64 CPU round.

Memory speeds are alright, but not as impressive as we'd hoped to see. The read and write tests are up there, but the copy speed isn't quite on the leading edge.

CPU Benchmarks


Memory Benchmarks


«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-10-2012, 16:46:54


Finally Gigabyte have reintroduced a "7 series" motherboard. Does the UP7 live up to its lofty predecessors...

Continue ReadingQuote

11-10-2012, 17:27:18

Thanks Tom another great review ,, thoroughly enjoyed it.Quote

11-10-2012, 17:54:21

Now if only they made it for X79... Like the X79-UD7, but with these new power stages. I would love it!Quote

11-10-2012, 18:02:14

Originally Posted by tezza192 View Post
Thanks Tom another great review ,, thoroughly enjoyed it.
VB did the review dude, he may of tested here but the words and thoughts are all his.Quote

11-10-2012, 23:03:03

songwriters all across the world put out genius works of art.....

but its the lead singer thats gett'n his duck sick!!!Quote

12-10-2012, 14:51:37

i am personally not a huge fan of the orange due to it not really matching any case other than the phantom nor any memory that i'm aware of other than black colored. but it still looks great and performs great.Quote

12-10-2012, 17:48:57

Computer crazy
Great review as always, looks an amazing board, really like the aesthetics and the performance backs up its good looks. Quote

13-10-2012, 01:34:40

Nice review, beautiful board.Quote

13-10-2012, 20:01:18

Hi Tom,
I thought about what you said about leaving the cpu on auto ect, gave it some thought and i knew mine was on "offset" mode. i have the p67 sabertooth with a 2600k @ 4.5ghz .done via the "oc tuner" in bios. 103 frequency and 43 multiplyer i think. the voltage on cpuz shows it moves from 1.15 up to 1.36. is this okay? temps are 68 ish while running prime for 1hour with the h70.

14-10-2012, 01:17:24

welcome to the forum.
great question, but you have it buried in a review that prolly wont get answered.
you get a better response making a new thread in the Mainboard & CPU discussion
group. or using the search function where you will find many other similar questions and
answers. there are many enthusiasts there that can give you a prompt response.
and when you make you question, you'll wanna include mobo make, chip, RAM
GPU and power supply.


13-02-2013, 18:02:23

Arfur Schrunkunpecker
I'm looking to get this motherboard in my next build pretty soon.
I'm pleased to see that it got rave reviews here at

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.