Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview

Quick Look

Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview

Quick Look

We don't want to spoil all the surprises, but as you can see the Z68X UD5 B3 is loaded with so many technologies there is barely any room on the box for an image.

Accessories and well catered for with all the usual things we'd hope to find.

Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview     Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview  

The board itself reminds us a lot of the gorgeous P67 UD7 and the heatsinks are identical, barring the use of blue where we had gold before. The black slots are a nice touch.

Round the back we have connectivity options aplenty, covering nearly everything we can think of. Although with so many techs listed on the packaging, it's understandable.

Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview     Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview  

Gigabyte have taken a leaf from Spinal Tap, none more black. Even the RAM slots aren't in separate colours as is normally the case.

Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview     Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview

I hope you're all looking forward to this as much as we are. Look out for the full review here at OC3D later this week.

You can discuss your thoughts before this in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-05-2011, 04:36:36

tinytomlogan
The latest chipset for LGA1155 processors is upon us. Prior to our full review at the end of the week, here is a quick preview.



Continue Reading

10-05-2011, 04:50:34

sheroo
Tom, you have more motherboards go through your hands than my wife has shoes and handbags - she has lots of those...

10-05-2011, 04:54:41

Luger718
that ssd cache tech sounds awesome kinda like the momentus xt hybrud drives but with whichever hdd and sdd you want hmmm 2TB hdd with a 128GB ssd as a cache sounds good to me

where are the video out ports? how would you use the onboard?

10-05-2011, 05:00:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luger718 View Post

that ssd cache tech sounds awesome kinda like the momentus xt hybrud drives but with whichever hdd and sdd you want hmmm 2TB hdd with a 128GB ssd as a cache sounds good to me

where are the video out ports? how would you use the onboard?
The higher end gigabytes dont have onboard video

10-05-2011, 05:07:10

Luger718
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

The higher end gigabytes dont have onboard video
ahh ok guesses so so basically the higher ends are p67 + ssd caching

ssd caching really sounds badass

10-05-2011, 05:57:02

Firat
so is the nda being lifted tommoro? when can we purchase the z68 boards?

10-05-2011, 06:23:00

silenthill
[/size][size="3"]it this m/b designed for enthusiasts like the x58 ormainstream users and is Intel coming up with something more powerful becauseI've seen some websites showing a new platform which is called the x59 whichwill be designed for enthusiasts?

10-05-2011, 07:06:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

[/size][size="3"]it this m/b designed for enthusiasts like the x58 ormainstream users and is Intel coming up with something more powerful becauseI've seen some websites showing a new platform which is called the x59 whichwill be designed for enthusiasts?


X79 thats the 2011 socket which is the extreme line.

10-05-2011, 07:14:30

SieB
Interesting, looking forward to the full review to see if things like quick sync are available and whether the SSD caching is any good. The Lucid hydra is a good addition as well saves you having to sell your AMD card if you buy a Nvidia one or vice versa.

10-05-2011, 07:29:35

dugdiamond
i hope you will be testing it's lucid capabilities in the full review (with new/new; new/old; mixed vendor; etc)

some people haven't realised the full potential of lucid yet (as i have)

10-05-2011, 09:11:56

adamjamesroe
This SSD caching is basicaly just intergrating a Silverstone HDDBoost on to a motherboard.

10-05-2011, 11:33:44

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post

i hope you will be testing it's lucid capabilities in the full review (with new/new; new/old; mixed vendor; etc)

some people haven't realised the full potential of lucid yet (as i have)
We've tested (and loved) Lucid before. The Lucid within the Z68 series is only part of the Integrated models, and not a full Hydra chip. So we can't include testing, because this board hasn't got it as it hasn't got Integrated Graphics.

10-05-2011, 12:50:21

dugdiamond
aaahhhhhhh! okay.

hmmm - i hate intergated graphics.

if you want it right, do it right, with a seperate GPU(s) IMHO

looking forward to the full review anyway (as always)

10-05-2011, 22:01:42

Luger718
what does the z68 chipset offer other then the ssd caching and integrated graphics

11-05-2011, 00:57:27

DiggyDiggyHole
Will they have a Z68 UD7? Also is there any news on a possible Asus ROG series of Z68 MOBO?

11-05-2011, 02:10:47

Firat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luger718 View Post

what does the z68 chipset offer other then the ssd caching and integrated graphics
That's pretty much it, just Touch Bios which I think is a bios update for p67. So not much, but can't wait for the reviews

11-05-2011, 23:56:35

Luger718
p67 is pretty much useless now no? unless you looking for a really low end sub 100 board or dont plan on overclocking theyd get H67/61

12-05-2011, 05:38:25

sheroo
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiggyDiggyHole View Post

Will they have a Z68 UD7? Also is there any news on a possible Asus ROG series of Z68 MOBO?
Oh Yes!



http://www.scan.co.uk/products/gigab...6gb-s-raid-atx

Lovely lookin' board!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.