Gigabyte X79S-UP5 Review

wPrime95 and PC Mark 7

Gigabyte X79S-UP5 Review

wPrime95

Our third CPU dependant benchmark in a row and our third different result. Whereas POV-Ray showed a good turn of pace on the X79S-UP5, F@H was woeful, now with wPrime95 things return to their good state of affairs. Inconsistency seems to be the watchword.

 

PC Mark 7

Finally PC Mark 7. We'll discount the Xeon result because although PC Mark is excellent at taking advantage of multiple cores, it also is skewed towards certain results where brute-force CPU speed will always trump a clever design. Looking at the Core i7 CPUs we see the 3930K is 100 points behind the 3960X, which is quite a drop but okay for the price. So when the i7-3960X on the UP5 is a further 100 points behind that you get some idea of how average the performance is on the Gigabyte effort.

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-09-2012, 10:02:00

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...140833140l.jpg

The long awaited upgrade to the problematic X79-UD5 is finally upon us. Has the long gestation fixed the issues?


Continue Reading

21-09-2012, 10:55:17

dugdiamond
very VERY nice mobo

at last: they fixed the niggles from its predecessor

if only i could get my hands on one of these, for next to nothing, i would be very happy NOT!

21-09-2012, 10:56:14

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post
very VERY nice mobo

at last: they fixed the niggles from its predecessor

if only i could get my hands on one of these, for next to nothing, i would be very happy

I think you must be reading the wrong thing mate. Its GASH.

21-09-2012, 12:03:32

dugdiamond
it was meant to be tongue-in-cheek - lol

21-09-2012, 12:06:05

seumasbeathan
It does look lovely though

21-09-2012, 15:09:01

Greenback
when I saw the video for the first look I thought I want 1, I'm glad i'm not the impulsive buying type
I'm surprised gigabyte sent you 1 considering you already mentioned the bad v droop, they must of known you'd check that out

21-09-2012, 20:53:49

samwisekoi
I was so looking forward to this being a great board. Sigh.

Back to the X79 Pro I guess. How did IT do with a hex-core Xeon?

- Sam

23-09-2012, 06:01:18

Rastalovich
hmmm Love Gigabyte mobos, but as far as pushing hardware, the voltage settings have been annoying me since the solid 775 mobos. The newer 775 mATX have same problems, set the voltage and it disappears somewhere when you oc and put under load.

26-09-2012, 05:06:00

Dread
Something i don't grasp about this review...
I always understood that SAS has a backward compability with SATA, so i guess you can use Mainstream SATA hd's on those SAS connectors!!
Making this mb achieve the total of 14 usable ports just like the asrock extreme11, am i wrong or should some testing be made?

28-09-2012, 05:25:21

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dread View Post
Something i don't grasp about this review...
I always understood that SAS has a backward compability with SATA, so i guess you can use Mainstream SATA hd's on those SAS connectors!!
Making this mb achieve the total of 14 usable ports just like the asrock extreme11, am i wrong or should some testing be made?
We never said it wasnt backwards compatable....
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.