Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review

Up Close - The UD5H

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review

Up Close - The UD5H

You definitely wont be short of connectivity on the UD5H. As well as a plentiful supply of USB ports there are 9 SATA ports too. It might initially appear an odd choice to move the front panel header into the middle of the motherboard, until you remember that whilst case manufacturers have long since understood that they need big cables for big cases, the people who make USB front panels have yet to be informed that things larger than mid-towers exist and insist that 3 inches of cable will be plenty, so we need all the help we can get.

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

Something that is slowly starting to make its way into the odd motherboard is the 1.8" mSATA format. Truly tiny drives that can be a great, cost effective way to make the most from the IRST cache without filling your drive bays up.

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

The on-board switches are one of those things that are almost designed for those of us who overclock a lot in a tight time frame. The average user has no real need for a power button on the motherboard, but we love them. Although the reset switch being so small, and so close to the clear CMOS, is bound to get some people swearing. It's good to see some voltage monitoring points too, which hint at the intended audience for the UD5H.

Round the back we have all the expected outputs, from multiple display options, through USB 3.0, dual Gigabit LAN and the 7.1 Audio. No PS2 port, not even in combination, so those of you with old IBM model Ms need to prepare in advance. 

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

In total we have 5 SATA 6Gb/s and 4 SATA 3Gb/s providing all your storage requirements. 

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-04-2012, 12:03:41

tinytomlogan


With the heavy trimming that their range has got, the Gigabyte UD5 is expected to be the top-end product in their Z77 range. Does it live up to the title?

Continue Reading

23-04-2012, 13:25:18

MaXiMiZe
Nice review

23-04-2012, 14:47:35

MSIRawZ
Just FYI, we have 15 free Antec Kuhler 620 Liquid Water CPU Coolers left with this board - http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Components/Motherboards+-+Intel/Socket+1155+-+Intel+Z77/GIGABYTE+GA-Z77X-UD5H+Intel+Z77+Socket+1155+DDR3+PCI-Express+Motherboard+w%2F+FREE+Water-Cooler!+?productId=49181

23-04-2012, 15:20:23

Master&Puppet
Another good review though I'm not sure IB was worth your (plural) time! I was so hoping that the early reports of heat and similar overclock outputs would be wrong but alas there is very little to pick between these 1155 chips.

23-04-2012, 16:35:07

hellhole
Nice review mate!

I've got my Z77X-UD5H sitting in my Cooler Master Cosmos 2 & it looks very small lol...

Just waiting on Ivy Bridges to hit Aussie shores and i can boot it up =D

24-04-2012, 11:09:27

MaXiMiZe
^^ Bet you can't wait. Am I right in saying that this board is in direct competition with the P8Z77 deluxe from Asus?

25-04-2012, 08:17:59

D3FiANC3

Am I right in saying that this board is in direct competition with the P8Z77 deluxe from Asus



More or less. The WiFi version is a bit closer still.

14-05-2012, 14:09:12

Ghost623
I bought this board/chip after the review here, upgrading from a Phenom x6 1100T, and its a hellofa upgrade from where Im coming from.. However, I call fowl on the overclock. You say its 1.3 on the vcore, but the cpuz shows 1.0. I cant get anything near that. I am extremely curious how you were able to hit 4.8, because the best I can do is 4.5 @ 1.2 I have tried a few times trying to hit 4.8 but have been unable to (its water cooled with corsair H80). I would like to see what you did to achieve this speed. Your overclock settings screencaps are just where you can make changes, not the actual changes themself to what you tuned everything to.

25-05-2012, 09:47:17

Master&Puppet
Well he said "The Core i7-3770K is set to 1.32v on the vCore, and a multiplier of 48." That seems right to me.

TTL probably did an offset overclock so that the core is only supplied with the volts when it needs them under load as opposed to fixing a straight 1.32v.

http://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php?/topic/39090-offset-mode-overclocking-starter-guide-and-thread/
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.