Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P Review

PC Mark

Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P Review

PC Mark Vantage

Benchmarking all this hardware can become a little routine now and again. Once you've tested 50 setups all around the same speed and using the same bits and bobs you can get such a good feel for the result that it's easy to become a little blasé because modern components are so well tested that it's nearly impossible to be surprised.

Consider us surprised. There is clearly a sweet-spot of components here. Sure the IRST-enhanced storage has a large part to play, but the UD3P is making the most of what is available to it and, in PC Mark Vantage at least, putting everything else on our graph to shame.

PC Mark 7

If ever there was a doubt about what a difference a hundred pounds worth of SSD can make to the overall performance of your system, this result expels those. Remember this isn't making do with a tiny SSD drive for the OS and a slow one for storage. We've got a full 1TB drive running at these speeds.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-07-2011, 06:03:03

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the UD3 version of the Gigabyte Z68 line of motherboards. How does it stack up?



Continue Reading

22-07-2011, 06:14:56

CRAZYCAP
I want.....

22-07-2011, 06:17:51

SieB
Good review, sums the board up nicely.

22-07-2011, 08:40:36

marsey99
i still miss gb blue

great read that bry :thumb:

my question is mate, if it was your hard earned cash you was handing over would you be getting this or the tz68?

22-07-2011, 08:59:07

VonBlade
If it was my hard-earned I'd get this over the Biostar. No matter how much of a bargain the Biostar is it's just so fugly.

22-07-2011, 11:24:19

S_I_N
any plans on a review of the GA-Z68 UD4 seriously considering the UD4 for my 2600K which I should have next week (shipping from Canada ) so still looking at boards

22-07-2011, 11:29:19

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

If it was my hard-earned I'd get this over the Biostar. No matter how much of a bargain the Biostar is it's just so fugly.
If you got a no window would matter that much. And Yes the biostar is very ugly.

22-07-2011, 13:13:12

VonBlade
No window it wouldn't matter at all. Although I'd still personally prefer the Giga.

As for the UD4, we've reviewed the D2H, the UD3P and the UD5. So it's probably wise to read this review and our UD5 one and decide if you could manage with slightly less than the UD5, or need slightly more than the UD3. There is very little between them.

22-07-2011, 16:55:14

S_I_N
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
.

As for the UD4, we've reviewed the D2H, the UD3P and the UD5. So it's probably wise to read this review and our UD5 one and decide if you could manage with slightly less than the UD5, or need slightly more than the UD3. There is very little between them.
lol so this means no lol yeah I have compared between the DH4 and UD5 and for 50$ more the only difference I see is the UD5 has 2 more usb3.0's but at a sacrufice of 5 usb 2.0's not to mention the UD5 has 2 less sata 6 ports the UD5 has 2 esata/usb combo ports to the UD4's 1 but the UD4 has a sata6 esata port lol if you ask me the UD4 has more to give for less money But the UD5 does have one more pci-e slot but only at 4x so nothing really there for me plus it shares bandwidth with the pci-e x1 (which there is 2) slots so if anything is in them then its only 1x lmao why bother hahahah

22-07-2011, 17:00:34

badtaylorx
well....on a site geared towards the overclocking community,,, i dont see a 4.6Ghz showing going over all to well....even amongst gigabite fans!!!

03-10-2011, 18:05:22

v3rninater
Hey guys, saw the review on this board, I have it in my new system along with a 2600k Intel Proc. Was wondering what the bios settings are for the O/C, because anytime I try to overclock even to 3.5ghz, software doesn't run well at all in windows. It's like it's unstable, even if I go up to 1.39v to the CPU.

I have Corsair H100 on it, running super cool, @ stock 30c idle, 38c load. So temps are not a problem. It's at auto CPU voltage and @ stock speed now, running decently stable. I have a Corsair HX850 watt PSU running the system. I have the Gskill 17000 ram running at stock speeds 11-11-11-30 @ 2133mhz, so I'm trying to figure out what my O/C issue is.

At stock speeds the system is great, but any type of overclock warrants issues in windows 7.

I'm running a EVGA 580gtx as the Gpu as well...

04-10-2011, 02:34:58

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by v3rninater View Post

Hey guys, saw the review on this board, I have it in my new system along with a 2600k Intel Proc. Was wondering what the bios settings are for the O/C, because anytime I try to overclock even to 3.5ghz, software doesn't run well at all in windows. It's like it's unstable, even if I go up to 1.39v to the CPU.

I have Corsair H100 on it, running super cool, @ stock 30c idle, 38c load. So temps are not a problem. It's at auto CPU voltage and @ stock speed now, running decently stable. I have a Corsair HX850 watt PSU running the system. I have the Gskill 17000 ram running at stock speeds 11-11-11-30 @ 2133mhz, so I'm trying to figure out what my O/C issue is.

At stock speeds the system is great, but any type of overclock warrants issues in windows 7.

I'm running a EVGA 580gtx as the Gpu as well...
The overclock doesn't warrant any issues with Windows 7.

Try manually pumping the voltages up to 1.35v and then just increase the CPU multiplier to 4.2 or something. Don't bother tinkering with the Bus Speed for Sandy Bridge, you'll be lucky to get a 10MHz increase in that.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.