Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Review

The Board Itself

Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Review

The Board

Design-wise there are a lot of similarities between the Sniper.2 and the Assassin. This is one seriously gorgeous board. Sure the green might not be to everyones taste, but it works so well. On the main heatsink are 5 LEDs that glow seriously green. They could double as a special effect in Fringe they are so bright. 

Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Review     Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Review  

Audio is one of the big selling points of the Sniper 2. Rather than go the standard route of including the Realtek ALC889, Gigabyte have mounted a full Creative soundcard to the board. In the right-hand picture you can see the shielding helping to keep the whole audio section as free from interference as possible.

Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Review     Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Review  

In keeping with both the military theme and the premium design, Gigabyte have included a Bigfoot Killer NIC on the board. There has never been a consensus about whether the Killer NIC actually improves gaming performance, but it's a nice addition. The heatsinks themselves are amazing works of art, nicely replicating the business end of a sniper rifle.

Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Review     Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Review  

It's a stunner isn't it.

Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Review     Gigabyte Z68 G1.Sniper 2 Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-08-2011, 07:26:37

Today we're taking a look at the follow-up to the very popular X58 Assassin Motherboard, the Z68 G1.Sniper 2.

Continue ReadingQuote

17-08-2011, 08:05:28

ouch - expensive!!! £250-£270 and i would have been impressed Quote

17-08-2011, 08:29:09

I really hope that the price of this board will come down and that it is priced so high because it is being marketed as being PCI-E 3 and Ivy Bridge native and that retailers are just charging extra to cash in on it.

The thing is now that we know that all Gigabyte boards are PCI-E 3 compatible with just a simple BIOS update, then that makes the UD7 the better and cheaper board. Ok, so it may not have the sound card and the NIC chip but these have been proven to be not that much of a improvement over standard ones at a lower price anyway, so is it really worth paying the extra for them? No, in my opinion anyway.

It is a good board and it does look good and perform very well but the price is just to high Quote

17-08-2011, 08:42:00

| raVen |
Good motherboard but TOOOO expensive! Quote

17-08-2011, 10:44:16

badtaylorx shots of the "this is not a real gun" sticker??? Tell me yer gonna use it as a case vadge!!!Quote

17-08-2011, 10:49:19

As usual v nice review.

Nice looking Board, me like so much

OOPS ... about the price Quote

19-08-2011, 07:26:39

Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post shots of the "this is not a real gun" sticker??? Tell me yer gonna use it as a case vadge!!!
You don't stick it on yourself. Its on there from the beginning.Quote

19-08-2011, 18:40:25

I like the LEDs in the heatsink! I think more boards should incorporate that.Quote

20-08-2011, 22:59:50

If only tech wasn't outdated so fast. It sucks spending a load on building a top of the range rig, making it look all smart then 3-6 months later its outdated.

Love the board, the price, not so much.Quote

22-08-2011, 10:28:20

Good review but Ouch on the price! Why are they still sticking old technology on the board with a price like this there should be no USB 2 and Sata 2! I definitely wont be buying any new M/Board until the legacy kit is replaced with up-to-date gear its not like it isnt backwards compatible!Quote

28-08-2011, 10:16:10

Stl Drifter has it in stock right now for $319.99 U.S. dollars!Quote

01-09-2011, 06:54:15

Nice review. The price has come way down from before, which makes it all the more impressive now.Quote

04-10-2011, 20:42:50

Really nice board. Kind of reminds me of the DFI look, without the weapons theme.

Gigabyte should make a Z68 or P67 board with the orange layout like the X58A OC board.Quote

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.