Gigabyte X58A UD3R V2 Review

Conclusion

Gigabyte X58A UD3R Review

Conclusion

Thankfully as we've previous reviewed the UD3R in its v1 guise we don't need to worry so much about the design and technology elements and can focus purely upon the improvements and performance.

To that end, has the improvement to the power phases helped the overclockability of the UD3R? Most certainly. 218MHz BCLK is pretty good and although it couldn't quite hold much above 200MHz when the CPU multiplier was increased it could still happily run all day at 4GHz and, with decent cooling, 4.4GHz is a reasonable expectation with the Core i7-950 we used today. Although the Sabertooth gave us a slightly higher maximum overclock, 4.7GHz compared to 4.6GHz here, the 24/7 overclock was actually only 4.2GHz.

Our testing certainly ended up with the two boards being inseparable. For every jab thrown by one or the other, a different test saw a counter-punch. The word jab is also key here because none of the differences were so large we could label them a hay-maker, except PC Mark Vantage which absolutely loved the 4.4GHz overclock on the Gigabyte UD3R v2.

Coming in at the very acceptable £150 price-mark the X58A UD3R v2 is a definite improvement over the v1. If you're in the market for a great value board this should be at the top of your shortlist.

So which should you buy between this and the similar priced, similar performing ASUS Sabertooth? Well it's purely a matter of personal taste. Both boards are exceptionally good for the money and either will give you years of service. In a blind-test you couldn't tell them apart.

Now if that doesn't speak volumes about Gigabytes commitment to improve the original UD3, we're not sure what does. An easy winner of our Gold award.

    

Thanks to Gigabyte for providing the X58A UD3R v2 for review today. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-11-2010, 05:50:10

tinytomlogan
Gigabyte have updated their best selling UD3 motherboard with extra power-phases. Does it help it keep up with the best value boards?

Continue Reading

08-11-2010, 06:44:08

F-alienware
Fantastic stuff. I need not worry as if I ever go X58 then this is the board I shall get.

The original is an absolute legend and this one seems to make the design even better. And the price is sensational too.

This is the board that CPC gave a massively high score to saying that it made all of the models above it (in the Gigabyte range) redundant due to them being no better for functionality and that they came with loads of bolt on tat that didn't do anything.

08-11-2010, 06:57:01

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Fantastic stuff. I need not worry as if I ever go X58 then this is the board I shall get.

The original is an absolute legend and this one seems to make the design even better. And the price is sensational too.

This is the board that CPC gave a massively high score to saying that it made all of the models above it (in the Gigabyte range) redundant due to them being no better for functionality and that they came with loads of bolt on tat that didn't do anything.
We'll soon see Ive got the UD7 V2 to do next

08-11-2010, 07:14:19

F-alienware
Fair enough. But price to performance they are cutting their own throats. Let's say for example the 7 costs 300. Will it offer double the performance of the 3?

I look forward to it though and thanks for the review

08-11-2010, 07:17:06

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Fair enough. But price to performance they are cutting their own throats. Let's say for example the 7 costs 300. Will it offer double the performance of the 3?

I look forward to it though and thanks for the review
Not quite the way to look at it, but i get where you are coming from.

08-11-2010, 09:00:57

THD
I wish you didnt make another good review Tom as before this the choice for my new rig was clear : the sabertooth with I950 but now again I dont know what to get

Ps just joined the site but been reading reviews last couple weeks and really like what you guys are doing compared to most sites and for my new rig certainly couple decissions will be based on your reviews. THANKS

08-11-2010, 09:31:30

F-alienware
Hey THD.

I guess it all depends on looks. Personally I think the Saber kicks the 3's butt when it comes to looks, but hey, performance can not be ignored.

The original UD3 won so many gold awards it would make your head spin. I don't like Gigabyte's colour schemes on their boards but hey, who effing cares when they kick so much ass?

08-11-2010, 11:23:28

kemical
I'm not sure, found a pic with the sabertooth and my gigabyte below

but then again i would be bias some what



08-11-2010, 12:13:22

Aurus_OC
Quote:
Originally Posted by THD View Post

I wish you didnt make another good review Tom as before this the choice for my new rig was clear : the sabertooth with I950 but now again I dont know what to get

Ps just joined the site but been reading reviews last couple weeks and really like what you guys are doing compared to most sites and for my new rig certainly couple decissions will be based on your reviews. THANKS
Well I got the same problem. From reading both reviews there is no difference other than looks. I really like the design of the Sabertooth so I'll probably be going with it for my next build. Also I think you get a 5 year guarantee with the Asus. But I guess choose which one you like best from the looks or the name.

Cheers,

08-11-2010, 12:48:52

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemical View Post

I'm not sure, found a pic with the sabertooth and my gigabyte below

but then again i would be bias some what

]


That sabertooth rig looks really cool.

08-11-2010, 15:27:10

Xeno_Crux
Oh great another blue and white Gigabyte board.

Do you people not get tired?

08-11-2010, 15:31:24

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeno_Crux View Post

Oh great another blue and white Gigabyte board.

Do you people not get tired?
Tired?

13-11-2010, 06:21:55

SpriteAlpha
Hi. How does the P6X58D-E compare with this board and the Sabertooth? I'm trying to decide between the 3. I know the P6X58D-E has 16 phase power, so maybe that would help with overclocking?

Thanks.

24-11-2010, 17:22:13

MSIRawZ
Nice board and layout but struggles with high OC's with regards to cold boot failures. I prefer the ASUS P6X58D-E and MSI X58A-GD65, especially the latter.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.