Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review

Up Close

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review

Up Close

The packaging for the UD5 follows the now familiar trend of Gigabyte boards having a white box with an overwhelming array of technical highlights, features and logos.

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review      Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

Inside the box we have a USB 3.0 front-panel extension alongside the usual array of SATA cables and multi-GPU bridges.

When we first looked at the board back in January there was much discussion about whether the heatsinks would remain looking as they did in the preview, or if Gigabyte would replace the prototype ones with something more aesthetically pleasing. As it is they look pretty much as they did then. One of life's rules that applies to prototype motherboards as much as game demos, they always represent the finished product. Although the black RAM and PCI slots imply they intended to go to the gun-metal ones we're more used to.

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

As you'd expect from a higher end board, Gigabyte have understood that you are likely to use a dual-fan CPU cooler and so we have two fan headers up near the top. The ATX 8pin is in a very fiddly place, so we recommend installing the power before you do the heatsink.

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review     Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-04-2012, 12:03:41

tinytomlogan


With the heavy trimming that their range has got, the Gigabyte UD5 is expected to be the top-end product in their Z77 range. Does it live up to the title?

Continue Reading

23-04-2012, 13:25:18

MaXiMiZe
Nice review

23-04-2012, 14:47:35

MSIRawZ
Just FYI, we have 15 free Antec Kuhler 620 Liquid Water CPU Coolers left with this board - http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Components/Motherboards+-+Intel/Socket+1155+-+Intel+Z77/GIGABYTE+GA-Z77X-UD5H+Intel+Z77+Socket+1155+DDR3+PCI-Express+Motherboard+w%2F+FREE+Water-Cooler!+?productId=49181

23-04-2012, 15:20:23

Master&Puppet
Another good review though I'm not sure IB was worth your (plural) time! I was so hoping that the early reports of heat and similar overclock outputs would be wrong but alas there is very little to pick between these 1155 chips.

23-04-2012, 16:35:07

hellhole
Nice review mate!

I've got my Z77X-UD5H sitting in my Cooler Master Cosmos 2 & it looks very small lol...

Just waiting on Ivy Bridges to hit Aussie shores and i can boot it up =D

24-04-2012, 11:09:27

MaXiMiZe
^^ Bet you can't wait. Am I right in saying that this board is in direct competition with the P8Z77 deluxe from Asus?

25-04-2012, 08:17:59

D3FiANC3

Am I right in saying that this board is in direct competition with the P8Z77 deluxe from Asus



More or less. The WiFi version is a bit closer still.

14-05-2012, 14:09:12

Ghost623
I bought this board/chip after the review here, upgrading from a Phenom x6 1100T, and its a hellofa upgrade from where Im coming from.. However, I call fowl on the overclock. You say its 1.3 on the vcore, but the cpuz shows 1.0. I cant get anything near that. I am extremely curious how you were able to hit 4.8, because the best I can do is 4.5 @ 1.2 I have tried a few times trying to hit 4.8 but have been unable to (its water cooled with corsair H80). I would like to see what you did to achieve this speed. Your overclock settings screencaps are just where you can make changes, not the actual changes themself to what you tuned everything to.

25-05-2012, 09:47:17

Master&Puppet
Well he said "The Core i7-3770K is set to 1.32v on the vCore, and a multiplier of 48." That seems right to me.

TTL probably did an offset overclock so that the core is only supplied with the volts when it needs them under load as opposed to fixing a straight 1.32v.

http://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php?/topic/39090-offset-mode-overclocking-starter-guide-and-thread/
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.