Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review

Test Setup

 Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review 

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
Intel Core i7-3770K
8GB G.Skill Trident 2400 @ 10-12-12-31
HIS HD7970 with Catalyst 12.3
Cougar CM1000 PSU
Corsair F80 SSD
Thermalright Silver Arrow
Windows 7 x64

Overclocking

Overclocking the Core i7-3770K is a breeze on the Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H. The one thing you have to pay close attention to, even more than on the 2nd generation of CPUs, is the temperatures. Despite needing fewer volts than we required to attain similar speeds on the i7-2600K the heat on the i7-3770K ramps up a lot quicker as you head to the 5GHz mark. For our overclock testing today we'll be running with the following settings.

The Core i7-3770K is set to 1.32v on the vCore, and a multiplier of 48. This is within the abilities of the chip to handle without a problem, and is the kind of overclock that most people will readily attain, which is what we always aim for.

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

The G.Skill Memory is run at XMP settings, which in this case are 2400MHz @ 10-12-12-31. Not bad at all eh.

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

Lucid MVP

Lucid started a long while ago as a way to mix and match ATI and nVidia cards on the same system. As this never took off, or indeed worked properly, they have moved in to helping you gain the maximum performance out of your system. The downside is having to run your displays through the onboard outputs, so those of you/us with more esoteric setups will find themselves at a disadvantage, although it's not the end of the world because the MVP technology is as hit and miss as their original idea was, but in certain situations it really makes a difference, and that's what we'll see at the end of this review.

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-04-2012, 12:03:41

tinytomlogan


With the heavy trimming that their range has got, the Gigabyte UD5 is expected to be the top-end product in their Z77 range. Does it live up to the title?

Continue Reading

23-04-2012, 13:25:18

MaXiMiZe
Nice review

23-04-2012, 14:47:35

MSIRawZ
Just FYI, we have 15 free Antec Kuhler 620 Liquid Water CPU Coolers left with this board - http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Components/Motherboards+-+Intel/Socket+1155+-+Intel+Z77/GIGABYTE+GA-Z77X-UD5H+Intel+Z77+Socket+1155+DDR3+PCI-Express+Motherboard+w%2F+FREE+Water-Cooler!+?productId=49181

23-04-2012, 15:20:23

Master&Puppet
Another good review though I'm not sure IB was worth your (plural) time! I was so hoping that the early reports of heat and similar overclock outputs would be wrong but alas there is very little to pick between these 1155 chips.

23-04-2012, 16:35:07

hellhole
Nice review mate!

I've got my Z77X-UD5H sitting in my Cooler Master Cosmos 2 & it looks very small lol...

Just waiting on Ivy Bridges to hit Aussie shores and i can boot it up =D

24-04-2012, 11:09:27

MaXiMiZe
^^ Bet you can't wait. Am I right in saying that this board is in direct competition with the P8Z77 deluxe from Asus?

25-04-2012, 08:17:59

D3FiANC3

Am I right in saying that this board is in direct competition with the P8Z77 deluxe from Asus



More or less. The WiFi version is a bit closer still.

14-05-2012, 14:09:12

Ghost623
I bought this board/chip after the review here, upgrading from a Phenom x6 1100T, and its a hellofa upgrade from where Im coming from.. However, I call fowl on the overclock. You say its 1.3 on the vcore, but the cpuz shows 1.0. I cant get anything near that. I am extremely curious how you were able to hit 4.8, because the best I can do is 4.5 @ 1.2 I have tried a few times trying to hit 4.8 but have been unable to (its water cooled with corsair H80). I would like to see what you did to achieve this speed. Your overclock settings screencaps are just where you can make changes, not the actual changes themself to what you tuned everything to.

25-05-2012, 09:47:17

Master&Puppet
Well he said "The Core i7-3770K is set to 1.32v on the vCore, and a multiplier of 48." That seems right to me.

TTL probably did an offset overclock so that the core is only supplied with the volts when it needs them under load as opposed to fixing a straight 1.32v.

http://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php?/topic/39090-offset-mode-overclocking-starter-guide-and-thread/
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.