Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review

PC Mark

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review

PC Mark Vantage

Continuing with results that aren't the clearest things to understand, the stock Gigabyte UD5H result definitely lags behind the Intel board, and although the overclock manages to take the lead in most of the results the Productivity score still doesn't get close. Given that this is identical hardware, but overclocked, it's an odd one. We're not running into thermal issues or anything like that either.

PC Mark 7

Thankfully the more up to date PC Mark 7 rewards our extra performance with a huge increase in the score. 700 points more than at stock and 300 points more than a similarly overclocked 2nd Generation CPU on a Z77 board achieved.

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-04-2012, 12:03:41

tinytomlogan


With the heavy trimming that their range has got, the Gigabyte UD5 is expected to be the top-end product in their Z77 range. Does it live up to the title?

Continue Reading

23-04-2012, 13:25:18

MaXiMiZe
Nice review

23-04-2012, 14:47:35

MSIRawZ
Just FYI, we have 15 free Antec Kuhler 620 Liquid Water CPU Coolers left with this board - http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Components/Motherboards+-+Intel/Socket+1155+-+Intel+Z77/GIGABYTE+GA-Z77X-UD5H+Intel+Z77+Socket+1155+DDR3+PCI-Express+Motherboard+w%2F+FREE+Water-Cooler!+?productId=49181

23-04-2012, 15:20:23

Master&Puppet
Another good review though I'm not sure IB was worth your (plural) time! I was so hoping that the early reports of heat and similar overclock outputs would be wrong but alas there is very little to pick between these 1155 chips.

23-04-2012, 16:35:07

hellhole
Nice review mate!

I've got my Z77X-UD5H sitting in my Cooler Master Cosmos 2 & it looks very small lol...

Just waiting on Ivy Bridges to hit Aussie shores and i can boot it up =D

24-04-2012, 11:09:27

MaXiMiZe
^^ Bet you can't wait. Am I right in saying that this board is in direct competition with the P8Z77 deluxe from Asus?

25-04-2012, 08:17:59

D3FiANC3

Am I right in saying that this board is in direct competition with the P8Z77 deluxe from Asus



More or less. The WiFi version is a bit closer still.

14-05-2012, 14:09:12

Ghost623
I bought this board/chip after the review here, upgrading from a Phenom x6 1100T, and its a hellofa upgrade from where Im coming from.. However, I call fowl on the overclock. You say its 1.3 on the vcore, but the cpuz shows 1.0. I cant get anything near that. I am extremely curious how you were able to hit 4.8, because the best I can do is 4.5 @ 1.2 I have tried a few times trying to hit 4.8 but have been unable to (its water cooled with corsair H80). I would like to see what you did to achieve this speed. Your overclock settings screencaps are just where you can make changes, not the actual changes themself to what you tuned everything to.

25-05-2012, 09:47:17

Master&Puppet
Well he said "The Core i7-3770K is set to 1.32v on the vCore, and a multiplier of 48." That seems right to me.

TTL probably did an offset overclock so that the core is only supplied with the volts when it needs them under load as opposed to fixing a straight 1.32v.

http://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php?/topic/39090-offset-mode-overclocking-starter-guide-and-thread/
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.