Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Review

Up Close cont

Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Review

Up Close Cont

The PCI Express slots are well arranged and have a cunning secret. Firstly they well spaced out to make sure that multiple GPUs get plenty of airflow, which is becoming more common on all motherboards, and the included PLX8747 ensures that your multiple cars also have plenty of bandwidth. Most interestingly though the black PCI Express slot is still 16x but bypasses the PLX chip, which might just enable single-card benchmarkers to eke out those final few points to take home the gold.

Anyone who has overclocked heavily knows that the Windows boot process causes more than a few overclocks to fail that might otherwise be stable. The buttons on the UP7 enable you to adjust both the BCLK and CPU Multiplier 'live', so you can boot to Windows with settings that are stable, then shoot for the high-score once you're up and running.

Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Review  

Major overclocks need loads of power, and a hint of the UP7's ethos is there when you see we have two ATX 8pin power connectors. Gigabyte have come with Dual-BIOS' for years, but it's only recently that users have been able to manually switch between them. Useful if you want a regular BIOS for day to day tasks and one for those record attempts. Or even a reasonable overclock for gaming days and a slow and low power option for browsing and other mundane tasks.

Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Review  

Storage is more than adequate with 6 SATA 6Gb/s connections and 4 SATA 3Gb/s connections. There is also a mSATA connector, if you happen to have a 1.8" solid state hanging around.

The back panel has the blended PS/2, 6 USB 3.0 ports, DisplayPort, HDMI, DVI and VGA as well as the two GigaLAN connectors and the audio ports for the ALC898.

Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Review  

So often heatsinks are chunks of aluminium that are there because they look good, or because we expect them to be. Rarely are they designed with such a high fin density to ensure maximum heat dissipation.

Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-10-2012, 16:46:54

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...073512311l.jpg

Finally Gigabyte have reintroduced a "7 series" motherboard. Does the UP7 live up to its lofty predecessors...

Continue Reading

11-10-2012, 17:27:18

tezza192
Thanks Tom another great review ,, thoroughly enjoyed it.

11-10-2012, 17:54:21

Jeremy1998
Now if only they made it for X79... Like the X79-UD7, but with these new power stages. I would love it!

11-10-2012, 18:02:14

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by tezza192 View Post
Thanks Tom another great review ,, thoroughly enjoyed it.
VB did the review dude, he may of tested here but the words and thoughts are all his.

11-10-2012, 23:03:03

badtaylorx
songwriters all across the world put out genius works of art.....

but its the lead singer thats gett'n his duck sick!!!

12-10-2012, 14:51:37

toxic123
i am personally not a huge fan of the orange due to it not really matching any case other than the phantom nor any memory that i'm aware of other than black colored. but it still looks great and performs great.

12-10-2012, 17:48:57

Computer crazy
Great review as always, looks an amazing board, really like the aesthetics and the performance backs up its good looks.

13-10-2012, 01:34:40

StreekG
Nice review, beautiful board.

13-10-2012, 20:01:18

Maxx
Hi Tom,
I thought about what you said about leaving the cpu on auto ect, gave it some thought and i knew mine was on "offset" mode. i have the p67 sabertooth with a 2600k @ 4.5ghz .done via the "oc tuner" in bios. 103 frequency and 43 multiplyer i think. the voltage on cpuz shows it moves from 1.15 up to 1.36. is this okay? temps are 68 ish while running prime for 1hour with the h70.
Thanks

14-10-2012, 01:17:24

airdeano
maxx,
welcome to the forum.
great question, but you have it buried in a review that prolly wont get answered.
you get a better response making a new thread in the Mainboard & CPU discussion
group. or using the search function where you will find many other similar questions and
answers. there are many enthusiasts there that can give you a prompt response.
and when you make you question, you'll wanna include mobo make, chip, RAM
GPU and power supply.

airdeano

13-02-2013, 18:02:23

Arfur Schrunkunpecker
I'm looking to get this motherboard in my next build pretty soon.
I'm pleased to see that it got rave reviews here at
Overclock3D.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.