Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Review

Conclusion

Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Review

Conclusion

So how does the Z68X UD5 fair? It's unquestionably a 'game of two halves'.

At first glance the entire thing seems to be a bit of a head-scratcher. As we saw at the bottom of page two, this is so alike the P67A UD5 that they might as well be identical twins.

The first real surprise is the much heralded EFI BIOS is relegated to a mere application. This is a completely bizarre decision. We know that the P67 UD7 had a "normal" BIOS included when every other manufacturer was pushing out the GUI-based EFI BIOS, but given its large place on the box (the biggest technological icon on display) and the extra development time between the P67 and Z68 releases, we've no idea why Gigabyte are sticking to using the old blue cursor-key style BIOS. It instantly gives the wrong impression that this isn't a cutting edge product, merely a incremental revision.

Given that the EFI BIOS has proven perfectly rounded on many other boards and indeed the "Hybrid EFI BIOS", a fancy word for utility, that Gigabyte provide is so useful, it's a bad move to not have gone the whole hog with it. You can call it a hybrid all you want but when you give it so much coverage in the official literature, we can't be the only people who expected an icon-based BIOS to greet us.

Getting all the bad out the way in one go, the performance at stock settings is average at best. The UD5 is not the cheapest LGA1155 motherboard around and with the market so incredibly tight, getting the performance out-of-the-box right is crucial.

However, there aren't going to be many people plumping for the UD5 who haven't got a bit of interest in pushing their CPU a bit further. It takes something special to really stand out in this category and the Z68X, whilst doing a very respectable 4.8 GHz, isn't quite hitting the 5GHz heights we've had before from this exact processor.

Thankfully overclocking is, as with all LGA1155 processors, a breeze. Either via the actual BIOS or the Windows based Hybrid Touch BIOS and EasyTune6 options, the Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 really is a cinch to get running at a high clockspeed. Even better it responds so well once you have done so. The average stock performance becomes a thing of distant memory as benchmarks are eaten up easier than soggy cornflakes.

Unquestionably the star of the show and the main difference between this Z68 and its P67 brethren, is the Intel Rapid Storage Technology. This isn't a totally new technology as SilverStone have had a similar thing on the market for over a year. However its first outing as part of a Motherboard has been a total success.

The real benefit of the IRST is with smaller loads, as that's where your system can appear to be "pausing for breath". No longer so with the inclusion of the Intel Rapid Storage Technology as those stutters are smoothed out to give a much faster response no matter what you're doing. If you've been one of the last few people clinging on to the belief that SSDs are under-sized, over-hyped and over-priced, then it's time to shut up. We're doubling our HDD speed for the price of a seventy quid SSD and therefore have a 1TB, 150MB/s storage device for about £110 all in. Now if that doesn't put a tilt in your kilt you need to check your pulse.

Finally the price. Currently retailing at just under the £230, it's at the higher-end of the LGA1155 market. In fact, it's the same price as buying a Gigabyte P67 UD5 motherboard and the aforementioned SilverStone Hybrid adaptor. This is where a final decision becomes difficult.

On the one hand this is a good motherboard from a well established manufacturer that has all the bells and whistles you can expect from the latest products. The IRST is worth the price of admission alone. At stock it's not amazing, but it overclocks well and performs handily with something suitably beefy in the CPU socket.

However it's difficult not to come to the conclusion that there are better performing, cheaper, P67 boards already on the market. Quite a lot of which come with the EFI BIOS as default, rather than as a utility to be installed. If you already own, or are planning to own, a SSD then the IRST wont bring many benefits. And if the benefit of that outstanding technology are something you are interested in, £30 will get you a SilverStone add-on that does the same thing.

That's the crux of the matter. We're just not convinced that there is enough extra performance from this particular Z68X to make us abandon the more rounded P67s available. We know Gigabyte can do better, and the UD5 branding raises expectations to a level that the Z68X UD5 B3 just doesn't live up to. It's not a bad motherboard by any means, but you come away more impressed by the Intel Rapid Storage Technology and disappointed by the Gigabyte use of a normal BIOS, than anything else. Which speaks volumes at this end of the market.

   

Thanks to Gigabyte for providing the Z68X UD5 B3 for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-05-2011, 10:58:04

tinytomlogan
Following our earlier preview, let's take a full look at the latest motherboard from Gigabyte, the Z68X UD5 B3.



Continue Reading

12-05-2011, 11:12:12

adamjamesroe
Looks ok, but a bit expensive, nice review though.

12-05-2011, 11:51:08

dugdiamond
nice mobo - but for the price i would rather have a sabertooth

12-05-2011, 11:54:58

SieB
Not as impressive as I thought it was going to be but as said it's not a bad motherboard. Z68, apart from the addition of SSD caching doesn't really seem worth it tbh, I know some of the boards offer the use of the IGP but if you are spending over 150+ on a motherboard it seems a waste to use the IGP and not a proper GPU.

