Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P Review

Up Close

Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P Review

Up Close

There is a certain confidence that comes from being at either the value or premium end of the marketplace that allows a manufacturer to be very minimalist in their packaging. This is true of all product types. Equally true is that in the very tightly fought middle ground where the majority of us do their spending, it's tough to be noticed. This insecurity is prevalent in the packaging for the UD3P. Gigabyte seem to have crammed every possible technology badge and mentioned every tiny feature in the hope of catching the eye of the shopper. Whilst it's a case that sometimes more is more, here we think a bit of the "feature shouting" could be toned down.

Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P Review     Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P Review  

Once we've opened the box we find the usual selection of accessories. The manual is, for once, something that's both informative and full of information. So many companies either give you a book containing all the things they want to advertise (which is a bit late once you've brought it) or commit the cardinal sin of giving you a pamphlet. How lovely it is to see a properly written manual with a decent explanation of everything.

I'm a firm believer you can tell a lot about the quality of a motherboard from the IO shield. At the bottom end you have plain ones punched from tin foil, in the middle coloured ones but still with finger gouging bits hanging out the back, and at the high-end there are ones with soft backs and all black colouring. The UD3P is equipped with the middle kind. However the colour-coding is thankfully exactly what it should be, being easy to tell at a glance the difference between the USB2 and USB3 ports when fumbling in the dark.

Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P Review     Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P Review  

And here is the board itself. All the plastics are black and all the metal bits are in the gun-metal grey we've seen previously on the UD5. Sure they aren't of the same exquisite quality, but they certainly have enough design flair to justify your decision to pay that little extra over the base model.

Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P Review     Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-07-2011, 06:03:03

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the UD3 version of the Gigabyte Z68 line of motherboards. How does it stack up?



Continue Reading

22-07-2011, 06:14:56

CRAZYCAP
I want.....

22-07-2011, 06:17:51

SieB
Good review, sums the board up nicely.

22-07-2011, 08:40:36

marsey99
i still miss gb blue

great read that bry :thumb:

my question is mate, if it was your hard earned cash you was handing over would you be getting this or the tz68?

22-07-2011, 08:59:07

VonBlade
If it was my hard-earned I'd get this over the Biostar. No matter how much of a bargain the Biostar is it's just so fugly.

22-07-2011, 11:24:19

S_I_N
any plans on a review of the GA-Z68 UD4 seriously considering the UD4 for my 2600K which I should have next week (shipping from Canada ) so still looking at boards

22-07-2011, 11:29:19

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

If it was my hard-earned I'd get this over the Biostar. No matter how much of a bargain the Biostar is it's just so fugly.
If you got a no window would matter that much. And Yes the biostar is very ugly.

22-07-2011, 13:13:12

VonBlade
No window it wouldn't matter at all. Although I'd still personally prefer the Giga.

As for the UD4, we've reviewed the D2H, the UD3P and the UD5. So it's probably wise to read this review and our UD5 one and decide if you could manage with slightly less than the UD5, or need slightly more than the UD3. There is very little between them.

22-07-2011, 16:55:14

S_I_N
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
.

As for the UD4, we've reviewed the D2H, the UD3P and the UD5. So it's probably wise to read this review and our UD5 one and decide if you could manage with slightly less than the UD5, or need slightly more than the UD3. There is very little between them.
lol so this means no lol yeah I have compared between the DH4 and UD5 and for 50$ more the only difference I see is the UD5 has 2 more usb3.0's but at a sacrufice of 5 usb 2.0's not to mention the UD5 has 2 less sata 6 ports the UD5 has 2 esata/usb combo ports to the UD4's 1 but the UD4 has a sata6 esata port lol if you ask me the UD4 has more to give for less money But the UD5 does have one more pci-e slot but only at 4x so nothing really there for me plus it shares bandwidth with the pci-e x1 (which there is 2) slots so if anything is in them then its only 1x lmao why bother hahahah

22-07-2011, 17:00:34

badtaylorx
well....on a site geared towards the overclocking community,,, i dont see a 4.6Ghz showing going over all to well....even amongst gigabite fans!!!

03-10-2011, 18:05:22

v3rninater
Hey guys, saw the review on this board, I have it in my new system along with a 2600k Intel Proc. Was wondering what the bios settings are for the O/C, because anytime I try to overclock even to 3.5ghz, software doesn't run well at all in windows. It's like it's unstable, even if I go up to 1.39v to the CPU.

I have Corsair H100 on it, running super cool, @ stock 30c idle, 38c load. So temps are not a problem. It's at auto CPU voltage and @ stock speed now, running decently stable. I have a Corsair HX850 watt PSU running the system. I have the Gskill 17000 ram running at stock speeds 11-11-11-30 @ 2133mhz, so I'm trying to figure out what my O/C issue is.

At stock speeds the system is great, but any type of overclock warrants issues in windows 7.

I'm running a EVGA 580gtx as the Gpu as well...

04-10-2011, 02:34:58

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by v3rninater View Post

Hey guys, saw the review on this board, I have it in my new system along with a 2600k Intel Proc. Was wondering what the bios settings are for the O/C, because anytime I try to overclock even to 3.5ghz, software doesn't run well at all in windows. It's like it's unstable, even if I go up to 1.39v to the CPU.

I have Corsair H100 on it, running super cool, @ stock 30c idle, 38c load. So temps are not a problem. It's at auto CPU voltage and @ stock speed now, running decently stable. I have a Corsair HX850 watt PSU running the system. I have the Gskill 17000 ram running at stock speeds 11-11-11-30 @ 2133mhz, so I'm trying to figure out what my O/C issue is.

At stock speeds the system is great, but any type of overclock warrants issues in windows 7.

I'm running a EVGA 580gtx as the Gpu as well...
The overclock doesn't warrant any issues with Windows 7.

Try manually pumping the voltages up to 1.35v and then just increase the CPU multiplier to 4.2 or something. Don't bother tinkering with the Bus Speed for Sandy Bridge, you'll be lucky to get a 10MHz increase in that.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.