Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review

BIOS

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review

BIOS Pt1

We're starting off with the 3D BIOS (patent pending) which is a fabulous way to introduce people to tweaking their BIOS. The days when pressing delete upon booting was enough to require a lie down in a darkened room have long gone and modern overclocking is, to a certain degree, almost bulletproof. As long as you don't guess that 2v will be alright to put through your CPU then you can't go wrong, but even allowing for this we know that many people get a cold sweat on at the thought of tweaking their system. Thanks to the Gigabyte 3D BIOS it's actually easy to make minor adjustments.

Dispensing with the 3D side of things and moving to advanced it's just as easy to make major ones too. Yes we work late on Fridays so that you don't have to. Have a beer for me will you lads.

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review 3D BIOS     Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

As always there are lots of options for turning off the bits you don't use, saving a tiny amount of performance and driver footprint if you're not one with an IR transmitter or Firewire device.

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

You can set your power options easily enough, as well as keep an eye on your current hardware settings.

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

Let's move on to overclocking.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-04-2012, 12:03:41

tinytomlogan


With the heavy trimming that their range has got, the Gigabyte UD5 is expected to be the top-end product in their Z77 range. Does it live up to the title?

Continue Reading

23-04-2012, 13:25:18

MaXiMiZe
Nice review

23-04-2012, 14:47:35

MSIRawZ
Just FYI, we have 15 free Antec Kuhler 620 Liquid Water CPU Coolers left with this board - http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Components/Motherboards+-+Intel/Socket+1155+-+Intel+Z77/GIGABYTE+GA-Z77X-UD5H+Intel+Z77+Socket+1155+DDR3+PCI-Express+Motherboard+w%2F+FREE+Water-Cooler!+?productId=49181

23-04-2012, 15:20:23

Master&Puppet
Another good review though I'm not sure IB was worth your (plural) time! I was so hoping that the early reports of heat and similar overclock outputs would be wrong but alas there is very little to pick between these 1155 chips.

23-04-2012, 16:35:07

hellhole
Nice review mate!

I've got my Z77X-UD5H sitting in my Cooler Master Cosmos 2 & it looks very small lol...

Just waiting on Ivy Bridges to hit Aussie shores and i can boot it up =D

24-04-2012, 11:09:27

MaXiMiZe
^^ Bet you can't wait. Am I right in saying that this board is in direct competition with the P8Z77 deluxe from Asus?

25-04-2012, 08:17:59

D3FiANC3

Am I right in saying that this board is in direct competition with the P8Z77 deluxe from Asus



More or less. The WiFi version is a bit closer still.

14-05-2012, 14:09:12

Ghost623
I bought this board/chip after the review here, upgrading from a Phenom x6 1100T, and its a hellofa upgrade from where Im coming from.. However, I call fowl on the overclock. You say its 1.3 on the vcore, but the cpuz shows 1.0. I cant get anything near that. I am extremely curious how you were able to hit 4.8, because the best I can do is 4.5 @ 1.2 I have tried a few times trying to hit 4.8 but have been unable to (its water cooled with corsair H80). I would like to see what you did to achieve this speed. Your overclock settings screencaps are just where you can make changes, not the actual changes themself to what you tuned everything to.

25-05-2012, 09:47:17

Master&Puppet
Well he said "The Core i7-3770K is set to 1.32v on the vCore, and a multiplier of 48." That seems right to me.

TTL probably did an offset overclock so that the core is only supplied with the volts when it needs them under load as opposed to fixing a straight 1.32v.

http://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php?/topic/39090-offset-mode-overclocking-starter-guide-and-thread/
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.