With the IGP you also get the Lucid chip (on some boards) and the ability to overclock the CPU where as on H67 you only get use of the IGP which can be overclocked but no CPU overclocking and P67 no use of the IGP and only CPU overclocking.

Combining the use of the IGP and being able to overclock both IGP and CPU is good, but again if you are spending money on a decent motherboard i'd say it's best to go with P67 with a proper GPU or a high end Z68 motherboard with a proper GPU. The SSD caching is good but i would like to see the tech mature a bit to see what it is fully capable of on future motherboards.

Good review anyway Bryan

18-05-2011, 02:16:09

Luger718
the igp can also be used for encoding

ive seen mediashow espresso 6 benchmarks that show it encoding twice as fast then a gtx 560 ti

18-05-2011, 05:34:04

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luger718 View Post

the igp can also be used for encoding

ive seen mediashow espresso 6 benchmarks that show it encoding twice as fast then a gtx 560 ti
I read about that in this months Custom PC, not about the 560s but the igp. You can only use it on boards with the Lucid chip though but still it's a good feature to have. You can also switch between using you GPU to using the IGP or you can use it to boost the performance of the GPU, on the Asus boards with the Lucid chip anyway.

Also in Intels key notes at CES they showed the Quick Sync encoding being faster than a 580 .

18-05-2011, 16:24:14

Luger718
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

I read about that in this months Custom PC, not about the 560s but the igp. You can only use it on boards with the Lucid chip though but still it's a good feature to have. You can also switch between using you GPU to using the IGP or you can use it to boost the performance of the GPU, on the Asus boards with the Lucid chip anyway.

Also in Intels key notes at CES they showed the Quick Sync encoding being faster than a 580 .
i thought all the z68 boards have that lucid virtu stuff on them

damn the quick sync must be really optimized for encoding

considering a gtx560ti or anything higher completely destroys it in gaming

18-05-2011, 17:14:19

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luger718 View Post

i thought all the z68 boards have that lucid virtu stuff on them

damn the quick sync must be really optimized for encoding

considering a gtx560ti or anything higher completely destroys it in gaming
Not all of them have it, the higher end Gigabyte ones don't anyway. The Asus P8Z68 VPRO does, not sure about the MSI ones, the lower end ones do but I haven't looked at them all so I don't know whether they all do.

I haven't seen Quick Sync in action apart from the Intel keynotes at CES where it encoded a vid faster than a 580, by a fair bit as well.

18-05-2011, 17:50:25

Luger718
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

Not all of them have it, the higher end Gigabyte ones don't anyway. The Asus P8Z68 VPRO does, not sure about the MSI ones, the lower end ones do but I haven't looked at them all so I don't know whether they all do.

I haven't seen Quick Sync in action apart from the Intel keynotes at CES where it encoded a vid faster than a 580, by a fair bit as well.
oh you mean the video outputs on the mobo? yea higher ends dont but cant they still do the dGPU thing where they plug monitor into graphics card but still use quicksync features

iGPU is when you plug into the motherboard and it allows it to idle on intels video instead of graphics card for more power saving

18-05-2011, 18:02:10

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luger718 View Post

oh you mean the video outputs on the mobo? yea higher ends dont but cant they still do the dGPU thing where they plug monitor into graphics card but still use quicksync features

iGPU is when you plug into the motherboard and it allows it to idle on intels video instead of graphics card for more power saving
I thought only the ones with the video output had the Lucid chip. The Gigabyte Z68 UD5 and Z68 UD7 don't have video outs or the Lucid chip and you can't use IGP on those so you wouldn't be able to use quick Sync.

I think the boards with the video outs have the Lucid chip but the ones without don't, so on the ones with out I don't think you can use it because you would need the Lucid chip to be able to use the IGP and Quick Sync.

19-05-2011, 19:10:53

Luger718
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

I thought only the ones with the video output had the Lucid chip. The Gigabyte Z68 UD5 and Z68 UD7 don't have video outs or the Lucid chip and you can't use IGP on those so you wouldn't be able to use quick Sync.

I think the boards with the video outs have the Lucid chip but the ones without don't, so on the ones with out I don't think you can use it because you would need the Lucid chip to be able to use the IGP and Quick Sync.
just checked gigabyte site your right only their lower end ones can use the virtu software... i didnt know there was any hardware (lucid chip) involved thats why i figured any z68 could do it....well that sucks (for people who wanna encode or use the power saving features) and it kinda limits z68 too, now the only added feature is ssd caching
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.