Gigabyte X79S-UP5 Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Gigabyte X79S-UP5 Review

Test Setup

We'll be running two very different tests today. On the one hand we'll be using the Xeon with registered 1333MHz memory for our 'stock' settings. We all know how good the i7-3960X is, so repeating the stock results of that wont teach us anything new. Our other test will be using the i7-3960X at whatever overclock we can coax from the UP5, alongside the Dominator Platinum running at 2133MHz. Got all that?

Gigabyte X79S-UP5 Motherboard
Intel Xeon E3687W
Intel Core i7-3960X
HIS HD7970
Catalyst 12.8
Corsair H100
Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133
Corsair AX1200 PSU
Windows 7 x64

Overclocking

Now we come to the crunch. The power phases on the UD5 gave us fits it was so woeful. The ones on the Z77 UD5 aren't much better. So have Gigabyte finally turned the corner?

Yes and no. Always a handy answer we know, but bear with us. Firstly the UP5 managed to get 4.6GHz out of our i7, which isn't bad at all. It's only 150MHz shy of the much pricier Rampage IV Extreme and that bonus was acheived by overclocking the BCLK. So far so good. Then you look at the core voltage, 1.392v, and we know we had 1.45v set in the BIOS. Even with every anti-vDroop measure available to us the UP5 is still droopier than a groom on his stag night. This was one of the main problems with the X79-UD5 and we would have thought with a good 12months they would have got this fixed.

Gigabyte X79S-UP5 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-09-2012, 10:02:00

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...140833140l.jpg

The long awaited upgrade to the problematic X79-UD5 is finally upon us. Has the long gestation fixed the issues?


Continue Reading

21-09-2012, 10:55:17

dugdiamond
very VERY nice mobo

at last: they fixed the niggles from its predecessor

if only i could get my hands on one of these, for next to nothing, i would be very happy NOT!

21-09-2012, 10:56:14

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post
very VERY nice mobo

at last: they fixed the niggles from its predecessor

if only i could get my hands on one of these, for next to nothing, i would be very happy

I think you must be reading the wrong thing mate. Its GASH.

21-09-2012, 12:03:32

dugdiamond
it was meant to be tongue-in-cheek - lol

21-09-2012, 12:06:05

seumasbeathan
It does look lovely though

21-09-2012, 15:09:01

Greenback
when I saw the video for the first look I thought I want 1, I'm glad i'm not the impulsive buying type
I'm surprised gigabyte sent you 1 considering you already mentioned the bad v droop, they must of known you'd check that out

21-09-2012, 20:53:49

samwisekoi
I was so looking forward to this being a great board. Sigh.

Back to the X79 Pro I guess. How did IT do with a hex-core Xeon?

- Sam

23-09-2012, 06:01:18

Rastalovich
hmmm Love Gigabyte mobos, but as far as pushing hardware, the voltage settings have been annoying me since the solid 775 mobos. The newer 775 mATX have same problems, set the voltage and it disappears somewhere when you oc and put under load.

26-09-2012, 05:06:00

Dread
Something i don't grasp about this review...
I always understood that SAS has a backward compability with SATA, so i guess you can use Mainstream SATA hd's on those SAS connectors!!
Making this mb achieve the total of 14 usable ports just like the asrock extreme11, am i wrong or should some testing be made?

28-09-2012, 05:25:21

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dread View Post
Something i don't grasp about this review...
I always understood that SAS has a backward compability with SATA, so i guess you can use Mainstream SATA hd's on those SAS connectors!!
Making this mb achieve the total of 14 usable ports just like the asrock extreme11, am i wrong or should some testing be made?
We never said it wasnt backwards compatable....
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.