Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Review

Test Setup

Today we're using our standard LGA1155 test rig. The only changes are the latest WHQL nVidia drivers and we're running all of our tests with IRST set in enhanced mode.

Gigabyte G1.Sniper 2 Z68 Motherboard
Intel Core-i5 2500K
4GB Kingston Genesis 2133MHz
EVGA GTX570 with ForceWare 280.26 WHQL
Samsung Spinpoint F1
Corsair 80GB SSD as Intel Rapid Storage Technology cache
Thermalright Silver Arrow
Windows 7 x64

Overclocking

The Sniper 2 is a very easy overclocker. As usual with Gigabyte boards it's a standard BIOS we've all seen a million times with the EFI element solely contained in a Windows program. We could get our Core i5-2500K to run at 4.9 GHz for most of our testing but it consistently bombed during PC Mark 7 so we backed it off slightly and these are the settings that we're using throughout our benchmarks today.

Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Overclocking

Speaking of benchmarks...

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-08-2011, 07:26:37

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the follow-up to the very popular X58 Assassin Motherboard, the Z68 G1.Sniper 2.



Continue Reading

17-08-2011, 08:05:28

dugdiamond
ouch - expensive!!! 250-270 and i would have been impressed

17-08-2011, 08:29:09

SieB
I really hope that the price of this board will come down and that it is priced so high because it is being marketed as being PCI-E 3 and Ivy Bridge native and that retailers are just charging extra to cash in on it.

The thing is now that we know that all Gigabyte boards are PCI-E 3 compatible with just a simple BIOS update, then that makes the UD7 the better and cheaper board. Ok, so it may not have the sound card and the NIC chip but these have been proven to be not that much of a improvement over standard ones at a lower price anyway, so is it really worth paying the extra for them? No, in my opinion anyway.

It is a good board and it does look good and perform very well but the price is just to high

17-08-2011, 08:42:00

| raVen |
Good motherboard but TOOOO expensive!

17-08-2011, 10:44:16

badtaylorx
awwww....no shots of the "this is not a real gun" sticker??? Tell me yer gonna use it as a case vadge!!!

17-08-2011, 10:49:19

CrissTM
As usual v nice review.

Nice looking Board, me like so much

OOPS ... about the price

19-08-2011, 07:26:39

StreekG
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post

awwww....no shots of the "this is not a real gun" sticker??? Tell me yer gonna use it as a case vadge!!!
You don't stick it on yourself. Its on there from the beginning.

19-08-2011, 18:40:25

sday03
I like the LEDs in the heatsink! I think more boards should incorporate that.

20-08-2011, 22:59:50

Cold
If only tech wasn't outdated so fast. It sucks spending a load on building a top of the range rig, making it look all smart then 3-6 months later its outdated.

Love the board, the price, not so much.

22-08-2011, 10:28:20

Montysaurus
Good review but Ouch on the price! Why are they still sticking old technology on the board with a price like this there should be no USB 2 and Sata 2! I definitely wont be buying any new M/Board until the legacy kit is replaced with up-to-date gear its not like it isnt backwards compatible!

28-08-2011, 10:16:10

Stl Drifter
Newegg.com has it in stock right now for $319.99 U.S. dollars!

01-09-2011, 06:54:15

yassarikhan786
Nice review. The price has come way down from before, which makes it all the more impressive now.

04-10-2011, 20:42:50

CocaCola
Really nice board. Kind of reminds me of the DFI look, without the weapons theme.

Gigabyte should make a Z68 or P67 board with the orange layout like the X58A OC board.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.